Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Hurry, hurry.

Morning peeps! I feel like my life is busy right now that I can’t take a second to breathe. I need to manage my time better so I’m not trying to get a post in with three minutes left. Sorry I disappeared yesterday. I was babysitting till seven and then watched American Idol. I am trying to not be on the internet all night when the bf is home….trying. Anyways, after my lunch yesterday I ate two dates and then the little one and I took a trip to Starbucks for some mini-scones. How good are these? My sis says they’re only 140 calories and they’re small enough to not feel guilty about.

One for Lily, one for me.

Dinner was an omelette made with one yolk and some whites. I added some jalapeno cheese in there, along with mushrooms and peppers. The plate looks a little “busy” because carrot sticks and hummus were tossed on there as well. Can’t forget about Franks. (And by Franks I do not mean hot dogs.) The highlight of the night was my arctic zero chocolate ice cream mixed with way too much peanut butter. I finally decided that I don’t want to give up dessert but need to find a healthy alternative to carrot cake. Any ideas other than fruit? Thanks! I will try to post this mornings breakfast and lunch before the afternoon but I can’t promise.

P.S. What are your thoughts on bumper stickers? I think they’re corny unless they say VT or an inspirational quote such as, “Don’t Postpone Joy.” Happy hump day.

SOOOOOO freaking good.

No words.

January 27, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Uncategorized

18 Comments »

  1. I love those mini scones! They have some at Target that are really good, too.

    Ummmm…no words of wisdom from me on the sweets thing. I, like you, view fruit as lovely, but NOT dessert. That might have to change soon, though šŸ˜‰

    Comment by Anna | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. Healthy(ish) cookies? I made some last night that aren’t too bad for me… at least that way you know how bad (or not bad) they are for you.

    Comment by Kristie | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. For a healthy dessert (you might have heard this before) … Peel bananas, break them up and freeze them. Put frozen bananas in a food processor with a slash of milk. After that I usually heat a scoop of pb and drizzle it on top. Holy hell its amazing.

    Comment by livinglikeshannon | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hehe, VT bumper stickers doooo rule! (Go Vermont!) Every time you mention Arctic Zero, I want it very badly haha. Must find this somewhere…

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. broil some sliced peaches with a tsp of sugar (raw is better) under the broiler for about 5 minutes, or until they’re browned enough for you. YUM!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  6. My bumper stickers are just the cutout decals on my back window: unc alumni crest, scuba flag in the shape of a hog snapper (it’s a cool looking fish, I promise!) and an eagle globe and anchor for the Marine Corps. Simple is best, I would remove before I added! And I HATE stick families on the back window. I could make an entire rant post! :).

    Pb in icecream? Does it get hard?

    Comment by LindsayRuns | January 27, 2010 | Reply

    • PB in ice cream is AAAAHHHHmazing- it doesnt get hard, but it does get delish!

      Comment by jessdownes | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  7. hmm. love the scones. =D i need to find an alternative to carrot cake too! i kinda don’t feel like going out and buying one just to satisfy a craving!

    Comment by traynharder23 | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. Good desserts:
    Smart ones sundaes are really good (and I think like 3 points on WW or something?) PB cup sundae and cookie dough are sooo good. key lime is ok too
    Also good: Tina from carrots n cake always does a sandy thin with pb and raisins or in your case almond butter or wahtever nonsense butter you’re on now šŸ˜‰
    How about these that I got from an article on line?
    Cinnamon apples
    Wash and core four large apples. Place in a microwave-safe dish. Put one into teaspoon of cinnamon and one teaspoon of Splenda into each apple. Bake on high in microwave for approximately 15 minutes until apples are tender. Top with non-fat whipped topping for a delicious healthy dessert.

    Pineapple ice cream sundaes
    Are you craving ice cream? Instead make this healthy dessert. Place a scoop of fat-free vanilla frozen yogurt in a bowl. Top with crushed pineapple, cinnamon and chopped walnuts for a yummy, easy dessert.

    Homemade ice cream sandwiches
    Place a scoop of fat-free ice cream or frozen yogurt between two graham crackers. Wrap in plastic wrap and freeze until firm for a healthy, easy dessert your whole family will love.

    Jello and pudding
    Fat-free Jello and pudding also makes a delicious and easy dessert. You can add fresh fruit to Jello to give it a nutritional boost.
    PS: No bumpers for me- I go for the “classy car look” lol plus there is nothing I would stick to opinion wise, except like “blogging is awesome” haha joke.

    Comment by jessdownes | January 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Jello freaks me out because when I was 10 my uncle told me it’d made of horse hoofs! Thanks for all the great ideas JEss.

      Comment by lpskins | January 27, 2010 | Reply

      • no worries- i dont eat jello either- for almost the same reason- I heard pig ears I think šŸ˜‰ I just thought everyone else eats it šŸ˜‰

        Comment by jessdownes | January 28, 2010 | Reply

  9. My dessert is usually a few pieces of dark chocolate, but a lot of people LOVE Vitatops, which are delicious and only 100 calories! Theyre super decadent heated up.

    I’m not into bumper stickers, but I do have a window decal for my college!

    Comment by Gabriela | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  10. I am not a bumper stick gal but I do have a window decal that says 26.2. I put it on after my first marathon!

    Comment by Kelly | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  11. My favorite healthy dessert as of late has been frozen banana soft serve with dark chocolate chips. A banana is right around 100 calories, and it’s SO filling.

    Comment by louisianagrown | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  12. that food looks nasty!!

    Comment by elizabeth | January 27, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s peanut butter ice cream biff???!!! Good stuff. Looks nasty but isn’t.

      Comment by lpskins | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  13. i’ve always been a huge fan of banana boats. with the banana in the peel, slice it all the way from tip to tip, but only half way through. pry the banana open a little, and put in a bit of mini marshmallows and choc. chips (or pb chips). smoosh it back together and wrap the whole banana in tin foil. bake or put in the toaster oven (i originally learned to do this camping over a fire pit) until everything is melted and mooshy. let it cool a bit and fork out the goodness. not the healthiest thing to eat, but probably not as bad as carrot cake.

    Comment by jenn graves | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  14. This was sort of an idea I got off Angela @ Oh She Glows – I followed her recipe for Larabars, but instead rolled them into little balls. Just whiz up dates, coconut, almonds, and a splash of milk in the blender, then rock and roll.

    Also good are ‘healthy’ peanut butter balls – peanut butter, honey/agave, and powdered milk mixed together then rolled into balls. Obviously you gotta do portion control here but HOLY CRAP. Amazing.

    Comment by Ally | February 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

