Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

FRIDAY is sooo cool.

Happy Friday!!!

Hi friends, yesterday was a LONG but great day. I’m feeling very accomplished at my internship and really enjoy the team that I work with. I’m working closely with one clinician in particular and we’re totally in sync. She’s a hard worker and pushes me but at the same time is so funny and relaxed. Yesterday we officially got closer when she said (as she’s about to take a bite of her lunch) “I’m going to be farting later. There’s broccoli in this.” My response, “I love you.” I love when people are real, raw and honest. That’s her.

I received a compliment yesterday that made me feel good. The mother of my client asked if I’d be the clients long-term outpatient counselor. I replied that I’m only an intern and don’t have that option yet. She replied,  “I sound extremely experienced and that she knows I’ll be a wonderful clinician.” This was music to my ears considering this is the first year I’ve ever worked with children and adolescents in a clinical setting. I’ve got everyone fooled. Mwhahahahah.

Great news– we are officially registered for the Country Music Half Marathon. Not going to lie, I’m definitely bumming that we’re not doing the full but it just wasn’t in the cards. I’ve been counting down the days before training starts so Len is well aware. Monday is the official day and there’s no turning back now.

I was really moved by a reader comment this past Tuesday. Christina wrote,

Hey Linds, you are not a heifer for eating a cupcake and a few fries! There are always going to be good days and bad,
but letting yourself get too down about the bad always leads to more bad than good...for me at least. 
If I'm not being too forward, I say you need to find a way to re-dedicate yourself to working out. I've read your blog 
since the beginning, and can definitely see a change in your overall attitude (on here, at least) when you're working out 
versus not. Take a read back at some of your posts and I think you'll notice the difference too. Maybe that will help get
 you back on track! Love your blog!!!

I took her advice and scrolled through my old posts. She's right. I do have a different (better) attitude when I'm
working out. This is not surprising as working out is my natural prozac. The half marathon training will give me a 
renewed desire to work out. (Sorry about the change in font--not sure how to fix this.)

I have to get some reading in before class then head to my first counseling session!! I'll be back later to let you 
know how it goes. Wish me luck.
January 29, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, eating disorder, Food, Marathon Training, The Boyfriend

10 Comments »

  1. What a great comment by Christina! Love that!!

    Comment by Kelly | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. thats a great comment and so true! Working out is my natural prozac too. Its just hard to get motivated sometimes :/

    Good luck with your half marathon training 🙂

    Comment by jlbolf80 | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. What an amazing and well-deserved compliment from that woman! I have no doubt that you’ll be a great counselor 🙂
    As for the comment, good for you for reading it and re-examining. That in itself shows that, while you might be taking a second look at workout habits and making some changes, you have already made so many personal changes that allow you to be objective and awesome.

    Keep being fabulous, woman! 😀

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  4. Congrats on that compliment, you deserved it! And I’m glad you’re loving the internship!! Good luck with the counseling session!

    Comment by Olivia | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  5. Good luck on your half marathon!

    Comment by Erin (Texan Couture) | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  6. It’s always nice to get a compliment from a “boss.” Sounds like your intership is going great!!

    Comment by Anna | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  7. What a great day! You deserve both comments, savor the message. 🙂 Woop for offical start Monday!

    Comment by lindsayruns | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  8. that’s a great point she had…working out really really helps my attitude towards myself and life in general. hope you have a fabulous friday 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m so glad that something I had to say helped you out a little bit; that kind of made my day…I know, big nerd here! 😉 But something I forgot to add to that comment was how thankful I am to have your blog to read everyday. Since I too experience a lot of the struggles that you do with my relationship with food, it’s so comforting knowing that someone else is in the same boat, but is brave and honest enough to put it out there. Reading your posts, on both good and bad days, really helps!! Plus you crack me up!

    Comment by Christina | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  10. LOL! I would laugh so hard if someone said that broccoli thing to me!

    Sounds like you have had a lot of feel-good moments lately! 🙂

    Comment by kilax | January 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

