Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Listen to this. A girl I go to school with is looking for someone to foster her black lab for 5 months starting next week. Here’s the kicker–1000 bucks per month!! Can you believe that? First of all, poor thing must be devastated that she has to part with her beloved pooch for work but I am the perfect person for the job. I mean hello…. I love dogs more than people. Obviously it would be a tight squeeze for the next five months but totally worth it! So excited.

On another note– we saw Avatar tonight. I hate to admit this, but I am the most closed-minded person when it comes to movies. I hate science fiction, horror, scary, bloody, and unrealistic. I was basically dragged to the movie but absolutely loved it. Loved. Avatar is pleasing to the eyes and a wonderful story of love and community. If you haven’t seen it yet, please hit your nearest theater up for the 3D version. Bonus– the fire alarm went off during the movie so we got free movie tickets. Second bonus–Lens sister and brother-in-law live in Vermont so they gave us their free tickets. What’s up bitches!!!!

Let’s talk food. I ate what I wanted all day and boy was it a fat-fest good. Shall we start with brunch?

The table started out with two dishes of fruit salad, granola and yogurt. We had no clue how big the dishes were.

Another app--Really Good French Toast. That was its real name. I didn't dare try any.

HUGE salad with shrimp (their tails we extra creepy and crunchy looking today), pear slices, dried apples, croutons, pecans and goat balls fritters! Can you imagine something so good?

Can you find the balls? Goat balls of course.

Side of dry toast please.

Lens awesome cousin and her bf. Hi Jules!!!

Santa and his elf.

After lunch I met my friend Megan to do some work done for the fundraiser next weekend. We managed to rock out over five hours of solid work in our freezing cold office. There was no heat so we basically froze our asses off. We joked that a hot chocolate was necessary to compensate for all the calories our bodies were burning to survive the freezing temps. I cannot remember the last time I ordered a hot chocolate. I must admit, there was some guilt involved. Something about drinking calories just kills me.

Busted!

The group picked me up at 5:30 and we headed to California Pizza kitchen. I ordered the Tri Calore salad which is basically a salad on thin pizza crust. I ate the thing minus 1.5 pieces. Yum.

Honey wheat crust with a variety of lettuces and Parmigiano

Get in my belly.

I swayed the group into getting dessert but we couldn’t decide on any to split so we ordered individually. I was totally torn between the chocolate brownie sunday and the apple crisp. It’s not like me to turn down chocolate but fruity was calling my name. Tim got the brownie so I enjoyed a bite of that.

See the brownie lurking in the back?

I also had some Merlot. Tomorrows activities include: Buy The Kind Diet, grocery shop, cook something from the book, lots and lots of homework. What was the best part about your weekend so far?

January 31, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun

11 Comments »

  1. $1000 per month!!! WOW! I’m seeing dollar signs! Yay! Did you already score the job? That’d be really nice and sweet way to earn some extra dough!

    By the way, it’s almost 10 pm and my stomach is totally growling over that seafood salad and the pizza. I hope I can make a trip to CPK sometime soon!

    Comment by sophia | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. Ah, you are gonna have soo much fun with that labby! And the dough can’t hurt either 😉

    I saw “When In Rome” yesterday and it was really cute, so that was a good part of my weekend. You should see it, I think you’d like it better than Avatar.

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. I would be all over that deal too! I’d take in the pup if it was free, but 5K? Hell! Your CPK totally jipped you on the salad, my (2 hours away, sad) local one gives at least 3 times that, you can’t even see the (absolutely delicious) crust!

    Comment by lindsayruns | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  4. Dang, that dog sitting salary is ridic! That and an extra dog to love up on 🙂

    Comment by Kristie | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  5. Looks like a great day of eats! I feel guilty whenever I drink hot chocolate too (like, once a year)– what’s up with that?!?

    OH MY GOSH, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE black labs!!! My family has always had them…they are the most loveable dogs 🙂 You’re going to have a blast!

    Comment by Anna | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  6. Yummy eats! What restaurant did you get brunch at? I want balls too.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  7. The CPK meal looks awesome- I love me some thin pizza crust! Something about hot chocolate sounds awesome right now, too.

    Yay about the dog sitting! My black lab passed away a few months ago and I miss him to death 😦 Happy Sunday!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  8. the best part of mine was getting to hang out with my husband yesterday! i love the way that shrimp salad looks…YUM!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  9. You are going to love The Kind Diet!

    I am happy you liked Avatar AND got free tickets. Woo hoo!

    Comment by kilax | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  10. Everything you ate yesterday looks so yummy-especially that fruit salad!!!

    I don’t think I’ve heard a single person say bad things about Avatar. I guess I’m going to have to see it, because like you, I’m fairly close minded about sci fi and action movies.

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  11. I agree on Avatar! Is the 3D just getting better? I felt like I was IN the movie! I have “The Kind Diet!” What a great book!

    Comment by Kimberley | February 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

