Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I wish I was part of the Avatar community.

That’s my Facebook status today and my friend sent me this article. It basically says that people are feeling depressed and suicidal after seeing Avatar because Pandora was so peaceful and pleasing, unlike our present world. It sounds crazy but I can totally see how this would be true. I’m telling you, the movie is magical and powerful.

Sorry I’ve been a bum today and haven’t posted but there hasn’t been anything new to report. The only exciting event that took place today was restocking my shelves with refried beans, veggies, a Larabar, veggie burgs, peanut butter, wine and some other random TJ items. Len’s sister and brother-in-law left around 11:30 but before they happened we made a Dunkin Donuts run. I opted for nothing but Len decided to buy a box of munchkins. Asshole. Munchkins= Binge. He was quickly warned that the munchkins would be tossed out if he didn’t remove them from my sights. He went to the Celtics game, munchkins in hand.

Lunch was my refried bean/edamame/spinach/hummus concoction mixed up in two low carb wheat wraps. Leftover tofu worked its way on the plate too. Later I snacked on a huge bowl of Kashi cereal and an eclair. Those items went without being captured due to laziness. I also eventually ate crackers with hummus/laughing cow/ketchup. Yes, I used more condiments than I did crackers but I couldn’t decide. Ketchup will almost always win. As mentioned yesterday, I hate to drink calories (unless it’s in GM form) but I’m feeling a cold sneaking up so I’m sipping on a small glass of OJ. I do love me some grape, apple or grapefruit juice. Yum!

I cannot wait to start half marathon training this week. I hope the weather warms up just a little bit. What’s one thing you are looking forward to during the coming week?

January 31, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Family, Food, Uncategorized

13 Comments »

  1. I’m starting training this week too! I still haven’t seen Avatar…probably the only person in the US who hasn’t!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m going home to Louisiana for my sister’s baby shower this week, so that is definitely my # one “looking forward to” part of this week!!

    I hate it when my guy brings home junk like cookies– I need to start throwing it out, like you!

    Comment by Anna | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. I haven’t seen Avatar… I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about it… Can’t wait to read how your half marathon training goes! 🙂

    Comment by Kristen @ Change of Pace | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  4. hey girl! thanks so much for your comment-cant wait to read more of yours!! im looking foward to THE BACHELOR tommo-haha, sad i know!

    Comment by kbwood | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  5. OH yum, Laughing Cow is the best!
    Good luck with your marathon training!!

    And this sounds awful but i’m looking forward to this week being over (I have a lot going on). But i’m also looking forward to spending time with someone special 😉

    Comment by theprocessofhealing | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  6. Unfortunately, I’m not looking forward to anything this week. Life is boring for me I guess.
    I still haven’t seen Avatar. Now I probably won’t because I don’t need to end up depressed. Thanks for heads up!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  7. We are officially starting half marathon training today too. Although, I don’t think I am going to change anything about what I am currently doing. I guess it is more my husband who is starting.

    I was surprised to hear that about Avatar! I didn’t feel like it affected me in that way at all!

    Comment by kilax | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  8. I guess I should FINALLY get around to seeing Avatar? Like you mentioned in an earlier post, I too am a big movie snob – I usually hate sci-fi, (most) action flicks, and crap like that. I’m so picky but totally trust your opinion – i.e. I’m going to go this week!

    Hmmmm what am I look forward to this week? Having most of my brief done. (not doing it, but having most of it done). First draft is due Friday and I’ve written less than a page. Bleh! Oh and my first group training run Saturday!!!

    Good luck on your first week of training!!!!

    Comment by Olivia | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  9. you crack me up with your avatar stuff.

    You said you wanted to have more sex? try painting yourself blue for len!! meow!!!! hehehe 😉

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  10. and i love the refried bean kick! I freakin love refried beans!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  11. oh, i want to see this movie so bad! i can’t imagine i’d get depressed about it, but it would be so great if this world was a little more peaceful, eh?

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  12. I love condiments!! Haha…I can just take a spoon and go to town with a jar of salsa. The hubs thinks I am nuts!! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  13. Haha, love your ketchup love, because I share the same addiction to that vinegar + corn syrup condiment.

    I havent seen Avatar yet. I’ll have to watch it soon, I heard the graphics is amazing.

    Comment by sophia | February 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

