Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Oh the good old days.

I spent a good part of the afternoon calling around to different therapists and although I have my eye on a specific person, I did get an appointment.  There are tons of different therapists in the Boston area so I narrowed down my search by choosing names I like, then comparing where they received their graduate degrees, how long ago, and of course if they work with eating disorders. Then I call to leave messages and judge them even further by how they sound. I have an appointment next Tuesday at 9 with Mimi. She sounds really, really nice so we’ll see. Forth times a charm, baby. And who could resist a Mimi?

I spent my afternoon at an indoor playground at the mall with the little girl I sit for. I realized that I’m not ready for children now as I felt a little depressed having to make small talk with other moms. Then someone asked me if Lily was a boy or a girl. Mind you she was wearing a bright pink hoodie. Some people have air for brains. Then we stopped into Borders to buy the Kind Diet but didn’t end up making the purchase. I felt like it would just sit on the shelf now so I’ll go back to it in another few weeks.

My good friend called today asking if I’d be interested in planning a trip for our 30th birthdays. Hello? Hells yes! Our birthdays are 11 days apart so we had previously discussed having a party together but this takes it to a whole new level. Hawaii, Italy and Alaska were all mentioned. If anyone spots any cheap trips, flights or packages in January 2011, let me know. Thanks! Len and I went on an amazing vacation a while back–our first stop was in Chicago where we surprised my sister for her 30th birthday. Then we went to Colorado and stopped in Boulder, Denver and drove to Vail, Frisco, Dillon and other awesome mountainous towns. I’ll never forget it was snowing in June. Serious. We hopped on another plane to San Fran where we rented a car and drove to wine country. THat was the highlight of the trip. From there we drove down the coast, ending our trip in LA. It was incredible.

She as NOT expecting us.

Beautiful hike in Boulder, CO

This was two summers ago on the PCH in California. That drive is super scary!

Before touring Alcatraz. I LOVE prisons.

Hotel right on the water. Ridic!

Wine Country

Okay, I digress. Snacks–after the mall I was legit hungry. My snacks for the afternoon included  half a banana,string cheese, snack bag of popcorn, and 2 crackers with 1 tbsp PB. Seems like a lot but I knew that if I didn’t fill up on healthier foods, I’d approach binge-land.

February 2, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend

18 Comments »

  1. i HATE mom talk…that is why i have no mommy friends. i do not wish to spend my time talking about my kids, or hearing about little johnny and his bathroom behavior.

    Comment by jenn graves | February 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I can see myself doing a lot of “mom talk” kind of like I do a lot of “dog talk” now–just not ready for that step yet.

      Comment by lpskins | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. FUN! Two summers ago, I went on a 10 day road trip from Seattle to LA, stopping a bunch along the way. It was SO much fun!! The PCH is so scary to drive on, but so worth it!

    Also– I have the skirt your sis is wearing! 😉

    Comment by Anna | February 2, 2010 | Reply

    • So scary! Is it from Target?

      Comment by lpskins | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Seriously people do have air for brains sometimes, haha. Whenever I have kids people better not be asking me if they are boys or girls! 😉

    Comment by Kristie | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. today, actually, after that intense session on the treadmill, i seriously laid down and didn’t move for fear of it hurting even more. i only peeled myself off my bed to blog, comment, and do work- do you know how HARD it is to put on socks when your back hurts!? augh!

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. oh man. i have been taking so many ibuprofens it’s not even funny. wow. =D

    anyways, YES i do play spin the bottle. seeing as how i’m a party ANIMAL! =D that’s why it’s on its side! late night smooching sesh.

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  6. A boy in a bright pink hoodie…right…sheesh people are crazy!! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | February 2, 2010 | Reply

    • well, you never know–could be fashion forward.

      Comment by lpskins | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  7. totally NOT how i smooch! i was just smooching it up for the camera! LOL! i’m sure i’m a bad kisser. then again, you’d have to ask the dude. =D

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 2, 2010 | Reply

    • haha, you’re a riot!! Move to Boston.

      Comment by lpskins | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  8. I love love these pics!! So cute, all of them.

    Comment by Whit | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  9. Haha too funny about the question…yes, people really are that stupid. As for the vacation, sounds fun! My family is big on cruises. You can get them dirt cheap if you book far in advance!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve never done a cruise and probably never will! I have a great fear of bathing suits!

      Comment by lpskins | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  10. Great pics and kids are the worst.
    Your vacation sounds fun. I wanna go! I just turned 30 in December, but I’ll pretend I’m 29 and do it up with you guys.
    Mimi is a rad name. I hope it’s Mariah Carey. She would be the best therapist. You’d just drink champagne and talk about butterflies the whole time. Good luck!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha! I love your random thoughts. You can come!!! We have a 36 year old coming so you’ll be a baby!

      Comment by lpskins | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’m in the San Francisco airport now. Heading to la! I looooooved Alcatraz and purchased a few books there that I found interesting. 🙂 SF was super fun, can’t wait to see what LA brings.

    Comment by Stephanie | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  12. What a fun trip! And so exciting to plan for next year!!

    So funny about the boy/girl question, I think people are so worried about having something to say in situations like that that they don’t think about the fact that what’s coming out of their mouth is retarded!

    Comment by LindsayRuns | February 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

