Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Who to chose?

So I’m now torn between two therapists. Remember Mimi? Well I went to her website and her main  focus is eating disorders!  Her website is so cool; she offers 1:1 counseling and group therapy, practices using CBT model (Cognitive Behavioral Therapy) which I was looking for, and seems to know her stuff. Then there’s Lauren. Lauren was the first person I called yesterday and she left her website on her voice message. After checking it out, I learned that she too specializes in eating disorders and seems to capture all aspects of it. Her approach is more visual/relaxation narrative therapy. This is huge news to me bc I’ve been to therapists who work with eating disorders but that doesn’t mean they know what the hell their talking about. One time I got this advice–keep ice cream in my freezer, like an alcoholic would keep vodka in their fridge, and see how long I can resist. Thanks asshole, and I’m paying you for this? Let’s just say I never went back. Lauren emailed me to set up a meeting but since I already have one with Mimi I don’t know what to do. I’d like to test them both out but am not sure if insurance will cover that. Hmmm…what to do, what to do. Did I mention yesterday that I called dietitians too? Yeah! I NEVER use my insurance but it’s time to start. Massages anyone? They’re on Blue Cross/Blue Shield.

Since I ate a large snack yesterday, dinner wasn’t on my mind till about 8:45. I ate veggie burger topped with special ketchup and spinach on an english muffin, served with a side of carrots and hummus. There was some roasting of brussel sprouts too, but I’ll eat them today. I marinated them in olive oil, agave, cayenne, cumin, salt and pepper. Liv helped me come up with that mix and dang is it hot. Before and during dinner I sipped on two glasses of wine.

Len and I had an off day from training which is a good thing since it snowed last night. Thanks mother nature for timing things out perfectly.  Sooo, I won’t be able to post any eats from today till after work. Have a great day peeps!

February 3, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Food, running, The Boyfriend

16 Comments »

  1. Better to have to choose than to not have any appealing choices at all, right?

    I can’t believe one therapist told you to keep ice cream in the freezer and see how long you could resist. Worst idea EVER.

    Comment by Anna | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. I put my veggie burgers on english muffins too haha.

    Glad you finally found some good prospects! That ice cream therapist sounds like an idiot though. Have a great day!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. Mmmmmm those brussel sprouts look awesome! I almost picked some up the other day but realized I have SO many veggies I need to get through already. Definitely on my list though!

    Can you call your insurance and see if they’ll cover both visits just so you can test them out? Or maybe talk to each therapist and tell them you’re dilemma, maybe they’ll let you know ‘get to know them’ for 15 mins or whatever it is, and you’ll have a better idea of how a session with them will go.

    Comment by Olivia | February 3, 2010 | Reply

    • *****Tell them YOUR dilemma. I HATE when I make grammar mistakes!

      Comment by Olivia | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  4. CBT all the way- I have expertise in this and I have come to know you enough that cbt is what you would benefit from…just my opinon

    Comment by jessdownes | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  5. Stick with Mimi and keep the other one as a backup. I want to know all about Mimi!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  6. wow, i need to check and see if massages are on my insurance at all…that would make my year!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  7. Good luck on your therapist search I hope one of the two work out for you. And hmm I have blue cross I need to check into this massage thing!!

    Comment by Erin (texan couture) | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  8. I would say call your insurance as well and see if they will let you try them both out. Better to ask then get stuck with a bill!

    Comment by Jacqui | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  9. I would say to follow your gut. Just really spend some time with yourself and think about what you think will work best for you. In the end, you will make the right decision.

    Comment by Kelly | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  10. Ah, awesome on pursuing all of this help! I am sure that you will make the right decision! 🙂

    Comment by ginamastrog | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  11. Haha, that is a happy dilemma…to have to choose between two good ones! I hope you are happy with who you choose…if not, you can always switch, right?

    Comment by sophia | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  12. You’ll figure it out 🙂 Yay for getting the ball rolling!

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  13. I think it would be great to try both out! It is hard to find a good fit for a therapist! I wish mine had specialized in eating disorders. I was really hoping she would help me with my binging, but because of the timing with other life situations, we ended up talking about something else.

    Comment by kilax | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  14. One counsellor I had said to me to ‘eat a cookie every day’. She also used to ask me to details how much food I’d eat during a binge. She also recommended a book called “Weight Loss for Food Lovers”, or words to that effect. Weight loss? Are you saying I need to lose weight, lady? Big, big mistake. I took my moolah elsewhere to an awesome chick! You’ll find someone soon, lady! My girl is awesome.

    Comment by allyoz | February 7, 2010 | Reply

  15. Oh right I just realised I didn’t really respond to your dilemma at all! I would try them both out, if you can. It’s worth it – even if it means costing a bit more if your insurance doesn’t cover two.

    Comment by allyoz | February 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

