Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

What gets you excited?

1. Going to my comment section and finding a hidden comment in my “pending” folder.

2. Finishing a workout-regardless of how good/hard it was

3. American Idol

4. A big fat ass meal

5. Coming home to my dog

6. Coming home to my boyfriend

7. Visiting my family in Connecticut/PA

8. Saturdays!

9. Feeling pretty

10. Going three days without bingeing ( If I can make it through today…)

11. Getting a blow out (Even though I haven’t gotten a hair cut in 15 months now.)

12. Seeing old friends

13. Whoopee pies

14. Vermont

15. The goodie bag before a race/free food after running the race

16. My Boston Organics delivery today.

It’s nice to have some day-to-day ways to feel joy.  “You can’t steal my joy.” I learned that phrase in another life and LOVE it. (That story can be told a different day. Oy.) Good morning! I’m happy it’s Friday (bummer) Thursday and that the week is almost over. I’m  being naughty tonight and skipping my classes to go into work. Since I have the opportunity to make some money before Sunday, I made a game time decision last night to prioritize. Typically I skip one or two classes per semester due to being sick, having better plans, or just because.  It’s not good to skip classes but because I’m an adult, I can make those choices. Amen.

Last night I accidentally watched a few minutes of Nip and Tuck. OUCH!!! I saw a quick second of them slicing into someone’s boob and felt the urge to chuck. After I have kids, a breast reduction and lift is on my agenda but now I’m not sure that can happen.

With that said, breakfast. I’m totally loving this glorious feast–light muffin, PB and half banana. You really can’t go wrong. To make it healthier I could have used Ezekiel bread but I’m just fine with this.  Off to work but will hopefully get a lunch post up!

February 4, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, Friends, fun, running, The Boyfriend, Workout

15 Comments »

  1. Such a great list, something I definitely need to do! And the english muffin/pb/banana combo is my all time fave! Do you toast your muffin? I can’t eat english muffins without toasting them! I don’t like the taste of them plain!

    woooohooo for skipping class. My law school only allows 6 credit hours of absences (2 full classes), and if you miss more you’re dropped from my class. Ridiculous, because like you said, we’re adults and should be able to decide whether we want to miss class! I’ve already missed three classes (two of one and one of another). SLACKER right here.

    Comment by Olivia | February 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I can eat my muff cold but prefer toasting when it come to PB.

      Comment by lpskins | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great post!!! Posts like this make me happy 🙂

    Comment by Anna | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. I love your list! I just may have to take my time and think up my own list to refer to on sad days. 🙂 I love your breakfast…I drool over it every time you post!

    Comment by LindsayRuns | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. Love that! What a great saying, “You can’t steal my joy” is officially now entering my vernacular. 🙂 And I’m liking #14 on your list of happy things there 😉 This bfast looks yum!

    Comment by ginamastrog | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  5. What a great list! I love it when people focus on the positive! Something that makes me happy: waking up this morning and finding a card from my husband in my running shoes….just to say he loves me! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | February 4, 2010 | Reply

    • That is SOOOO sweet!

      Comment by lpskins | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. same feeling on the pending comments. it’s exciting. SPAM not so much.
    and yes, i feel excited after a butt kicking workout. D

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  7. Amen to all of these, espescially #1, 4 and 9!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  8. Great list. I think I’m the only person who hates the salon blow-out. It always looks like sh*t after they do it no matter where I go. I end up coming home and redoing it myself.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Up until 2.5 years ago, I never even bothered to get my hair dried after a haircut but once I did, I fell in love.

      Comment by lpskins | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  9. My job
    my dogs
    stu
    running
    the nac
    volunteering at sunrise
    chocolate
    cool whip
    blow outs
    jeans
    lv
    manicures
    msf chicken patties
    my keurig
    driving back to ct
    upcoming half marathon
    concerts ie: John Mayer, Michael Buble and Carrie Underwood
    singing in the car
    working in NYC!!!!!!
    Cleaning
    lip gloss
    eating out
    Dallas

    Comment by Lisa paige | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  10. I’m super excited about my delivery today, too! I’ve never had a Jerusalem artichoke or a watermelon radish!! 🙂 Wahoo! The potatoes were delicious for dinner tonight (with black beans and salsa!) Great post. You gotta take it one day at a time and appreciate the little things! (btw… i’ve never had a whoopie pie! probably good that I don’t know what I’m missing…)

    Comment by Baroque Diva | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  11. love your list!!! Can I add the feeling of getting an early sat workout before the majority of people awake?! Saturday mornings too…and the possibility of the weekend! Happy Friday girl

    Comment by Running on Faith | February 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

