Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Still full

Friday has finally arrived! Amen to that, my friends. Recap from a great day yesterday–Though I was only at my internship for three hours, a lot of work got done. Honestly, I’m 29 and this is the first job I’ve ever had that keeps me busy from walking in the door till leaving at 5. It’s truly incredible and rewarding. After “work” I went to a quick meeting at school then headed into my real work–meaning work I get paid for.  Before clocking in, lunch was needed.

Salad with the usual refried beans/hummus/hot sauce concoction,

trail mix for myself and meg, cheese for me

Tomorrow will be the last day I’m needed to fill in so I wanted to get in as many hours as possible.I worked until 9 and got a solid 7.5 hours in. Awesome! The money earned is going towards my ski weekend in March and maybe towards a haircut. (If my ends get any dryer they’ll break right off.) The place I work treats us really well and makes sure we get fed. My friend Meg headed over to Dunkin Donuts for coffee around 2 and came back with some goodies. Obviously I don’t pass up goodies. See below.

Coffee with half chocolate glazed stick. Best.Donut.Ever.

Half Boston Cream Pie.

Followed by the other half. All this time, I've told myself that I didn't like Boston Cream Pie. Boy was I wrong.

Around 8:30 we ordered take our from a local restaurant, Meyers and Change. I ordered vegetarian udon noodles with boy choy and tofu. I had NO idea what to expect. Hello heaven! My dish was rich, oily, spicy and fabulous. They surprised us with lemon cookies and lemon mouse. I ate it all.

Unfortunately I also ate a slice of chocolate bread. Needless to say, I still feel full. Luckily, I came home to my first delivery from Boston Organic. Holy moly! For 39 dollars I received so much stuff. I am so excited about this service.

1 pound Fiji apples

1 avocado

2 pounds bananas

1 pound beets

broccoli

1 pound carrots

1.5 pounds onions

3 oranges

3 pears

2 pounds potatoes

3 Radishes

1.5 pounds turnips

1 kale

1 red leaf lettuce

Now what the hell do I do with all this? I need advice on how to cook Kale, turnips and beets. Help! With all these veggies, I’m sure to make some healthy choices in the coming week. Right?

Len and I haven’t stayed true to our training plan this week but I’m going for a run shortly and we plan to run 5 miles tomorrow. Afterwards I’m heading to class then to work again. Gotta make some money while I can!

Are you guys excited for the Superbowl?? Am I the only one who doesn’t care about it? Have a great day, bloggies.

February 5, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun, Marathon Training, The Boyfriend, Workout

13 Comments »

  1. You can make wraps using kale as the wrap or make kale chips.
    Have a great weekend!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • I like the idea of Kale Chips. Do they taste “chippy”?

      Comment by lpskins | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. So cool!!! I wish I could get fresh veggies delivered like that! I second Melissa on the kale chips, or you can just sautee it with a little olive oil and agave. Roasted turnips and beets are delicious too!

    Comment by Anna | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • The only time I’ve ever cooked it was by steaming and EW! It was a total garnish, not to be eaten. Maybe the agave will even the bitterness out?

      Comment by lpskins | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. I chop kale into thin strips and saute it in olive oil. Add spices: salt & pepper, chili powder, cinnamon (sounds weird, but trust me. This will replace the bitterness with a nice sweet flavor, without using sugar or agave). I also like to add some raisins and/or seeds or nuts. Finally drizzle a little bit of vinegar over it. It’s done when it starts to darken – you don’t want it too wilted!

    Comment by Laurie | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. stupid donuts…why do they have to be so damn good?!?!?!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. Kale chips aren’t really “chippy,” but still good! You basically top them with a dressing and then bake them. The Fitnessista has some good recipes! I’ve never made my own, only bought them at the health food store. I can’t believe you got all that produce for $39!

    I love when they throw extra stuff in with the takeout orders!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  6. I am not excited about the superbowl… maybe for the commercials but not the actual game… and maybe the singers too. =)
    haha

    Comment by Sofia | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  7. I could care less about the super bowl.. haha glad I’M not the only one!
    Those are some yummy eats… boston cream pie donut.. oh i’d be all OVER that. As a confessed carbaholic, fried bread is pretty much the end of all things for me haha
    Loving the produce! I’ve been wanting to try kale so I’ll be looking to see what you do with it and how it goes!

    Comment by theprocessofhealing | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hot sauce on the salad, huh? I’m intrigued… must try soon…

    Comment by Amy | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  9. I chop the kale into bite size pieces, squeeze some bottled lemon juice, honey/maple syrup/ agave/ whatever ya like, sprinkle some salt and “massage” it with my hands till the dressing gets worked into the kale, eat it then or stick it in the fridge for a few. Then it’s softer like lettuce!

    I care not one iota about the superbowl, except the get together with friends aspect.

    Comment by LindsayRuns | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  10. Omg I would love to have veggies delivered to me like that! What a neat idea! Love the donuts!!! 🙂

    Comment by Kristen @ Change of Pace | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  11. Those veggies look awesome! I can’t wait to see what you turn them into!!

    Comment by Kelly | February 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

