Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Procrastination Nation

Good morning Saturday. I slept in till 10:30 and feel well rested. Len and I have absolutely nothing planned today so rather than rush to get out the door for our run, we’re waiting till later this afternoon. Plus, the boyfriend went out last night so he may or may not be in rough shape. Today is my “free day” this weekend because tomorrow I’m volunteering at my old jobs fundraiser , The Gospel Brunch.  Last night I stayed at work till 10, clocking 5 more hours. I miss working for money! Graduate school doesn’t leave much time for that. Well, of course there’s always time but I’d rather have my weekends free to allow for some balance in my life. I might regret that decision come time to pay all my loans.

Weigh in. So I gained a little this morning and you’ll understand why after I lay out all my eats. Meg and I have proved that working together is a bad combination because we tend to eat whatever we want. The day started off healthy with a sliced banana and peanut butter pre-gym. I walked at an incline for three miles. Why can’t I just run damn it??

On the walk to class, I munched on two “burritos” made with low carb whole wheat vegan wraps. The wraps are sold  in the hummus section at Trader Joes’s and I highly recommend them.  45 calories per wrap and a bunch of fiber. They were filled with refried beans (cracked open a new can), hummus, and spinach. If thats not a recipe for a poop I don’t know what is.

Please excuse the less than pretty picture.

After class I snacked on some melon and the rest of my smashed cauliflower mixed with hummus. I also ate a pack of trail mix. Then,  I packed up a healthy dinner to take with me to work: salad with the usual refried beans mix, a veggie burger and some whole wheat crackers.

This melon sucked. I ate in anyway.

My dinner went undocumented because I made other choices,some other unhealthy choices. First came mozzarella sticks. I probably ate 5 or six of them. Honestly, I would never have ordered these on my own but I ate them since they were there. Then came chocolate cake. I got diabetes last night. Even after all of this, I ate a weight watchers ice cream and a slice of chocolate pound cake upon getting home at 10:30. Needless to say, I’m shocked my scale didn’t read higher.

The sauce is key.

Wasn't as good as it looks. I ate it of course.

Food coma= laying on couch catching up on DVR. Of all the choices, I chose to watch Oprah’s episode on Diabetes. Oh shit. Diabetes is called the “silent killer” and it really scared me. You all know how I love my sugar. I’ve never been mindful of how many grams I consume on a daily basis because ignorance is bliss. With that said, I don’t want to lose a limb to diabetes. Anna’s (counting sugar grams) challenge came at a perfect time and I think it’s finally time to be informed. As annoying as measuring and counting can be, it’s the only way to check and assess what I’m putting into my body.

Is it 12:15 already???? Where has the time gone. Time to make my man an omelette. I think I’ll have my salad from last night. Who’s snowed in today?

February 6, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Food, Friends, fun, running, The Boyfriend, Weigh In, Workout

6 Comments »

  1. okay where;s the dirty banana pb picture! COME ON NOW! =D

    i tried it. delicious. (pb banana sandwich. )

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. walking on incline is still a damn good workout- even better than running on flat- you’re propelling yo self up and forward. HARD CORE.
    hahaha it’s all mine?! hahah didn’t know that.

    OF COURSE you wouldn’t steer me wrong. =D i trust your tastes.

    PROCRASTINATION hollahhhhh. dude, you either gotta come here or i go visit so we can tear up the town with our dirty jokes.

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. That counting sugar idea is interesting…I am sure mine is much higher than I like to think it is! Enjoy your Saturday afternoon, did you get fresh snow?

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. Don’t be too hard on yourself! Yeah, you ate junk last night…we all do it though. I never post the food I consume between the hours of 9 and 3 on weekend nights, and it’s probably more calories than I take in on an average day. There’s no such thing as a “good diet” or “bad diet”. What matters is how often we make bad choices, and if we balance them out with healthy ones. Plus, that cake looks amazing…SO worth it!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  5. Walking at an incline is still good – works your bum! Haha.. that’s why I love it. If you’re having difficulty motivating yourself to run, maybe just up the speed to a faster and faster walk each time, until you’re forced to run, even if it’s slow. Don’t know if that will work but it’s an idea. =)

    I eat too much all the time and a lot of the stuff? Like you said, doesn’t even taste that good. I’ll admit though.. that cake looks fantastic right now. Why do I have to adore sugar?

    I’m doing the sugar challenge and it’s SO eye-opening. Especially when you see lots of sugar in products that you wouldn’t think should HAVE that much sugar. It’s ridiculous.

    Comment by Anonymous | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  6. hahhah WHO”S IT GONNA BE??!? i guess i could become a different type of personal trainer.

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

