Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

R.I.P. Versatile Dress

EATS!! The salad from last night was still wonderful and not at all soggy. Then I chomped on this measly little apple. Really Boston Organics? I ate half and gave the rest to Eleanor. She clearly wanted a taste. Now I’m trying to figure out what to do with those turnips.

We just got invited to another wedding this summer which makes three and it’s only February. I enjoy going to weddings (most of the time) but HATE having to find a dress. Two years ago I bought a cheap dress at TJ Max and it quickly turned into my “go-to” dress. Unfortunately it was laid to rest this past September after the strap broke off as I was walking into a wedding. Below are pictures from four different weddings that I wore the dress too. I swear there was one more wedding but I can’t find the photo. The beauty of this dress is that it worked regardless of my weight. I fluctuated by about 10 pounds within the past two years and it stuck with me. Bless it. Note-the last picture shows double straps but really thats my bra because I forgot a strapless. Classy.


February 6, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend

31 Comments »

  1. That’s funny, I had a two dresses that I alternated between for weddings. Second time I wore it (last summer) strap broke and now I’m left with one dress.

    Comment by Nicci | February 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Damn these straps!

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great dress…love the go to dresses/ wardrobe staples for sure!! 😀
    http://www.justjac.wordpress.com

    Comment by jaclyn | February 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Everyone one needs the staples.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. Very pretty! I like the flower in your hair in the last pic. I need a dress like that! I have a horrible ‘adult’ wardrobe ever. Plus, I hate dressing up! I guess that makes me a tom boy, I don’t know, I need to get over it though because once I’m out of school my wardrobe will not cut it! And yes, smallest apple ever!

    Comment by Olivia | February 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh please, my wardrobe is far less exciting than yours. I’m confident in that. Also, the flower was randomly plucked from the table setting.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. Aww, you look so pretty in all those pictures and I really like that dress. Too bad it had to go and break but I guess it had a lot of use.

    Lol, your organic apple is the size of most of the apples that come off of our apple trees. =)

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks! Jealous that you have an apple tree.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. Cute dress. I rotate through two dresses for that kind of thing, one winter and one summer. I love Ellie’s face, so cute!

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Good call with the seasonal dresses

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. Aw, I love the flower in your hair…You look gorgeous!
    I hate buying dresses too, mostly because I don’t fit in any. I’m very very lacking in the chest area, if you know what I mean…

    Comment by sophia | February 6, 2010 | Reply

    • I have to opposite problem..if you know what I mean.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. I already have 3 weddings this summer too! I haven’t even started to thing about what I’ll wear. Two are super casual.

    Comment by Ali | February 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Who’s getting married?

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. I love that dress! It stinks that the strap broke. Could you sew it back on? Maybe you could take it somewhere. If not, RIP black dress 😦

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | February 7, 2010 | Reply

    • I could probably pull something off but five weddings is probably enough for one dress. (My friend Kate reminded me of the fifth one.)

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. That’s a gorgeous dress! I’ve had a few dresses meet the strap-breaking fate. I hate having to find a new dress when I loved the old one!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Esp. when that one was soo cheap and forgiving.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. I have that dress!!!! You and I are blog twins 🙂

    Comment by Anna | February 7, 2010 | Reply

    • We’re twinsies??!! Love it.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. I too have been in strapless less (ha!) bra situations. It happens to the best of us. You still look lovely in the pictures. I’m so sorry to hear about it being laid to rest.

    Comment by Annie | February 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Annie!

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  12. Yikes, please let me know if and where you have luck finding a new “go to” dress! I need one or two for several weddings this year too!! I have actually started working out my arms so that I have more options! 🙂 As of right now I’d opt NOT to buy something with short or no sleeves, yuck! The last dress I wore to a wedding (about four years ago) was a BAD choice… I have got to take pics in dresses before I wear them out. Very cute dress from Express but it did more than nothing for me!! Good luck!!! 🙂 And that dress was really gorgeous AND it looked comfy!! I might of duct taped that baby back together! LOL

    Comment by Kimberley | February 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Awesome!! I need to work my arms. Good for you Kim.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  13. Oh… yes I have a “Go To” dress as well. Empire waist of course… 🙂 Because like you said, good for fluctuations AND for when you feel like consuming all the delish food at a wedding. I know they say to wear “fitted” clothes as to not over-eat at events such as that, but really, what do they know? 😉

    Comment by Amy | February 8, 2010 | Reply

    • God bless the empire waste.

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  14. Brookes wedding was the other one righ?! Now that was fun! 🙂

    Comment by Katelyn | February 8, 2010 | Reply

    • YES! Thank you. Do we have pics?

      Comment by lpskins | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  15. Can’t you just sew the strap back on?? (use black thread even if you have to go out to store to buy some) coco

    Comment by Lindsay | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  16. […] weekend we are headed to Cape Cod for a wedding which means that old faithful is back. You know… old faithful. The dress that I’ve worn to 700 weddings and has a broken […]

    Pingback by So long as his speedo is not white.. « Goodies Galore | June 17, 2010 | Reply

  17. […] this dress? Last September I swore it was donezo but lo and behold, it made another appearance in June at its […]

    Pingback by Wedding recap « Goodies Galore | August 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

