Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Here I come Mimi!

How you doin’ (in my best Italian accent.) Last night was fun and fatty. We went to our (newly engaged) friends house, Randy and Heather, for the super bowl. Prior to going, I popped into Shaws to buy some healthy treats–two kinds of hummus, spicy blue chips. pita chips, carrots and broccoli. We made a second trip to Shaws and Len picked up a bunch of fried garbage–wings, onion rings, jalapeno poppers and mozzarella sticks. After three glasses of wine, I happily ate a lot of that garbage. Have you guys ever tried a jalapeno popper? Holy crap those suckers are good.

Healthy--for the most part.

Not so much.

I paid for eating that fatty garbage today. My stomach cramps were painful and not going to lie– I think they were gas cramps. Ouch.

I started the morning off with a banana and some coffee. I tell ya, Monday mornings never get easy. Even though I have tons of ingredients for burritos, I couldn’t resist buying a couple of Amys burritos last night. I ate that for lunch along with broccoli/carrots with hummus. For years and years my hummus of choice was Cedars original. I hadn’t bought it in a long time because my obsession for Trader Joe’s hummus and Sabra hummus has been pretty intense. Cedars was on sale last night so I thought why not. Why not? Because it tastes like dry butt crack. I’m SHOCKED at how different it tastes! Totally sticking to TJ’s hummus from now on.

On the way to the bus stop after work I stopped in Dunkin Donuts. My buds weren’t even craving donuts and still, I bought a jelly stick and a chocolate glazed. A part of me said, you start counseling tomorrow so you better get your last binge in tonight. What a ridiculous way of thinking. I’m pretty disappointed in myself.

Speaking of counseling, I’m pretty excited to meet Mimi tomorrow morning. My friend asked me if I was going to tell Mimi about the blog and the truth is, I haven’t decided. I have asked myself that too and I think I will. My blog is a pretty significant part of my life and I started it to explore my eating disorder. We’ll see. What would you guys do?

February 8, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, The Boyfriend

11 Comments »

  1. My suggestion is to get a feel for her first. If you think you will stick with her, then decide to tell her. She may not ask your blog URL and you shouldn’t feel obligated to give it to her if you aren’t comfortable with that. You can just tell her that you have a blog where you discuss your issues with food and other random stuff.

    Comment by Stephanie | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. i totally agree with stephanie. i wouldn’t even bring it up tomorrow, but maybe if you see her again, in a few sessions approach the topic. and i wouldn’t give her the name of it or whatever.

    good luck tomorrow! i really hope you like her and feel comfortable!

    Comment by jenn graves | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. Just found you through the comment on my blog. I ran a half-marathon in Monson, MA (way western mass) in November.

    Good luck with the counselor, I agree with the previous two posters about the blog disclosure 🙂

    Comment by eaternotarunner | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh yes, jalapeno poppers are delicious. Since I can’t really order them out anymore I should try to recreate them at home (thank goodness for vegan cream cheese haha) 🙂

    Comment by Kristie | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. I would go with your gut! If you feel like you want to share your blog with her then you should but I also don’t think there is anything wrong with keeping it to yourself until you feel ready to bring it up! Goodluck! I am rooting for you and can’t wait to hear how it goes!! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. Good luck with Mimi. I miss my therapist so much. She is one of the reasons I came up with my blog. Once I stopped seeing her, I needed a way to stay accountable to myself. Its so weird and difficult at times not having someone that is there just to listen to me and make all these amazing connections.
    Definately tell her about the blog, it may lead to some awesome self exploration.

    Comment by Astrid | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Good luck with Mimi tomorrow! And don’t be too hard on yourself about the donut- we’re all human, and it’s good you realize it was emotional eating! I love Sabra, too…nothing compares!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. You’re going for counseling? Is this your first time? I’ve been seriously considering going too but haven’t been able to take the step.

    As for sharing about the blog, I would do it when you feel the time is right. 🙂

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. You’re being too hard on yourself. Everyone eats crap during the Super Bowl.
    You should tell Mimi about the blog (or I would anyway). She’s there to help. The more she knows, the more she can help. She might even have ways for you to use the blog in a therapeutic way. It can’t hurt. Good luck!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  10. Yeah, I think if you stick with her you should at least tell her about the fact that you journal your thoughts on food an such, if you want to tell her it’s public and she can see it, well, that’s up to how she feels out. But I think this is good for ya, regardless!

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  11. LOOOVE sabra hummus!

    Comment by jessdownes | February 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

