Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Great Session!

I had my first appointment with therapist Mimi this morning and I’m feeling really good about her and our dynamics. We spend our first session together doing a lot of history taking, which is totally normal.  We talked about when my disordered eating began, how it progressed and where I (ed) am today. We talked about triggers to binges, how unpredictable they are, and how predictable they can be.  (For those of you who don’t know, I was 15 when I first starting restricting and over-exercising. I am now 29.) We discussed when ED went from restricting to bingeing and why that switch happened. Since everything started in high school, we spent a lot of time talking about those years within my family, my circle of friends, etc. She asked about my family dynamics presently and how they’ve evolved.

What I like about Mimi and what I’ve searched for in a therapist, is that she doesn’t sit there with a blank face as she listens. In social work school, we are tought to listen without showing signs of judgement one way or another and  to limit our suggestions and feedback–letting the client do a lot of the work. I understand this method and believe it works for many, many people. Not for me. I want someone who will speak up when something sounds off or agree/disagree with me when I talk about something twisted. Mimi did that and we had some really great laugh out loud moments. She jokes around.  Once I swore, she felt okay doing it too. I like that! I like that because I love to swear, and having her do it too means she’s a real person who isn’t trying too hard to seem professional. We talked for 45 minutes before it was time to wrap up. In closing she said, “You’re going to get over this. You really will.” This gave me such hope because I’ve often wondered if it’s really possible. I’ve wondered if I’ll be living in the haze of disordered eating forever. She said that when I as younger I probably didn’t have the internal ability to work through my emotions in a positive way but that I have those abilities now.She didn’t assign me any homework for next week but I can’t wait to see what comes next. I’ll certainly keep you posted. My blog never came up but when the timing is right I’ll fill her in. There’s nothing on here that I’m ashamed of (minus eating donut after donut after donut)or that she wouldn’t be informed about in the first place. If anyone wants to know more about counseling or the process, please feel free to email me @ lpskins@hotmail.com. I’d be so happy to help!

After therapy I hit the gym for 3 miles on the treadmill. Len and I snoozed through our morning wake up call to run so I was on my own. The good news is that I just roasted potatoes, beets, onions, garlic and turnips. I have to fight off the leftover pizza so those should do the trick. Have you all ever tried to peel beets? Those suckers are tricky. Also, while peeling turnips (wait, are they turnips or parsnips?) I couldn’t help but notice a horseradish aroma. Hmmmmmm…. I wonder if there’s a connection there. Google here I come!

Look at that roasted garlic. I'm not sure it's worth smelling like ass though. I'll take my chances.

Rumor is that Boston is getting a snow storm on Wednesday. I wish it would hold off till Thursday so my classes would be canceled.

Brunch!

February 9, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Family, Food, Friends, fun, running, The Boyfriend

26 Comments »

  1. YAY! YAY! I am so excited for you! That is great that you felt like you had a very productive session! Are you going to be meeting with her weekly?

    Comment by Kelly | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks!! Me too, Yes, weekly for now.

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. girl, you CAN and WILL get over it…i’m so glad you had a great session 🙂 i’m excited to be here when you are over it and can enjoy your life 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Aw, that made me tear up a little bit. Thanks Heather!

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am very happy that you had a positive experience with your therapist. Therapy can be so awesome if you like the person and trust them. It must have been so comforting to hear her say that you will get over this. You will. Everything in life is only for now, some things just stay stuck within us for longer than others.
    I can’t wait to hear how other of your sessions go! Feel free to email me or shoot me any questions about therapy, I have experienced one not-so-good therapist and one great therapist, so I have some insight.
    Have a great Tuesday!

    Comment by Astrid | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Astrid. I appreciate your willingness to help.

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  4. SO GLAD it went well! Have a great rest of your day Lindsay!

    Comment by LindsayRuns | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • You too Linds! Thanks.

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  5. yay lins! so happy for you! you go girl! io HAVE to swear with my therapist and she totally joins me 😉

    Comment by jessdownes | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m glad you had a positive first session! Mimi sounds awesome. Is it okay that I’m still picturing Mariah as your therapist? I’m considering going to see someone myself, but I’m a little scared. This gives me hope 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  7. Yay!!! SO glad you liked her! She sounds awesome, and so excited to help you blaze through your disordered eating.

    Comment by Anna | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’m so glad you had a good session! Good therapists are always such a relief to find. It sounds like you’re so happy about this, and you CAN do it!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks.. they really are.

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  9. So awesome that you found someone who you can really trust, and like enough to open up to! I know when I first started going to therapy, the woman I went to was HORRID and we didn’t click at all. You are such an amazing and resiliant woman – go you!! 😀

    Comment by ginamastrog | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Gina! As are you!!!

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  10. So happy for you!

    Comment by Jacqui | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  11. Yay i’m glad you had a great session! I’ve been considering going to see one myself but I would like my hubby to join me. He’s not into it though 😦

    lol @ the comment above about picturing Mariah as your therapist. I was totally doing the same thing!

    Comment by jlbolf80 | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  12. So glad your first session went well!!!! And those veggies look amazing. Love roasted too and I don’t care what I smell like, I eat it and I love it.

    Comment by Olivia | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  13. Glad you’re liking your therapist! I love, love, love roasted garlic!

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  14. awesome linds!! I love you and you deserve o tbe the happiest you can be in life. And if yo ufind an easier way to peel beets please let me know!!!lol

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks triny!

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  15. Congrats on the great appointment! Mimi sounds very cool and I hope that my first therapist is similar in persona. I’m going to look into finding a therapist/counselor this week and I want to thank you. Even if I can’t find someone in this town, you HAVE inspired me to take the step as soon as the opportunity arises. Thank you for having such courage and determination to beat this thing.

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Ayla and congrats to you. As you said, the first step is the hardest….. but living with ed is MUCH harder.

      Comment by lpskins | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  16. This post made me so happy, you don’t even know! I am fully rooting for u!!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  17. Yay! So good to hear it went well with Mimi. One line you wrote really struck me – ‘when the ED turned from restricting to binging’. Very, very interesting! This happened with me too.

    And personally, I’d eat that garlic sucka. Worth the ass breath.

    Comment by allyoz | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  18. I am so happy the meeting with Mimi went well! I hate it when I tell someone something and don’t get the reaction I want. That is really important!

    Comment by kilax | February 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

