Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

So much for the snow.

I rented the Time Travelers Wife because I adore Rachel McAdams but boy was it lousy. With that said, I cried my eyeballs out at the end. Somehow I managed to eat all my meals today despite feeling like crap. I woke up late and ate an english muffin with refried beans and avocado. Ketchup would have done this sandwich good but I resisted.

A few hours later I ate my very first Pecan Pie flavored Larabar. It was good but not fantastic. Had an interesting taste to it….spicy, maybe?

Lunch happened around 3:45 because I was still satisfied from the earlier goodies. I must say, I am almost roasted veggied-out. Along with the veggies, I had spicy tortilla chips with hummus. Yummy. I could easily shove down this whole bag but I shall not!

veggies with hot sauce

spicy goodness

So I bought these weird ear plugs at CVS because Len has to watch TV through the night and it annoys the crap out of me. Aren’t they so strange looking? They are basically waxy silicone balls. I tried them out today but got too scared that they’d get stuck in my ear canals so I just let them kinda sit there. Needless to say they didn’t work. Does anyone use the other kinds? The less freaky looking ones?

It still hasn’t really snowed in Boston. I hope it all holds off until tomorrow night!! Did I mention I’m over my classes?

February 10, 2010 - Posted by | Food

21 Comments »

  1. Hi Lindsay! I hope you feel better soon. I use the AO Safety earplugs. They are used by guys in construction and stuff. I got them at Home Depot. I have purple ones 😉 I got them for when I went to a monster truck show, but I have used them and they do a good job of blocking out noises. They are like foam and you kinda smush them down and shove them in your ears and they expand to fit your ear. They come out easily too.

    Comment by Stephanie | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Good to know. Home Depot here I come. Thanks Stephanie!

      Comment by lpskins | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. I want to see The Time Traveler’s Wife but I sort of want to read the book first. The thing is, I may never get around to reading the book so I’m trying to decide if I should just go ahead and watch the movie. Maybe it’s lousy but Rachael McAdams is gorgeous and Eric Bana is a total stud. Not that those are legit reasons to watch a movie but you know how it is..

    I’m with you about those earplugs. They’re bizarre looking and I would be totally worried about them getting lost in my ear.. is that possible? Dunno.. better safe than sorry. xD

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • They say the books are always better but there’s nothing wrong with seeing a movie for the beautiful actors in them! I only watched it for Rachel! Hahah, not sure if they can get lost but maybe bust our drum?? ew.

      Comment by lpskins | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’ve never used ear plugs but my old roommate used to wear them every night and she would leave them everywhere! I love her but it was DISGUSTING lol.

    Comment by Kristie | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • EW! What’s worse than hard ear wax?

      Comment by lpskins | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. I didn’t know they had a Pecan Pie flavor. I have to go find this one. I’m just hoping for ice down this way.

    Comment by Nicci | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. i SO wish it would snow here immediately and cancel everything in Colorado for a day or two. your eats look SOOO good…my mouth is watering 🙂

    Comment by Heather | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Really?? There’s not a single loaf in sight!

      Comment by lpskins | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. I hate to hear that the Time Traveler’s Wife is a bad movie. I really loved the book. It does have a strange premise though.

    You’re gonna LOVE your earplugs. I live in an apt, and I have to wear mine every night because the people downstairs laugh and band around all night long! The ear plugs have seriously saved my sleep.

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  7. “bang around”

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’m scared of ear plugs for the same reason!! I always think of those kids who put like, pebbles in their ears and go deaf. Probably not the best reassurance, sorry!

    TTW was such a good book, but I agree that the movie was a letdown. I cried too though, if it makes you feel any better 🙂

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  9. You should read the book! It was SO good!

    Comment by Anna | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  10. I had to use those ear plugs when I was little. They dont get stuck crazy girl!!! They do work.

    Comment by Lindsay | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  11. Why does he need to watch tv all night? that would annoy me too! 🙂

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  12. I would die without my bulk supply of earplugs! I wear them all the time because I am such a light sleeper. Definitely use the foam ones though- you can get them at any drug store.

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  13. Doug uses the bright colored foam ones, but you have to use a new pair every week, b’c they get gross. I just threw up a little bit in my mouth just thinking about it.

    Buy the cheapies at CVS, Walmart, Target … They are usually bright orange, pink or purple.

    Good luck lady

    Comment by Shleigh | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  14. I love roasted veggies over brown rice with a dollop of hummus. YUM YUM!

    Why do men need to watch tv at night? Tell him to stay in the living room until he’s done watching. A girl needs her sleep!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  15. Hmm, I got the kind of earplugs that you just pop in your ear yourself? They’re disposable and they come in a big pack. Pretty sure they’re orange.

    Comment by ginamastrog | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  16. Ah bummer that the movie wasn’t good! I love Rachel McAdams too…ugh!

    Comment by Kelly | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  17. I’m almost positive hot sauce can be put on anything! Yum! And I agree- I was a little disappointed with the movie as well. I’ve considered giving the story another chance and reading the book- they always say the book is better… maybe I need to learn my lesson! 🙂

    Comment by Amy | February 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

