Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Kale was not a bust!

Hi loves. Well, I’m happy to say that you all were RIGHT about Kale. I finally cooked my wilted kale leaves into kale chips! Holy hell… I didn’t have much hope for them when they were smoking crisping away in the oven, so I let them cook extra, extra long. Prior to cooking them I sprayed the baking sheets, sprinkled with way too much salt, and the sprayed again. I must admit, all that salt made them what they were. Β I didn’t even have to dip them in ketchup!! The bf even loved them.

Eleanor? Not so much..

And what do people do when they’re sick? Eat soup. Trader Joes low sodium tomato soup coming right up. Ever since the superbowl, we’ve had Cedars pita chips stalking me from our cabinet. I ate a stack of those and dipped them in ketchup. After that meal I felt really salty and full. So why in the hell would I then eat a pint of Ben and Jerry light ice cream? I’ll have to ask Mimi about that.

I must say, I’m feeling pretty down about myself rightΒ now (not because of the B&J) and really just feel blah. I’m so thankful that I now have professional support in place to work through this.

I was thinking about Valentines day this morning and self admittedly, I am not a romantic. Actually, I’m the worst romantic around town and unfortunately pretty pessimistic when it comes to “ever-lasting love”.Β (I’m working on that too.) With that said, take a minute to boast about the people in your lives that we want to celebrate–partner, best friend, parent, etc. I want to hear all about them.

February 11, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend

29 Comments »

  1. I’m not a romantic either. I used to be though. My current relationship isn’t going so well so maybe that’s why I’m down? I don’t know. I have some great friends that I love to pieces and have always been my Valentine’s year after year though πŸ™‚

    Kale chips are SO good with salt.
    I eat tons when I’m sick so don’t feel bad.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Maybe you’ll be pleasantly surprised by that person on V day.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. Maybe you were looking for the salty sweet combo? πŸ™‚

    Comment by Kristie | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I think I’m just always looking for sweet.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. Aw, well don’t feel bad because I am the opposite! Hopeless.. and I don’t think that is any better! Watching all these dumb movies (The Notebook) etc. and thinking that is EXACTLY how life should be! I truly cannot help it though!! I am even divorced and still believe 100% in marriage! After five years of pretty much useless dating I FINALLY met someone who is exactly what I’ve been looking for! Last two years I even sorta gave up. He is GREAT!! So happy but still a bit cautious!

    I hope you have a great V-day! Even just spending time with the person you love will be awesome!

    Comment by Kimberley | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Awww, that’s cute! I like to hear about the hopeless romantics.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. i totally do the same thing if i have too much salt…all i want is something to balance it out. keep working at it, it’s not going to be easy, but you can do it πŸ™‚

    Comment by Heather | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. So Eleanor did not like the kale either??? So glad you have found someone you like & that can help {{hugs}}

    Comment by Debra | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. I love the pics of Eleanor!!

    Im excited for valentines day, way more then my bf. I’ll be surprised if he even remembers…we will see.

    Comment by Lisa | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Aw, I hope so.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  7. I love kale chips! And I’m totally not a romantic girl, just not my thing I guess πŸ™‚

    Comment by Runeatrepeat | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Well we know Ben is! He might trick you into baby making mode.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oh, I POUR the salt on my kale chips. That’s what helps them to taste like potato chips πŸ™‚

    Sorry you’re sick and feeling down 😦 I’ve had quite a few of those days myself…I blame winter. It’ll be spring soon enough, right?

    Comment by Anna | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Anna…. hopefully it will be here soon. Then I wont keep putting off my exercise. I never put salt on anything but the kale definitely needed it.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  9. Okay…not that you asked but here is my theory on everlasting love: I don’t believe in soulmates or anything remotely close to that. I am not even sure that we, as humans, are meant to be manogimous. I think what is more special about love is that you are willing to give up the opportunity to be with other people to spend your life with just one person. I think you fall in and out of love with your spouse and it is totally natural to have crushes on other people. (it is the acting upon it that is wrong) I love my husband so much but I don’t think he is the only person in the whole wide world who could make me happy or that I could love. But I choose to give up all the other people that I could be happy with to be happy with him. Does that sound crazy?!

    Comment by Kelly | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I think you’re really onto something Kelly.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  10. Totally hopeless romantic where my bf really isn’t. Valentines day is just another day in our book, although I would like to admit that it does feel nice to be appreciated enough to maybe recieve a nice card or something?! Is that too much to ask? I asked him what he wanted to do for Vday and he said….”no plans, just another day, but if you want to do something we can” what is that?! REally?! Thankfully I’m working so I won’t feel so down….I guess I’m just a little sensitive right now cuz of the period! I hope your feeling down ends soon! I was there for 3days in a row…being sick doesn’t help! Love ya!

    Comment by Katelyn | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Awww, I wish I knew this earlier and would have given justin a good talking to. Well I love and celebrate you sista!

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  11. I am not very good about being romantic or even sexual… but I do think there are great people in the world! I have the same views as Kelly – there are probably many people who could make me happy – I am lucky to have found one!

    Comment by kilax | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m the worst at being sexual.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  12. Kale chips are SO GOOD! I’m all about the sweets when I’m sick, too, which is weird since most people eat less when they’re sick. Oh well haha. Definitely talk to Mimi about it if it bothers you though!

    As for the “everlasting love” thing, I don’t believe that there’s only one person out there that can make us happy. I think a lot of people could be “The One,” but the fact that you both choose to commit to loving each other forever makes them “The One.” Does that make sense?

    Have a great weekend and feel better!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • That makes a lot of sense.. and I agree.

      Comment by lpskins | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  13. Your doggy is so cute! This Valentine’s Day is my boyfriends first one with a significant other (last year he went to Hooters, haha) so he is so excited! I want to make it special for him, so I went all out. Plus we are long distance so getting to spend a romantic weekend together is going to be great!

    Comment by Kelly | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  14. Yay for kale chips! I’ve never actually tried them but I’m sure they’re amazingly good.

    I’m not really one to believe in the “everlasting love” either but a little girly part of me thinks it would be nice. Still, I think that if you don’t settle for just anyone then the chances of you finding someone truly compatible are more likely to occur.

    My mom is VERY anti-marriage and doesn’t believe that anyone can be happy with the same person forever. Somehow I’ve still grown up not agreeing with that outlook.

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Wow, good for you for having a positive view on marriage, despite moms influence. That’s impressive.

      Comment by lpskins | February 12, 2010 | Reply

  15. Another way I love kale is to cook it in balsamic vinegar and maple syrup. πŸ™‚ Maybe the bf might like that one too? Or just throw some bacon in there too! Then maybe Eleanor might find it worthy as well! Haha!

    Comment by sophia | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  16. I have to try kale! I’ve been wanting to for so so long..

    Comment by theprocessofhealing | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  17. My homeboy is the shiz. I don’t want to boast, but he really is fantastic. I’ve even told him a lot about my ED and he is so understanding and helpful. So many guys his age would freak out.

    I can’t find kale anywhere in Oz?? What’s up with that. Kale chips sound cool!

    Comment by allyoz | February 13, 2010 | Reply

    • No kale? hmmm..maybe it just doesn’t grow there?

      Comment by lpskins | February 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

