Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Hickeys have not gone out of style

Amen to Saturdays! The best day of the week by far. Isn’t it a great feeling going to bed on Friday nights without having to set an alarm? Len and I woke around 8:30 and quickly made a plan for the day– Starbucks for getting some work done, home to walk the rat, out for our 5 miles and hang till dinner tonight with Len’s good buddies. Not too shabby. Since I’m not a fan of Starbucks food (unless it’s a pastry) or drink, I made myself an english muffin and egg (one egg, one white) sandwich with sliced orange on the side. That bad boy came in my box from Boston Organics and was quite good.

I fought with the idea of going to Trader Joes this morning because we have no vegetables other than turnips. I’m jonesin for some carrots, broccoli, etc AND maybe some jalapeño and cilantro hummus. Moneys tight these days so I certainly can’t have a mindless TJ’s grocery shops like I prefer. I need to start utilizing what’s in our fridge/freezer/cabinets before buying other goodies. Since I’ve been absent from the blog world I’ll review eats from yesterday and Thursday night. (I must admit, they were damn good. Oh yeah, and I lost a little bit at my weigh-in this morning. Don’t ask me how.

Thursday ended up being a binge day for me. I had a huge chocolate chip muffin, peanut butter cup cookies and bag of chocolate covered pretzels. By the time I got home from class I was longing for something healthy. Then I made such a beautiful creation and was quite proud. his guy was really, really good though it could have used some oven time. Basically I layered all the cold ingredients in there and shoved in into the microwave. That that point it was 9:30 and I just couldn’t be bothered to wait. Everything needs a condiment so hot sauce stepped up to the plate. I think I would have preferred Ketchup but this worked well too.

Stuffed pepper layered with refried beans, laughing cow and avocado.

With a side salad topped with veggie burger. Hot sauce mania. Obvi.

Friday morning I work up to something equally delicious but far less filling.

Good old banana, pb and english muff.

Lunch consisted of two whole wheat tortillas filled with pinto beans, light string cheese, lettuce and salsa. For photo purposes, I left one tortilla open faced and one rolled up so you call can see what I was working with. After that I wanted something sweet so I ate a package of trail mix and two beetles. At this point the dates have become pretty dried up (more than usual) and not as enjoyable.

Len and I had a bargain dinner last night. For 15 bucks we bought a pound of shrimp, (I ate them and liked them, but had to shove them down fast before I got grossed out. Len took the tails off pre-cook. Ew.) roasted sweet potatoes and carrots. Typically I use at least a tablespoon of EVOO for roasting but this time I used 2 tsp of Canola oil. The veggies definitely came out less crispy and more soft– was this due to less oil or because it was Canola? Still awesome though. Along with dinner came two glasses of wine and two beetles. I must say, I’m kinda over the dates and am happy I just polished off the box.

I had the worst dream last night involving the bf and I breaking up.I busted him at a party making out with strippers and he also had a hickey. (A girl in my class had a hickey yesterday. So 1990’s. At least wear a turtleneck, woman!) Len couldn’t understand why I was so heated and we eventually broke up. He wasn’t even sad and was just ready to be free. The weird part was that I woke up then fell back asleep and the dream continued. He got invited to move into our friends extra bedroom and I had nowhere to go. So sad. I can’t stop thinking about it today.

Have you guys ever had a dream that seems to stick with you all day? Do you tend to remember your dreams?

February 13, 2010 Posted by | Food, running, The Boyfriend | 21 Comments