Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Dear God, Please unclog my arteries.

x 15 (at least)

Happy Valentines Day!! Holidays are threatening to my health due to the seasonal candy that comes along with them. Valentines day has always killed me due to conversation hearts. I LOVE them and almost ate a whole bag this week yesterday. For some reason I was fooled into believing that mini eggs and Cadbury eggs are for Easter but clearly I was wrong. Have you seen the shelves at all your local grocery/convenience store? Mini eggs and I have a very special relationship; a love affair really. I would give my soul for a bag of those bad boys. Really, I probably would. Then there are Russell Stover cream eggs. That bastard Russell should be killed for inventing something so wonderful. I may or may not have eaten a coconut cream egg last night.  Let us not forget about Jelly Beans. Not just any beans, they must be Brachs. Years and years ago, my friend Ashley and I were hanging out and I just HAD to stop at CVS for a bag of jelly beans. She had been sugar free for a while and had lost a bunch of weight on WW. I opened my bag to find the biggest bean ever. Never was there a bean so big, and it was in my favorite flavor orange! I held it up with pride and as I boasted, she grabbed it and crushed it right into pieces. Hahahaha, she was mad that she couldn’t eat it. We still laugh at that moment till this day.

This is my favorite but I don't discriminate

I want to dive into that sea of love

Watering mouth

From April till October there’s a seasonal candy hiatus but then Halloween comes in like a wild beast. Candy corn is natures miracle. Again, must be Brachs. Genius. Never will I buy a bag that does not contain the big pumpkins. MMMMMMMMMMMMM. Pumpkins or sex? Pumpkins please.I’ve been known to eat a bag in one sitting. And then my teeth crumble out.

I stole all these pictures from google images–don’t be fooled.

Yesterday ended up serving as our Valentines day celebration due to a change in plans tonight. After several hours at Starbs, we came home to some lunch– english muffin with peanut butter and a huge bowl of soup. Monica inspired me to try this peanut butter with flax from Trader Joes. I must say, I really like it. The flax seeds are very much a part of this butter and I love that it has a huge opening for stirring. Bonus.

Eventually we made it outside for our five mile run. It went by pretty quickly since weather was gorgeous. Of course I was happy to get it out of the way. The rest of the afternoon was spent watching TV, doing homework, having sex, and playing with Ellie. Haha, just wanted to throw that one in there to make sure you were paying attention. Such a jokester.

For the last two years we’ve gotten sushi on V-day so we kept the tradition alive. We hit up Fins and to our surprise got sat right away. That place is AMAZING!!  If you live in Boston and haven’t tried it, you must. Melissa, maybe we should go? I was in no mood for seafood so I ordered my standard– Idaho maki and grilled vegetable and avocado maki. I started the meal with a wonderful side salad with ginger dressing.

Happy Valentines Day babe!

After dinner we rented The Proposal, which I have now seen at least three times. I love that damn movie and sort want to be Sandra. The night ended with a big fat cannoli.

February 14, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, Friends, fun, running, The Boyfriend

12 Comments »

  1. Those mini eggs are my FAVORITE holiday candy out of every holiday. I used to have a major problem with these, but now I just want to have a good handful and enjoy them tremendously! I am glad you are enjoying your V-Day weekend. Great job on the 5 mile run!

    Comment by Astrid | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. YES!!! Mini eggs are the loves of my life!!!

    lol– conversation hearts do not appeal to me at all. I think that might be the ONLY candy I don’t like.

    Comment by Anna | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. I LOVE this ode to seasonal candy. Candy hearts? Yes please. Earlier this week I bought a bag of giant conversation hearts to decorate a cake. I ate four servings and then literally had to ask my friend to keep them in her room so I wouldn’t eat all of them before even baking the cake. Cream eggs are even better…my grandmother still buys me a huge chocolate buttercream dark chocolate egg with my name written on it every year for Easter. And candy corn/pumpkins? I learned the hard way this year that a six pack of Blue Moon + bag of candy corn doesn’t make my tummy very happy. So worth it, though. What about Christmas candy? I die for the seasonal flavors of Hershey’s Kisses and Williams-Sonoma peppermint bark.

    Love the Vday sushi! That cannoli is to die for. I think we’re a perfect sugar match haha 🙂

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Haha oh man, I never realized how there really is a candy for every season! Funny post, missy 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Comment by ginamastrog | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. Love The Proposal – so unrealistic but so funny!

    I always wondered where the people were who like conversation hearts; my family has never really liked them. Guess you like them enough for all of us? 😉

    Comment by Kristie | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. So if I really think about it…I don’t like seasonal candy. I don’t like jelly beans, peeps, or cadbury cream eggs. I don’t like candy corn in any shape (corn, pumpkin, etc) and I don’t like jelly beans or conversation hearts. Oh wait…I DO like candy canes! Does that count?

    Comment by Kelly | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. YO!!! Fins is my jam! Lets do it.
    Those heart candys are nasty. They taste like the flouride at the dentist. YUCK.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  8. Sushi looks delish…lovee the Proposal

    Comment by livinglikeshannon | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  9. I just watched The Proposal today for the first time with my boyfriend! I LOVED it and shockingly the bf admited it wasn’t as cheesy as he thought it would be. Oh, and let me just say how delish that connoli looks! Hope you and yours had a nice valentine’s day =)

    Comment by erin | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  10. Oh gosh. I have so many fave seasonal candies. This is going to sounds awful, but I am happy I cannot eat many of them since going vegan (even my fave candy corn has gelatin in it)… I got out of control and would binge on all of them!

    Comment by kilax | February 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. Whoa, whoa, WHOA. Hold the phone. Coconut cream eggs?? These aren’t Cadbury Cream Eggs we’re talking about are we ,in coconut flavour…if so, maybe I don’t want to know.

    Comment by allyoz | February 15, 2010 | Reply

  12. Ok, so I really do hate those sweethearts things… BUT I fall hard for those mini chocolate cadbury eggs. And I did not realize they weren’t just for Easter. Oh no- if I can have access to them for more than just a month or two of my life, I’m in SERIOUS trouble!!!!

    Comment by Amy | February 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

