Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Session 2

Well, looks like the snow is over for now here in Boston. It was great while it lasted though. Before going to counseling, Ellie and I hit up a snowy field where she ran around like the crazy lady that she is. I always get a little nervous going to dog parks and things of that nature because Eleanor will do anything for a ball. And I mean anything. At about 10 weeks old she was involved in a nasty fight and it scared the living day lights out of me. Now, when she’s around random dogs I always get a little anxious and I’m sure she picks up on it. I wish I wasn’t giving off that vibe but I can’t help it. Luckily, Lens a little calmer than I am about it so we’ll go to parks together. This morning I hoped and prayed she was the only dog there and she was. Score. She was one with the field.

Anyways, last night Len did a quick grocery shop for us. He’s super aware of the things I like in the house but always puts his own twist to them which is a welcomed treat.  Last night he came hope with a bunch of veggies (I just couldn’t wait till my delivery on Thursday), hummus, pepper jack cheese, ranch soy chips, a NEW veggie product (which will be revealed soon), and 2 bags of Fresh Start salad mixers. I personally never buy these but am totally stocked that he did. Last night we made one of the bags that contained spinach, feta and provolone crumbles, croutons and a light honey mustard. YUM!! We paired it with whole wheat pasta, sauce and mushrooms.

Counseling today with Mimi went well. We came up with a strategy for the week which I think is really interesting. The goal for the coming weeks is to detoxify my binges and make them less special. One of the long-term goals is to decrease the frequency of binges. Yes, please. I’m a little torn about how in-depth I should go on my blog about each session but think it can be helpful to other people who struggle. I am definitely not looking for negative feedback about the therapeutic methods that we are trying out. What may work for me, might not work or sound good to you. With that said, I am totally open to talking openly about my experiences in counseling and what is working, what’s not working and how I feel along the way. Please let me know if this is something that you as the readers are interested in hearing about. If not, I’ll spare you all the details of my saga.

Post session, I hit the gym up for a little TM action and some ROWING!! What’s up bitches. Yep, I was inspired by Gabe and Rachel though I think I’m rowing wrong. Is that possible? I just kinda hopped on and rolled with it, never choosing a setting or anything. Any help out there? Because I was out and about breakfast never happened but lunch did. I dig right into the second salad mixer and ate half of it. This one included lettuce, pine nuts, soy nuts and poppy seed dressing. I used oil and vinegar instead and topped it with half cup of pinto beans, olives and a veggie burger. Basically I pimped it out. No big deal.

I missed my hot sauce

I have a paper to work on for my policy class and reading for my psychodynamic  (snoozefest USA) class. Back later my lovies!

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, eating disorder, Food, running, Self Discovery, therapy |

9 Comments »

  1. i’m so stoked that you and mimi have a plan of action. i am totally interested in how you are making your binges less special and less frequent! i’m so happy for you that you are taking this on!

    Comment by jenn graves | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. I am really happy to hear that you and Mimi came up with an action plan! I ALWAYS do well on plans/schedules…etc…so I hope this helps! I am glad you had fun at the dog park but I can totally relate with the ball thing. My dog growing up was OBSESSED with balls and she didn’t care who she had to go up against to get one!

    Comment by Kelly | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. that is so exciting!! schedules help SOO much!! proud of you!

    Comment by kbwood | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am curious. How do you detox binges and make them less special? I love that Mimi is helping reach a very positive goal and you seem very optimistic about the experience. That pasta looks pretty wonderful. I have felt the same way when I’ve tried rowing machine. The sad little apartment complex gym I run in these days doesn’t have one, so I don’t need to worry about that!

    Comment by Astrid | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m definitely interested in hearing about all of it!

    I know what you mean about being stressed out with other dogs– Ella can be quite the bitch (haha) herself, so I’m always on high alert when we’re in a situation where a lot of other dogs are around.

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m interested in hearing what you and Mariah come up with. It might be able to help me deal with my own stresses. I completely understand that there maybe some things you want to keep personal though.
    The salad mixes sound yummy!
    I own a rower, but I’ve never used it hahaha! The thing is a torture machine!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  7. isn’t the rower amazing?! i love it! =D
    hahahha fat ass tuesday. seriously should be a weekly thing. HMMMM.

    sorry the lobster creeped you out. now that i look back, it is damn creepy.

    Comment by traynharder23 | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  8. I am very interested as I struggle with this on almost a daily basis. I told myself recently to got 5 days in between then it was 7 days I’m up to 10 days Anyway back to you and Mimi totally interested in any advice she gives you as it could benefit me and others too! Good Luck!

    Comment by Kelli | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m definitely interested in hearing what you discuss with Mimi! So many people- women especially, and myself included- deal with binges that I think we’d all like to hear some strategies! Obviously, the frequency of binges varies, but I know many of us have a problem from time to time.

    I love veggie burgers on salads…I had that for lunch today 🙂

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

