Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

What happens in therapy, doesn’t stay in therapy.

Due to reader demands, I will happily share what took place this morning with the Mimi-Miester.

Okay- We started by targeting the most troublesome days for me throughout the week in terms of bingeing. Although there is generally no rhyme or reason to the binges, I know for certain that Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays are really hard for me due to the bins of doom at my internship. If you are a new reader, you should know that my internship has a closet devoted to all types of snacks and candy that we give to the kids. I often get myself in trouble around 2 when the snacks come out. She asked what kind of snacks there are–candy, chocolate, chips, crackers, cookies. What came next surprised me– Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays are your binge days. On those days, you can eat from three of those categories. If you decide to have chocolate, cookies and chips, you can eat as much of them as you want but you cannot have crackers or candy as your binge food. You can’t stop at Dunkin Donuts on the way home for a donut, but you can get a cookie because it’s in the category you already chose.  You have to stay within the three categories chosen. You should have a dinner that isn’t composed of binge food and only you know what’s considered binge food.  On the other days you can binge or not binge–whatever.

Okay I said, well hopefully I can resist all the categories on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. She replied no, that’s exactly what we don’t want you to do. We don’t want you to be having the constant internal battle on those days about whether or not you’re going to eat the snacks and binge. On those three days of the week, you must eat something from all three categories. Even if you eat just one chip,  one Hershey kiss, and one cookie– you can consider that a binge. (Not that that’s really a binge in technical terms.)

I asked where she was going with this and she replied that giving myself choices on those three days, lessens the toxicity of binges and helps to make them less special. Right now I’m bingeing to rebel, say F-you to everyone, get needs met, etc–they are special. The idea is to lessen the power of the binges and regain some control. To have choices. She also said that if this doesn’t feel right over the course of the week, then stop doing it. Regardless, we’ll process the experience next week and take it from there. I asked her what the end result of treatment looks like for someone like me and she said to greatly reduce the frequency of bingeing.

I know this method sounds totally bizarre but I trust that Mimi is having me do this for a reason so I’m going with it.

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | Food, therapy

22 Comments »

  1. Good for you and I know you can do it!

    Comment by Jacqui | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Jacqui

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m confused but I’m glad your trust her. Is this reverse psychology? So you can binge?

    Comment by Nicci@NiftyEats | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • I think its about giving myself the permission to– which makes them less rebellious and glorified.

      Comment by lpskins | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. This is actually a really interesting exercise! It’s counterintuitive, so I can see how it might help…good luck!!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Fingers crossed.

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. What an interesting idea. I suppose she is working against the feeling of being restricted. I hope it works! 🙂

    Comment by kilax | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Seems and feels strange and new so I guess thats a good thing.

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. that sounds really interesting, but i hope more than anything that it works! keep us updated because i bet this is going to help a LOT more people than you know!

    hang in there girl, you can do this!

    Comment by Anonymous | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. I think your Mimi sounds like a genius! Let us know how it works.

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  7. I guess you can look at it like how i quit smoking cold turkey… I told myself at anytime I could go to the store and buy them, but I also had the choice NOT to, there was no “you absoulutely have to follow the rule of not smoking … when there is no restriction then the need & want lessens. It has been 6 years smoke free and I still know I can go buy them but I still choose not to. 🙂

    Comment by Leilani | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  8. Im so glad you feel open enough to share! You are stronger than you realize. I am very interested to hear how this goes. Her method is super intriguing! I know you will find your path with her help, I can feel it.

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Jill, I hope so.

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. Thank you for sharing the info about your session with us. This plan makes sense because if you’re allowed to have those things, you might be less likely to go overboard. Good luck!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • My pleasure!

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. This DOES sound really interesting.. I like it. So do you start next week or are you going to start this week? I can’t wait to hear about how it goes. 😀

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Starting this week, minus Monday!

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. !!!! that actually sounds really interesting. When i first read it i thought…huhh..but now i kind of get where mimi is going 🙂

    Comment by lucy | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. GReat ADVICE! The “binge” is often a rebellion and if you take the “fun” out of it, it becomes less appealing!

    Comment by Anonymous | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  13. I really like that plan! It something I would’ve never thought of. I ALWAYS binge eat..like every night. So to me, this is something really interesting to do. I’m glad you shared!!

    Comment by Jamie | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  14. […] a little push from a good friend, I booked a therapy appointment for myself.  (Do you guys remember when I went to Mimi? She was cool.) Therapy is a wonderful thing if you’re invested. Like many things in life, […]

    Pingback by Getting by with a little help…. « Goodies Galore | June 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

