Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Thanks for all the wonderful and supportive comments yesterday regarding therapy. I’m so happy you’ve been so receptive to it. Although I had the  day off yesterday I wasn’t terribly productive. I really didn’t make a dent in my paper so I’ll pay for it  with long hours tonight. Oh well, there are worse things. The snowy weather yesterday made for a nice relaxing time with my little rat. We played around a lot, took some snowy walks and did a lot of lounging. Clearly she didn’t mind. Did you all watch American Idol last night?  Not sure it was possible to squeeze any more commercials into the two hours. Total waste of time. And I’m not finding Ellen that funny so far. She best step up her game here.

Yesterday was filled with some seriously yummy meals. I was hungry three hours after eating that salad so I had a can of split pea soup. I really like it, although at first sight I got a little nervous. It helped knowing it was vegan so the ingredients weren’t anything crazy contributing to its nasty appearance. With the soup I munched on Glennys ranch soy crisps. So good.

Nastiness

Now we're talking.

I had planned for baked tofu and roasted turnips but then I discovered that what I was peeling wasn’t in fact a turnip at all. What in god’s name is that thing? The tail reminded me of a rat and it had veins in there. But really, can someone please identify this thing? I turned to the good old sweet potato instead. While everything was roasting away in the over, I snacked on two pretty good size pieces of Cabet pepper jack cheese. Oh how I love thee.

x2

We rounded out the meal with boiled asparagus for some smelly pee. While Len wasn’t a fan of the tofu, I LOVED it and now have leftovers for today. Wahoooo!! I baked it in a marinade that Liv helped me create- 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp agave, 1 tsp each cumin and cayenne, sprinkle of cinnamon, salt and pepper. When everything was plated, I lightly poured agave on everything, including the spears. Quality. The agave gave everything a wonderful flavor of sweetness and really highlighted the sweet potatoes.

Yesterday I was really mindful of hunger cues and worked hard not to count points, calories, etc. My goal is still to eat intuitively and yesterday felt like a success. Another high point of yesterday was that my coffee finally arrived. My friend Ali will keel over when she sees all the waste I will be creating from the empty cups. Sorry Al, these cups are my vice. I love them because they are easy and I am lazy.

French toast, rainforest nut, donut shop and decaf vanilla.

Who’s ready for the weekend?!!  Is anyone out there on Twitter? You can follow me @ lpskins.

February 17, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, fun, Intuitive eating, therapy

25 Comments »

  1. It’s a watermelon radish!

    Comment by Chrissy | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Woah!!! What do I do with it? Do I eat the skins? Toss it in a salad?

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

      • I eat mine shreedded or thinly sliced in a salad. Or, with fresh mozzarella and tomatoes in a sandwich!

        Comment by Chrissy | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. That radish looks so pretty! I’ve never seen one like that! Is that Amy’s split pea? It’s the only canned version I’ve ever tried…

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Trader Joes soup. I can’t believe its a radish…

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. lol– umm, I have NO idea what that is! Hilarious.

    I use those cups too– I feel bad about the waste, but my hub doesn’t drink coffee, so I hate making a big pot JUST for me.

    Congrats on the intuitive eating!!! I’ve been working on that too…it’s a lot harder than it sounds 😦

    Comment by Anna | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • I can’t wait till my eating habits resemble yours anna. You know how I feel about that one!

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I love your snuggly pup! That’s a radish my friend. Throw it in a salad!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. It’s a petite watermelon.

    Comment by Shleigh | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. I don’t watch Idol, but am sad to hear that Ellen isn’t on top of it! I adore her- sooooo hilarious!

    And I’m also glad to hear the therapy’s going well. It’s honestly awesome to see your progress because so many of us (including me) can relate on some level! Good luck!!

    Comment by Amy | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. Radishes…yum! That one is HUGE!!

    Comment by Kelly | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’m boycotting Idol this year because it pushed new episodes of Glee to April… so sad. Also, I have no idea what that vegetable is, but i love your dog.

    Comment by Kelly | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love it when you have pictures of Eleanor…she’s a babe 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. Wow, what an odd but awesome looking thing. I see folks say it is a radish. How intresting.

    Good job on the intuitive eating. It is a long hard process but oh so worth it.

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. hey! I was just wondering where you order those K cups from? Any good websites that you can share?

    Thanks!

    Comment by Marla | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • I ordeer from greenmountain and from finest cup!

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. idol last night was a HUGE wasted of my time. how could they spend 2 hours on only telling you 7 of the top 24… and ellen is trying way to hard to be serious. time to loosen those panties a bit.

    Comment by jenn graves | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  13. Did you used to count weight watcher points? I used to count them all the time – obsessively (still count them mentally, such a hard habit to break!).

    Comment by homecookedem | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes! I’ve joined WW over 35 times. Not even kidding.

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  14. So how does that coffee in the cup work? Do you just heat it up and it’s ready to go?

    I luuuuuuuurve asparagus! Well, not until this past year but now I find it to be delicious. Raw, steamed, roasted.. yum.

    That vegetable thing is SO weird! Never seen anything like it.. haha.

    Your pooch is absolutely adorable. ❤

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • The cups go in a special coffee making machine called Keurig.

      Comment by lpskins | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  15. behind the times, but I’m so glad your sessions are going well and Ellie is still adorable! Mmmmm coffee… 🙂

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  16. Haha, isn’t that “Turnip” a radish? I think I saw one like that at the Korean market, except it was advertised as purple radish? The color is brilliant, though.

    Comment by sophia | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  17. Do you have the recipe for the tofu? i just cooked tofu for the first time tonight and really liked it but i cooked it with a salty marinade that i wasn’t a fan of…i need new ideas! thanks

    Comment by Kelly | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  18. Duh, I am sorry i clearly read too fast and didin’t notice that you put the reciepe right in your post. sorry!

    Comment by Kelly | February 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

