Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Goodies Galore, baby!

After lying around all morning, I started to get really bored and felt a binge coming on. I knew that I was procrastinating my workout and often times I’ll do that by bingeing. (Can’t workout when you’re so full you could chuck, right?) I forced my ass to the gym where I walked on the treadmill for 45 minutes and did the elliptical for 20. Tool Academy was my saving grace because it made me want to continue working out. I just couldn’t bare to miss a single minute of such a wonderful show. I swear, I really do love it. This is not sarcasm. Post gym came lunch– a salad I had packed yesterday but never ate. (Go figure.) The salad contained veggies, pine and soy nuts (that got soft overnight), pinto beans, a veggie burger, hummus and hot sauce. Who says salads have to be boring. I can’t remember the last time I had a salad consisting of only veggies. Bore-fest.

Since I had all day to play, I decided to check out a new food coop in Cambridge. It was a food bloggers paradise and I wish we could all go there together on a field trip. I forgot my camera in the car and was too lazy to go back to get it but trust me, they had everything. It really hit me today how very much I’m learning through these blogs. I recognized foods that I would have never even known existed prior to the blog. I searched out foods that I’ve read about and have caught my interest. I ended up getting a bunch of new stuff inspired by YOU!

I purchased coconut butter, two types of Marys crackers, 2 new bars of chocolate, a coconut bar (mmmmm), grapes, grape leaves, a cuke, stuff to make polenta (what’s that called?), unsweetened coconut flakes (clearly I’m craving coconut), soy chips, and this weird fitness bread.

Chocolate, nibs and chili bar (WOAH!) and Oskri coconut bar.

Dark chocolate with almonds and cranberries

As soon as I got into the car I ripped into that coconut bar. It might have been the best thing I’ve ever tasted. Then I dug into the chocolate bar on the left. It was good but could have used some more cranberries. I don’t think I even tasted one. Not sure why I felt it was appropriate for me to buy all these sweet treats. They are a disaster waiting to happen…. well, I guess disaster somewhat struck in the car.

Anyone ever try this? It's very strange.

Coconut oil and butter have been hot ticket items in the blog world and because of that I’ve been craving coconut like it’s my job. I found both items and opted for the butter for reasons one might imagine. First of all, totally not cheap. Second of all, maybe my buds are used to very sweet foods like whoopee pies but I just don’t know what all the raves about. I had some on that Fitness bread and it’s not at all what I was expecting. Maybe it will get better over time.

Coconut better looks better than it tastes.

The Fitness bread is very dense but has great nutritional stats and a pretty short ingredient list. I had a second piece drenched in agave. Don’t ask. Now I’m full on coconut of various forms, chocolate and bread. Lennster and I are going to the movies tonight since we have free tickets. Nothing like a free date night.

What’s the best item you’ve discovered from the blogging community? The worst?

February 19, 2010 - Posted by | Food, fun, The Boyfriend, Workout

10 Comments »

  1. Fitness bread…lol. Love that picture on the wrapper 🙂

    Good job on choosing to work out instead of binge!! Excellent!

    Comment by Anna | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Good job on going to the gym instead of binging! That is awesome!!!

    And your loot looks pretty good, too 😀

    Comment by christie, honoring health | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. I have seen that fitness bread but since it isn’t gluten-free I have ever tried it. I am also not sure what I think about coconut butter…does it taste like coconut? I am not sure I like coconut or butter enough to want to try the two combined! haha! Have fun at the movies tonight!

    Comment by Kelly | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. have fun on your free date night…there’s nothing better than that for sure 😉

    Comment by Heather | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. I want to check out that co-op!
    Thanks for the review on the coconut butter. The trend seems to be that once the big name bloggers rave about a product, people just follow suit. Thanks for the honesty girl!
    Great job avoiding the binge!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. That’s great that you were able to avoid a binge and get to the gym. I’d have to say the best thing I’ve started eating because of the blog world are green monsters.

    Comment by Fit Chick in the City | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. Dagoba chocolate is seriously amazing. The lavender and rose flavors are to live for! Glad you distracted yourself from the binge and got to the gym…I love when a good show is on as a distraction! I keep meaning to pick up coconut butter, but always forget. It sounds delish though! Have a great weekend 🙂

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. OSKRI COCONUT BAR! Haha.. I’m so glad another bloggie finally found and tried them. Definitely good, the mango and strawberry are my favorites. 🙂

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’ve been wondering about that coconut butter! I heard its like 11 dollars. When shopping today, I looked for it but couldn’t find it. Good think I didn’t!

    Maca powder and goji berries are SO disgusting. And expensive. So don’t buy either.

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  10. look at all that bank your scored! I was wondering about coconut butter, I love coconut but for some reason it in butter form doesn’t sound like it would taste how my mind wants it to taste. That sentence wasn’t convoluted, not one bit.

    I recently discovered there is a ‘health’ store here in jacksonville, I think I’m gonna check it out tomorrow….crossed fingers that it has goodies like you found!

    Comment by LindsayRuns | February 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

