Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

What to do, what to do.

My class got cancelled today!!! whooohooo. TGIF. Yesterday was a bust in terms of blogging because I was at school from 9 am to 9 pm. No joke. I had to log some serious hours on my paper to get it done before my classes. Needless to say, I was reunited with my little cubby hole in the library. I packed all my meals yesterday including snacks. Unfortunately, most of them went undocumented. The day started with a  container of oat bran, rice milk, peanut butter and pumpkin. Yum.

I had a meeting at 12:30 with my field placement advisor and she provided pizza, grapes, carrots and hummus. I had tons of both grapes and carrots/hummus but no pizza for me.  Around three it was leftover fajita time. Since I was pressed for time I didn’t bother to heat them up which was probably mistake. Regardless, they were still tasty. Dinner was Glenny’s soy chips, unfrosted mini wheats, and Chobani honey yogurt. I was a little bit disappointed in the yogurt because there was barely a hint of honey. What’s up with that?

These have 10 grams of protein per serving!!!

At the grocery store the other night I discovered these little gems–dried bananas and pineapple. They were so awesome and if they weren’t so damn expensive I’d buy the store out. The packet below was 90 calories with no added ingredients.

I couldn’t wait to get home last night because I knew that Boston Organics had dropped off my delivery. So exciting. Can you imagine coming home to such a wonderful package?

Bananas, apples, kale, pears, grapefruit, turnips.

dandelion greens, potatoes, onions, cabbage,

lettuce and broccoli. What the hell do I do with dandelion greens?

I still haven’t touched that radish?!

I have the whole day off and I’m already bored. The good news is that I got tickets for my friends Alison and I to see Vagina Monologues tomorrow night. That show is always a blast; this will be the third time I’ve seen it.

This morning I’ve eaten a lot– banana, yogurt, and tons and tons of soy chips. TONS. It’s hard to see how HUGE that banana as. monstrous. I tried that strawberry greek yogurt for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. The fruit was on the bottom which was kinda fun.

What’s on the agenda this weekend?

February 19, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun, Graduate School

14 Comments »

  1. Oh wow that’s awesome that your produce just gets dropped off. Also, sometimes cold leftovers are my favorite kinds. Very jealous of your cancelled class and Friday off.

    Comment by Kelly | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. I love that you get that delivered! Oh that’s fantastic looking! Except the radish- I don’t like them either… yuck yuck yuck!

    Comment by Amy | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Looks like we both had crazy-long writing days yesterday! I finally finished my brief! Nothing like waiting until the last minute (I started at 8am yesterday, due today at 2). 18 page brief in one day – boooya! I’m convinced I’ve set a record. LOL. Whether it’s good or not is a whole other story!

    I need to get my hands on some of those soy crisps. I’ve had some other brand before but I seriously feel like I’m eating air! And I can easily eat pounds of them. ha.

    Oh and the dandelion! SO GOOD!! My mom used to dress it with EVOO, s&p, & lemon juice and we’d pile them on white crusty Italian rolls! Omg so good. They are kind of bitter though, so it’s definitely an acquired taste sort of thing. You could also just saute it like you would kale/broccoli rabe/beet greens. I usually just do evoo, s&p, lemon juice, and grate parmigiano over top!

    Or, you can do like a dandelion pasta (saute the greens and then maybe add some sort of beans, garbanzo or great northern), and make a quick sauce with white wine (or veggie stock) and add the pasta (and of course lots of cheese on top).

    Ok, I’m done. It’s really sick how much food/cooking excites me.

    Happy Friday!

    Comment by Olivia | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. wow, that’s quite the package of goodies! lucky girl with all those fresh veggies 🙂

    Comment by Heather | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Do you ever make green monsters? You can put dandelion greens in there just like you would spinach or kale. I wish I had an organics drop off service– so cool!!

    Have a great weekend!!

    Comment by Anna | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. Yay for a free day! I’ve never seen vagina monologues but I’ve always wanted to!

    Comment by lowandbhold | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. i ❤ when classes get cancelled… it's like a mini-present. 😀

    Comment by peanutbutterfingers | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. Ugh, 12 hour days. I get those occasionally and they definitely aren’t fun. At least now you get an entire day to just chill.

    Getting organics delivered right to your door is such a great idea! I’m actually getting that started too, within the next week or so. I can’t wait and the prices are really good too!

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  9. You can sautee the dandelions with some spinach and garlic or just throw it an a salad.
    Sounds like you’re on a great track with your eating choices girl!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  10. Have fun at that show! I have heard such good things about it! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  11. oh, Lordie. 12 hours in school? I would die! Glad you got a break today!

    Comment by sophia | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  12. I totally agree with you about the honey chobani!! It is my least favorite!! You’re right, what’s up with the lack of honey??!! 😉

    I love those glenny’s soy chips! So good!!

    HAPPY FRIDAY!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  13. i am so jelous you found that flavor of glennys! SOO good! the cinnamon apple flava is AWESOME too!
    i dont like the honey kind either! LEAST fav!

    Comment by kbwood | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  14. So funny you mentioned Vagina Monologues we talked about that at a meeting I had today!

    Comment by Jacqui | February 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

