Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Oh Mondays, why must you exist.

Morning! Although I slept for over 8 hours it seems I could sleep for 8 more. Yesterday Len and I relaxed most of the day (been doing a lot of that lately) and despite my resistance, I agreed to watch Lord of the Rings with him. The background is that I hate any movies that are unrealistic. I’ve never seen Harry Potter, Lord of the rings, Twilight–nothing of that nature.  Well after falling in love with Avatar, we thought my world had been opened.  I think I made it through half of Trilogy before giving up on it. Not for me. Hobbits, wizards, scary men on horses–no thanks. Oh well. We started the movie off with some great eats– yet another spread, popcorn and an orange.

The usual suspects

Several hours later we were ready for a snack. This my friends, was the highlight food of the day. Chobani pineapple with sliced banana and unsweetened coconut flakes. I had never tasted this kind and it is by FAR the best flavor. The coconut made it taste like a tropical paradise. LOVE. I wish I had bought more than one.

It was 4 and we had still not gone on our run. Energy was bursting out of me but he wasn’t ready just yet. I had to leave the man behind. I left the house with the intention of running 3 miles. After about two miles I decided to change my route and run a loop I hadn’t gone yet. The mileage was uncertain. I have no sense of direction or distance, for all I knew it was 10 miles. Turns out it was only 4.5 miles. Then I thought, I’m feeling good why not go for the original 6. So 6 it was. I felt awesome when I got back because my mind was telling me to cut the run short but I overpowered it because my body felt fine.

I came home and roasted up some turnips, sweet potatoes and carrots. We also had these new Quorn products that Len found last week. They are “chicken” fingers spiced with chipotle and lime. I made a dipping sauce of cayenne and agave. Len was impressed by either but I thought they were delish. We finished the night off with two of my least favorite ice creams: strawberry and vanilla. (I wasn’t complaining last night.)

I set the alarm for 5:30 this morning so I could get some work done but I snoozed till 6:30. Ellie was quite the cuddle bug so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to snuggle with my favorite lady. I had weird dreams last night–one about Mimi finding out my blog. She got banned from some lists? And then I used her shower and couldn’t find any face wash. Who knows.

I was hungry waking up–which I loved because it usually never happens since I typically eat so much at night– so I fixed up a slice of fitness bread with peanut butter. I really wanted some jam but was out of luck so I substituted with coconut butter. Total bust. I’m telling ya, the stuff sucks. And no Lindsay, it doesn’t taste as your  mouth would want it to.

Here’s to starting the last week in February. Nuts!!

February 22, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, running, The Boyfriend, therapy

19 Comments »

  1. Ha, I love coconut butter! Oh well…to each her own! Great job on that run!!! Way to run the full distance!

    Comment by Anna | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m with ya on the ‘fake’ movies. Never liked them and I bet I will never will. Totally not interested! And I LOVE the coconut butter!! Definitely one of my new favorite things. I have one of those Chobani sitting in my fridge, now I’m even more excited to try it!

    Comment by Olivia | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yay for the last week in February! I can’t wait for spring 🙂 Congrats on the great run and enjoy your Monday!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. I can’t make it through the Lord of the Rings either. I swear one time I was watching with an ex, fell asleep 2 hours into the second one, for two hours, woke up and it still wasn’t over.

    Comment by Kelly | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. I haven’t ever seen Lord of the Rings although everyone who has says it is so good! Hum…we’ll see. But I am seeing Avatar this weekend and I am already excited!!

    Comment by Kelly | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. I like Harry Potter because I like spells.
    I love crazy dreams! Have a great week.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. We need to get out of February asap! lol. I need some sunshine in my life!

    Have a good Monday! 🙂

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. If it weren’t Mondays, then we wouls just hate Tuesdays 😀

    Have a great day!

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  9. girl, i hate mondays too…especially today for some reason! i’m feelin’ kinda cranky and just wish they’d cancel work 🙂

    Comment by Heather | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  10. Strawberry is one of my favorite flavors of ice cream! I also love Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings movies. Hehe, I guess you can’t have everything in common with someone! I am one of those people who hates scary movies. I cannot see them without having nightmares for at least 2 weeks.

    Comment by Astrid | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  11. major bummer about the coconut butter. Last week in Feb? that’s a shock when it’s phrased that way really, this year is flying already!

    Awesome run!! Look at you go girl, I need to get on that train pronto, slacking this past week.

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  12. Good job on the far run! And I need to try those quorn nuggets, they look good! Joey was less than thrilled by their chicken breasts, but I think they are great!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  13. Everyone is talking coconut butter these days! Nice job on the run!

    Comment by Fit Chick in the City | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  14. I’m in love with pineapple chobani!! So torturous that they don’t sell it at many stores around me!!

    Way to go on the run!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  15. I’ve never seen these Quorn products, but they sound really good! I want to check them out, especially if they’re vegan. I’ve never read a bad review about coconut butter, but it always sounded strange to me lol, sorry you had to be the taster but glad I didn’t waste the money.

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | February 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I buy mine at Shaws but I think they have them most places.
      Don’t bother with the butter–though many would disagree.

      Comment by lpskins | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  16. Thank you. Coconut butter blows. Let’s start a new club!

    Comment by Katie | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  17. i love quorn! unfortunately, i think my hubby (the vegetarian) is allergic to it so we never have it in the house.

    Comment by actorsdiet | February 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

