Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Who taught you how to dance?

The skies didn’t stay blue for long so I did the next best thing- plan my gym time around a repeat of Tool Academy. Who’s the tool now? While running, I saw a commercial for Wii dance and thought about two things. 1) I could really use some guidance in the dance department, myself. 2) Are these the hottest dance moves to hit prom and homecomings everywhere? Everyone doing the Wii dance? Luckily those days are behind me so I guess we’ll never know.

I busted into it without thinking about the camera.

It’s pretty late in the afternoon and all the food I have to share with you all is (you guessed it) a Clif C bar. Today I tried the raspberry and it was tasty but I prefer the apple. I’m not the biggest raspberry fan around town. Don’t get me wrong, I would buy and eat the raspberry flavor again (if apple was sold out). I forgot to mention yesterday all the C bars are 70% organic and have one serving of fruit in every bar. They are so beautiful. Mmmmmmm.

Not sure what’s going on with all the dogs in the blog community, but it seems Eleanor will have to visit the vet on Monday. It looks like she has either a hot spot or some skin infection going on. Poor little rat. And poor credit card. I swear, we could be living in a mansion with all the money we pay the damn vet. She’s absolutely worth every penny.

Do dirty dishes put you in a bad mood? They totally dampen my spirit but thankfully it’s an easy fix. A lady I work with asked me for a dishwasher recommendation because hers broke and sadly I had to offer my own name. No dishwashing machine in this house.

You know what else bums me out? Not making mix tapes or CDs anymore. This morning I listened to a mix from 2006 and it brought me right back to that time: my old apartment, my old roommate, my colleagues, ten million memories, my life then. Wow. A lot has changed. Thank god for reminders that bring out repressed memories. It seems that with todays technology we no longer create the tools that bring us back in time, such as mixes and printed photos. Do you guys miss having those tangible objects or is it just me? Off to clean and shower. Can my life be any more exciting?

February 26, 2010 - Posted by | Clif Bar, Food, Workout

25 Comments »

  1. i do miss those sometimes…but i still have all of the old mix cd’s and listen to them in the car all the time…don’t so much have the old tapes anymore 🙂

    Comment by Heather | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I need to start busting the CDs out more. They’ve been deprived due to Sirius radio.

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hope Eleanor feels better!

    Comment by lowandbhold | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. I need to pull out my old mix cds…I have one from HS when I drove a friend to school every morning and she picked the music…now you have me wondering how she is…

    like your new “profile” pic!

    give the puppy kisses for me!

    Comment by lindsayruns | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks Linds. And I bet she’s on facebook..

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. My students make mixed CDs for their first paper project. So, at least 75 people are still making them every semester 🙂

    So sorry that Ellie isn’t well 😦

    Comment by Anna | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Andrew used to make mixed CD’s for me when we first starting dating. And when I listen to them now they bring up those same “new love, butterflies in my stomach” feelings! 😉

    Comment by homecookedem | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I just puked a lil bit…

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. Aww get well soon Eleanor! Also, every time I go on a long road trip I break out my mixed CD’s ya know labeled spring 2004, thanksgiving 2006, like I remember what that means, and torture the other people in the car with them.

    Comment by Kelly | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m sure they love the stories that come along with each song too. haha.

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  7. mix- CDs are the best! isn’t it crazy how listening to a song can basically serve as a time travel device? it holds so many memories…

    Comment by Shannon (The Daily Balance) | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • it’s truly amazing.

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. I definitely still make mix CDs. As in, for every long road trip I take (long = 5 hours or more). I love them! They do always bring back memories too 🙂

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • A good music medley is a must for long car rides.

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  9. I still make mixed cd’s! A must have for any car ride.
    I hope your pup is okay!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Really? This is shocking. Why am I out of the mix making loop?

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hope Eleanor is okay!

    I am totally stressed when we have tons of dirty dishes everywhere! Or when the clean ones don’t get put away immediately.

    Comment by kilax | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • So you do the hand towel thing?

      Comment by lpskins | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’ve never seen that kind of Clif bar, looks good! Dirty dishes seriously bum me out too! My mom laughs at me because I live alone in the apt but I’m always telling her I’m doing dishes.

    I still make mixtapes for my friends/all adventures. It’s a must. Every trip back to Chicago, I make a car CD because I get to drive again!

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  12. I really want to try those C bars! They sound sooo good, and I’ve heard they’re even better than Laras! I miss mix CDs too. I still have a bunch my friends and I exchanged in middle school, right before iTunes exploded. Brings back such great memories!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  13. Ah mixed tapes…those were the days!!

    Comment by Kelly | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  14. We don’t have a dishwasher either but I’m totally fine with that for two reasons – 1)I don’t have to do dishes. 2)When I do actually do the dishes, I enjoy it.

    Hope Eleanor feels better soon. 🙂 My pup wasn’t feeling well last night – throwing up – but she seems to be better now. Thankfully.. I really don’t need a vet bill right now.

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  15. Isn’t it funny how certain songs can bring you back to a certain time, place, or person? Music is incredible. And I totally still make mixed CDs haha i’m old school like that 😉

    LOVE those Clif bars. Well, ok i’ve only had the apple but it was awesome. Not a big fan or raspberry flavored things myself.

    And to answer your comment, I got the xanthan gum at a local health foods store but I think they do have it at Whole Foods.

    Comment by theprocessofhealing | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  16. I hope Eleanor is ok and that the vet doesn’t do too much credit card damage!

    Comment by pen | February 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

