Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Dirty oats.

Well, if I was lacking on sleep I sure caught up last night. In bed at 10 p.m., out of bed at 9 a.m. Wowzah! Last night we watched The Ugly Truth which I had seen before. Like all romantic comedies, it’s pretty predictable but at the same time laugh out loud funny. We realized how suggestible movies are when there were two coffee scenes back to back and we both became urgently in need of some decaf. Luckily I had ordered a whole box of decaf by accident so we were able to fulfill our desires without leaving the house. (Sounds kinda pervy.)

Dinner was roasted potatoes (I only got them last week and they were growing roots?!), Dr. P’s California burger, smashed avocado with salsa, and kale chips. Those damn things set the fire alarm off every time I make them. I am totally over the Kale chips now. I think i overcooked them last night and they crunched, crunched, crunched all up in my face. I breathed through my nose while taking a bite and flakes went all over the place. Funny at the time but still…. As you can see from Lens plate–he wasn’t feeling them either.

My plate before

Lens plate after

The salsa/avocado mixture was incredible though. It was pineapple salsa which added the perfect touch.

As you can see, I’m getting a little out of control with the Clif bars. For dessert last night I ate the peanut butter and jelly Dipped Mojo Bar. Honestly, I was basically eating a candy bar. This thing is amazing. The Dipped Mojo bars are the regular Mojo bars but dipped with either chocolate, vanilla, or peanut butter. I’ve been having serious cravings for jelly lately which may be why I was head over heals for this bar. As for the nutritional contents– 220 calories, 11 grams of fat, 2 grams of fiber, and 9 grams of protein. No wonder why it tastes like a candy bar, it basically is! I would feel less guilty eating this if it had more fiber.  The good news is that Mojo Bars contains no trans fat, hydrogenated oils or high fructose corn syrup. Like the other Clif bars, this one is 70% organic. I can’t wait to have more today. Addicted.

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!!! You guys need to try these for yourself.

I did lose a tiny little bit of weight this week which goes to show that the scale is a bunch of crap. I really should gave gained this week. I worked out once and at like crap every day, except yesterday. I must be losing any muscle that I have left in my body. My 3 category binge things sort of fell by the wayside this week. I think I followed the plan Monday. Wednesday I kinda did whatever and didn’t have a healthy dinner. Thursday I mentally fought the bins all day, which is exactly what Mimi doesn’t want me to do. I’ll have to tell her about my conflict and see what she says. This was only the second week of the experiment so I need to be patient. It’s hard because I want to lose weight, but at the same time I know it’s most important to change my behaviors first. Clearly diets and I don’t jive. I can’t stick to any plan that creates restriction. It  also seems that I can’t stick to a plan with so much freedom either. For all of you out there who just eat when you’re hungry and stop when you’re full, tell me your secrets.

I woke up craving oatmeal. Even though I see bowls of oatmeal at least 15 times per day on different blogs, I’ve never have cravings for it. As a matter of fact, I hadn’t had any in months because I thought I was out. To my surprise, there’s been a huge ass tub of oats starting me right in the face this whole time. Nice! This mornings oats contained 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, one small apple, 1 tbsp peanut butter, and lots of cinnamon. It was perfect, minus the strange color.

There you are Oats.

Looking a little brown.....

Lens sister is in town for the afternoon so I better get to the gym before she gets here. We’re going Mexican for lunch so I see some chips and salsa in my future.

Have a great day bloggies!!

February 27, 2010 - Posted by | Clif Bar, eating disorder, Family, Food, fun

27 Comments »

  1. Hello! What has worked for me for eating is having a schedule. Nothing too strict. But I know when I eat breakfast, lunch, dinner, I know my snacks and I listen to my body if I need more. I usually don’t need less, because I work out pretty well in the morning. I always eat dessert and no foods are off limits. I can’t do diets, and I honestly don’t believe in them. Eating well is about eating everything and not depriving, because if you deprive, them how the hell are you going to stick with that lifestyle?
    I love that you are accepting the slowness of this process, because that is the one thing I have struggled with. I have always wanted QUICK results. But trust me, the baby steps eventually add up. Have a good Saturday!

    Comment by Astrid | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. I love the mojo bars!!! So good (and not as caloric as regular clifs). Sounds like a great night of sleep– you must have needed it!

    Comment by Anna | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. Okay…I am going to be the odd man out and say that of all the clif/luna varieties I HATE the Mojo bars. They are too sweet for me!!

    Have a great day, Lindsay! And enjoy your Mexican Food tonight!! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m half with you. I dont like any mojo bars EXCEPT the pb & j one. this thing is to die for!!

      Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. I set the fire alarm off when I roast zuchinni or potatoes in the oven. No idea why it’s only those two… Now, I prepare for it by starting the fan and opening my sliding door before I even throw them in! :S

    I used to be a crazy cereal every morning girl, but now it’s oatmeal. No idea why. Then again, I put some cereal in my oatmeal every morning, so maybe it’s just my way of getting two fixes in one?

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. I love eating clif bars for dessert. I agree, it’s like eating a candy bar!! 🙂 But HEALTHY!! 🙂 I really, really want to try the PBJ mojo bar!!

    Don’t you just love putting apples in oats?! It’s like eating apple pie… mmmmmmmm!!

    Comment by homecookedem | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  6. Sometimes a romantic comedy is just what you’re in the mood for, no matter how predictable it is. The Ugly Truth is pretty funny, though…I love Gerard Butler’s accent 🙂

    AHHH dipped Mojo bars. Delicious. I gave my dad a whole stash of the PB&J ones for Christmas. Maybe not nutritional superstars, but hey, there are worse things, and they taste awesome 🙂

    Enjoy your Mexican lunch!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Get that stash back!!!

      Comment by lpskins | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  7. Haha that movie is so funny, I love it. Your roasted potatoes look yummy.

    Comment by Kelly | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. Are you trying to trick us by making it look like you didnt eat any ketchup?! haha.

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’ve came to the same realization – although I want to lose weight, I need to beat my ED first, even if that means GAINING some weight. I hate the thought, absolutely hate it, but I’m accepting it. This, for me and I’m guessing most people, is one of the most important steps to accept. It’s a bitch though.

    I want some mojo.. bars. Aha.

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s SUCH a bitch. In the end it must be worth it so we got that going for us..

      Comment by lpskins | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  10. Amen sister – you want to lose weight, but you need to stop the ED more…conflict! I’m the same. I want to lose weight, but I need to beat the ED first – hello, I’ve been GAINING weight for the past six months with ED, why do I think not resolving my ED issues will help??

    Mental image of you blowing kale dust everywhere=hilar.

    Comment by Ally | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Hahah, damn kale dust.

      Comment by lpskins | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  11. I love the scene in the restaurant with the “special” undies. I actually saw it with my sis, mom, AND NIECE! she kept asking what the remote control was doing to her and of course my sister left it to me, to explain it. “It’s tickeling her” lol

    Comment by Mari | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • oh my gosh! that is too funny.

      Comment by lpskins | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  12. I hate when the kale chips get overcooked…and you like inahle kale dust when you try to eat them. But, this is definitely making me crave kale chips.

    Changing eating behaviors takes a while. Which was NEVER what I wanted to hear when I was trying to change my habits. But, any of the quick fixes or diets I tried to impose on myself as I was trying to lose the post-ED weight gain never helped and always just backfired. When I started doing a lot of yoga and meditation and started being more present in my life, I started being able to distinguish between the hunger cues and emotional cues.

    It will come in time! I promise! You are clearly a very smart and strong young woman, and you can do it!

    Comment by pen | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  13. oh, i so hope i win those bars girl 🙂 i could do some serious snack damage with those bad boys! i LOVE the ugly truth…nate and i saw it last summer in the theatre and laughed the whole time!

    Comment by Heather | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my god, they call my name from the cabinet every few hours. This isn’t good.

      Comment by lpskins | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  14. i think we need to trade oatmeal containers – mine’s teeny tiny. and i ALWAYS have cravings for oats!

    Comment by actorsdiet | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  15. diets and i don’t jive…actually i am a firm believer that diets don’t work. period! i love kale chips but they’re definitely nearly set off the sprinklers in my house before..oops. thanks for entering my giveaway, i’m about to enter yours!!

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  16. I can’t put restrictions on my eating but who would want to? If you say that you can’t have something then you just end up wanting it more. I do best when I just don’t analyze or think about it. I eat what I want, just a small amount and I try to balance it with nutritious food 🙂 This method really works for me. I adore Clif Mojo bars! One of the only bars that I will actually eat. The others taste “too healthy or too processed” Enjoy your weekend!

    Comment by Haleigh | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  17. I set my fire alarm off everytime I use the toaster. I do it on purpose sometimes to annoy my downstairs neighbors too.

    You should definitely tell Mimi about your problem with the bans. It seems restrictive to only have 3, but I think I see where she was going with it. I’m interested to see what she says. Keep your head up girl!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  18. Dieting doesn’t work for anyone!

    I guess my best peice of advice would be to not beat yourself up! Really! And stock the house full of mostly healthy, clean foods that you can feel good about eating. Having small portions of your favorite foods can help prevent feeling deprived too.

    Eating well is a process. Nobody is perfect, but everyone can find a place where they feel healthy and happy. Don’t worry, you’ll get there! 😀

    Comment by Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  19. i love this post! dont ever hesitate to give yourself a break-our bodies deserve it. you are fine! you have time! its a lifestyle change that doesnt happen overnight!

    Comment by kbwood | February 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

