Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Good food always helps.

Once again, thanks to your sweet comments I know I’m not alone in my sorrows. Thanks guys!

Today has been a much better day. I started the morning off with oat bran mixed with almond butter, pears, cinnamon, and peanut butter. This was my first time experimenting with pears but they cooked up nicely.  I just stuck everything in the microwave together with the pears at the bottom of the bowl. There was also some coffee with soy milk.

Before lunch with Sarah, I did a little bit of homework and a lot of blog reading. Sarah picked me up around 2:15 for a late lunch at Zaftigs. This place is famous for their all day breakfast but we figured going at an off time would help with the wait.  I was starving by the time I got there so I dug right into to the bagel chips and dill sauce they provided. They tasted great. Every time I go to Zaftigs I get the same exact thing, Israeli Couscous Salad and it never disappoints.  The ingredients include: grilled chicken, mixed field greens, sun-dried cranberries, fennel, radicchio, walnuts, orange-mint vinaigrette. I substituted the chicken with a portabella mushroom.

Look at that masterpiece!! I cannot even begin to explain the flavors. I think we should have a Boston Bloggers Meet-up there. Any takers?

I made myself leave leftovers for tomorrows lunch. I can’t wait for work tomorrow. I guess that’s the trick to a better Monday.

After lunch, I went to Whole Foods for some retail therapy. Sundays aren’t the best days for therapy apparently because it was freaking packed and I have no patience. I escaped without dropping too much money. I did not escape however, without chocolate. Something about expensive chocolate makes you really want to savor it. I must admit, I think Cadbury Caramel Eggs are just as good. A junkie is a junkie, I guess.

Caramel Milk Chocolate. Mama Mia!

What to do for dinner? I went back and forth between a few things until I saw Tina’s post for Polenta Breakfast Pizza. I knew I must have it. I altered her recipe since I’m not a sausage eater and Len hates onions. My polenta Quiche (is more like it) ingredients include broccoli, roasted potatoes, olives, and one jalapeno. I also cut out two of the four eggs and replaced them with three whites. I had never made polenta before which is crazy since it’s so easy. I doubled the batch so you’ll be seeing a lot more of it.  I wonder if it has any nutrients.

Len ate two slices of it but I don’t think he was totally psyched. It was bland and could have used more cheese or spice. You better believe I doused that sucker with ketchup and hot sauce.

Mmmm, I think I want to make this with polenta, BBQ sauce, pineapples and some veggies. YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Am I the only one who didn’t watch the hockey game? The one minute I watched was when the US tied the game. At least I got that going for me.

Thanks to everyone who has entered my giveaway. I can’t believe we have to wait till Friday to find out who wins. Keep the entires coming.

Tomorrow is MARCH!!!! What??????

February 28, 2010 - Posted by | Clif Bar, Food, giveaway, Marathon Training, Recipes, running, The Boyfriend

15 Comments »

  1. What a beautiful lunch!!! I LOVE israeli couscous!

    Comment by Anna | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. i know, i can’t believe it’s march already…it feels like just yesterday it was the new year! i wanna try that polenta thingy sometime this week!

    Comment by Heather | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. That Israeli couscous salad looks fantisic! I love that it is topped with a Portabella yum!

    Comment by livelifeeatright | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yay, for March!! I didn’t watch the hockey game either.

    Comment by Fit Chick in the City | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. The hockey game was so goooood! I don’t usually watch hockey (in other words, this was the first game I’ve ever watched) but I’m glad I saw it. To be honest though, if my sister hadn’t turned the TV on, I wouldn’t have bothered.

    I’ve never tried polenta but I DO know that it’s quite nutritious. I can’t remember why though so you’ll just have to take my word on it unless someone with more knowledge speaks up. 😉

    I’m so excited for March to be here! SPRING!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by daintyvegan | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. I love polenta! It’s healthy, though I’m not quite sure why haha…I know it has fiber though! I love those chocolate bricks…I eat them just as fast as those Cadbury eggs, though 🙂 Have a great week!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  7. That polenta breakfast pizza looks awesome!! I love, love, love polenta. It is one of my favorite comfort foods!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  8. i love polenta pizzas! yum. so glad to hear that you’re feeling better today 🙂

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  9. Your eats look delicious!! I’ve been seeing those chocolate bars around the blogsphere (yes I just called it that) haha! I want to try one

    xo

    Jocelyn

    Comment by Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. that israeli couscous looks absolutely amazing! OMG lol I wish I had it right in front of me right now! I’m so glad you commented on my blog!

    Comment by Salah | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  11. So I just found your blog the other day and I swear we’re the same person. I can totally relate with your struggles; we’re really not alone in this. I want to hear more about the 3 category binge thing, sounds interesting.

    I’ll definitely be reading!

    Comment by Allyson | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  12. Dang that dish is IMpressive!! orange-mint vinaigrette?! Cool, I wanna make that! Hee!

    Glad you’re feeling more cheerful! Atta girl!

    Comment by sophia | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  13. i LOVe zaftigs and never had that salad! it looks awesome, like a tower of cous cous! I love anything israeli and middle eastern since my dad is from ISarel , I grew up eating falafel LOL..have you tried rami’s across the st? so good!

    when is our date little lady 🙂

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  14. Glad you are feeling better!

    That quiche/breakfast pizza looks awesome!

    Comment by christie, honoring health | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  15. The salad looks fab! I made that polenta breakfast thing and it tasted blah too. Not a fan.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

