Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Cookie Monster Strikes Again.

Seriously, how do I not weigh 712 pounds and need a crane to lift me up? I’m sure you can tell by the title that I ate so many cookies today. Cookies of all kinds. I think my vision is getting blurry from diabetes. I’m not kidding. That’s a side effect, right. Mimi better come up with a plan of action. I definitely didn’t follow the plan this week. Wait till you see my dinner.

Exhibit A- Sweet polenta with maple syrup and coconut flakes.

Exhibit B- Savory polenta with parm cheese and ketchup.

Really, Lindsay. Really?

It did NOT feel like a Monday today which was a total plus. Work flew by and I got complimented by the Assistant Director at my internship. Double plus. At first I thought I was getting in trouble for something when she said, “Lindsay, can I talk to you?” I felt like I was 14 again getting called to the principles office. I had flash backs of sitting in In School Suspension. Oh yes I did. Luckily I’m 29 now and things are different. I love the work I’m doing as it is SO fascinating. I love learning and seeing mental illness manifest first hand. Psychosis is incredible.

So I’m brainstorming new ways to vamp up my workouts. Typically I only do cardio. No strength training, no abs, nada, zip, zilch, zero. I need a new plan that excites me. I’m contemplating doing boot camp again but the truth is, it’s a one month fix and I don’t even love it that much. And it’s SO expensive. Any ideas??? I do belong to a gym with awesome classes but I cannot motivate. And yes, I am running a half marathon on April 24th. No, we really haven’t been training. Sigh.

I would love to be toned, rather than 80% body fat. How do all you motivated people do it?

A while back, Annelies from Attune Bar sent me three bars to review. I’ve been holding onto them because for some reason I though I should wait until I actually ate healthy before trying them. She advised me that it’s okay to eat them on days I eat junk because the probiotics help with digestion. Each bar has 5 times the live active cultures in yogurt. They also contain 30% of calcium needs which is something I know I don’t get enough of. Tonight I tried the Dark Chocolate. These may be the answer to my healthy chocolate prayers. Each bar is made with 68% cocoa, has 80 calories and three grams of fiber. I was expecting an after taste or something but it tasted just like regular wonderful dark chocolate. Yum!! As if free healthy chocolate bars weren’t enough, Annelies could not be any nicer. Thank for the goodies!!

March 1, 2010 - Posted by | Clif Bar, Food, giveaway, Marathon Training, running, therapy, Workout

21 Comments »

  1. I’m horrible at making myself do weights. I used to do a body pump class, but the instructor was too perky and pissed me off. I squeeze some abs and pushups in when I’m stretching after my cardio, but I really need to work on getting more strength training in than that.

    Comment by Kelly | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. MMMmmm, both bowls of polenta look so good!! I’ve never though to make polenta sweet, let alone add coconut! Great idea!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. Core Fusion dvd’s are great for strength training. I love them!

    I’m sorry you overate today. Has Mimi suggested keeping a journal where you write what your feeling when you eat? It’s something I had to do when I was in therapy for bulimia and I was always overeating due to other stresses or worries. Maybe Mimi can help you work though those feelings if that’s what’s going on.

    I’m not judging at all, I’m just relating my own experience so please don’t take my comment the wrong way 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 1, 2010 | Reply

    • No offense taken! Thanks for sharing, M.

      Comment by lpskins | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. Nice job at the internship!

    I love Attune bars! And, I’m thinking about doing boot camp for April and May…. When I went to BSC I did the Body Pump class and loved it.

    Comment by Ali | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  5. That’s awesome that your boss gave you such kudos!

    You’ll do better with the eating tomorrow…tomorrow is a new day, right?

    Comment by Anna | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hey girl!!
    just start over new tomorrow 🙂 you are fine!
    whats polenta taste like? im dying to try!

    Comment by kbwood | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  7. I want to try polenta too! it looks so good!

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  8. I can’t believe I’m promoting it (because I was never the biggest fan) but yoga on my off days makes me feel so refreshed- and excited for the next work out! Maybe it’s something to throw into the mix???

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  9. Lindsay, Yea I’m back on the computer. Congrats on being complimented by your Assistant Director! You can do and be whatever you set your mind to thinking and believing. Believe in yourself; the possibilities are endless! Take each day as it comes and don’t worry about tomorrow. Look in the mirror and thank God for the beautiful person you are. Begin each day on a positive note and “He will give you the desires of your heart”.

    Comment by mom | March 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Mar?? You’re back!! Wahooooooooooooooooooo!

      Comment by lpskins | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  10. I keep seeing attune bars and i really want to try them! they sound so good! the sweet polenta sounds to die for…I have to keep that in mind next time I make some! have a great night!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’ve never heard of these bars before. Time to train for that 1/2 girlie! Maybe you could check out some different type of workouts and just pay for an intro class? My friends and I have been doing that for the last few months. Usually places have discounted prices for intro classes.

    Comment by Fit Chick in the City | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  12. OMG the white chocolate blueberry attune bar is TO DIE. I love it. ALTHOUGH I have a memory of it triggering a major binge one time

    Comment by Brittanee | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  13. I’m about to start drooling over that Attune bar.. I wish they were vegan 😥

    Did Mimi say what the next step would be if this experiment doesn’t seem to help?

    Comment by daintyvegan | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  14. Hi Lindsay,
    Just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your blog. You have such a great sense of humor! I’m sorry to hear about what you’re experiencing, but I think it’s great you’re willing to share it with a lot of people who can totally relate. To answer your question about exercise–I really like Zumba! It’s only fun though if you enjoy dancing. It’s a great workout and it goes by fast. 🙂

    Comment by Kristen | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  15. i tried one attune bar and LOVED it!

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  16. I agree that keeping a food/mood journal could be helpful. It was really helpful to me in the beginning of my recovery.

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  17. Try adding in some abs to your cardio routines. The core is so important and with a strong stomach/back area it makes all other forms of exercise easier!! 🙂

    Sorry you had a bad day…but I hope today is better!! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  18. hey love! omg that sweet polenta looks so good! can I come over for dinner, seriously I am sure I could walk over 😉

    are you coming to spin this saturday?! im teaching at 11 at the comm ave club! 🙂 comeeee! or if not we need to meet ASAP!!! seriously

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  19. wow, your polenta dishes look so great! don’t worry about your eats…today is a new day, and since you can’t change the past, just look forward to the future! you can do this girl!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | March 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

