Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Take it to the locker room, please.

Yesterday was an insane day! I wish I could get into details but it’s just not an option due to confidentiality at work. Phew. It is NEVER a dull day there, which I actually really like. Working with children takes a toll on your heart and is a very humbling experience. I want to adopt everybody.

Last nights eats included TUNA! I’ve mentioned this before but tuna creeps me out. A couple times I’ve found fish scales in the tuna can. This isn’t a joke. Apparently cold  Mac and Cheese is a great way to disguise tuna because it worked for me. Yum!! Though I didn’t add ketchup last night, it would have been a great addition.

Dessert included my very last Attune bar. I forgot to take a picture though! Shoot. It was mint chocolate and it reminded me of Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies. Let’s just say it’s a good thing I only had one.

This morning I got up early for the gym. Upon walking out the door and feeling the pretty mild temps, I decided on a 3 mile run outside. I have officially chosen a favorite route. Although three miles is a short distance, this route makes it feel even shorter. I LOVE it. It feels really good to finally have worked out before work. As some of you know, I used to be really good about getting up in the morning and just banging out a workout. The last four months have been really difficult for some reason and I’ve slacked like I’ve never slacked before.

On my run I thought about  the blogging community and how funny it is that we have no clue what one another’s voice sounds like. We all have dedicated blogs that we visit daily and comment on, yet there’s a huge piece that we miss out on. The flip side is that so many bloggers (myself included) feel like their most open and vulnerable self on here–which makes it so easy to connect. It’s just such an interesting community, one that draws so many people in.

Side note– At the gym last week I saw a man standing in front of the PUBLIC mirror squeezing the black heads out of his nose and his EAR. I mean, I understand the yearning to pop a quality zip but really? In front of everyone? Then he had to nerve to hop on the machine without so much a hand sanitizer. Freaking gross, dude. Thanks for passing on your clogged pores.  Now that you all want to barf, here’s todays menu.

I’m excited for that Cedar Lane burrito. Len picked it up and I’ve never seen it or tried that brand. The stats are better than Amy’s brand so we’ll see. The salad has veggies, avocado and olives. The Lara is for my afternoon snack. Not sure what’s for breakfast just yet. I always struggle with that one.

The people at my internship always go out together after work on the first Thursday of the month but I can never go because I have class. Since it’s Spring Break and I don’t have class, I can finally make it. I hate missing out because I think it’s such a great bonding time.

Remember that the Clif giveaway ends tomorrow at 10 so get your entries in now!

March 4, 2010 - Posted by | Attune bar, Clif Bar, Food, Friends, fun, giveaway, Graduate School, running, Workout

24 Comments »

  1. Have fun going out with your internship buddies!

    Comment by Anna | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Ew omg that’s disgusting. People are nasty. Lately I’ve been so thankful for the blogging community. It’s so nice having people cheering for you to get better, even if you have never met them.

    Comment by Kelly | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. You’re right Linds, it’s hard working w/kids and seeing how sad some things can be that go w/them. Just remember that you are doing a great thing for them by being there during the day and for them it’s like a home away from home I’m sure! We just had a 19yr old pass away the other day and yesterday was his 20th birthday…it was really sad!
    Dif note….I’m starting w/a therapist on 3/17! Scared yet excited! Thanks for the inspiration my chicky! xoxox

    Comment by Katelyn | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. morning! glad you got a little run in, your short run is my long run 🙂

    Oh and that burrito is good if I remember correctly, but they always look nasty when coming out of the microwave!!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  5. You have a good point about the not knowing voices, etc. thing. It’s weird for me because when I share something funny or interesting with someone else, I’m always like, “yeah… this girl I know said this”. Girl I know? Blog friend? What? I’m always confused!

    And more than once I’ve had something crunchy in the tuna can. Needless to say, I don’t buy the 89 cent cans of tuna anymore…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. That is totally true about us not knowing what eachother sounds like. It is funny because I feel like I can imagine it though. Tina, from Carrots and Cake, posted a radio interview that she did and I was TOTALLY thrown off by her voice. NOT IN A BAD WAY at all! I just imagined her voice to be deeper than it was. Random!

    Comment by Kelly | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  7. OH my gosh how gross!

    about how we know but don’t know each other…I’m totally with Amy on this, when I want to share something of note with my husband he always gives me the weirdest looks!

    Comment by LindsayRuns | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  8. i can’t wait to hear what you have to say about that burrito! i saw it at the store, put it in my basket, and then took it out b/c i’m a wimp and got skurred 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  9. I was just thinking about blogger’s voices the other day! So funny! There are some I imagine as very boring and monotone, then some as shrill and high pitched, then some as just normal. I’m so judgy!

    I like tuna in alfredo. You might like it if you like it in mac and cheese.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  10. When I read others’ blogs, I constantly wonder, “hmmmm. would we be friends in real life?” And honestly, the answer is that you never know! We may think we all know each other fairly well, but in reality, we are each choosing what to share with the world. Who knows what it is that people aren’t choosing to write about!

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  11. a major EW to the zit dude! what the hell? and omg anything thin minty = A plus plus!

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  12. I take it you don’t eat canned salmon because those actually have bones, like well defined vertebrate mixed in! Haha

    Comment by Allyson | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  13. Um ew. Doesn’t he know popping blackheads is an at-home activity? LOL. And now I’m totally freaked out about finding fish scales in my tuna can. Good thing I’m definitely vegetarian and most likely completely vegan. I’ve always wondered that too (about the blogging friends thing). It’s weird how meeting someone you met over the Internet has almost become more socially acceptable? Does that make sense? I guess I am much more open to it now because of the blog world – similar interests, similar goals, etc., and with the exception of some creepers everyone is ‘normal.’ Have fun tonight!!

    Comment by Olivia | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  14. I love those cedarlane burritos!! They are so yummy and filling!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  15. Oh man, I cannot stomach tuna.. especially not after that tidbit of information. Cold mac and cheese is delish though!

    Comment by lowandbhold | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I LOVE cold mac and cheese, and cold pizza, and cold manicotti. YUM!

      Comment by quarterlifewellness | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  16. ewww thats gross that the guy was doign that in public…blehhhh, sometimes I wonder about people and what they do!

    I love tuna, so I hope I never find anything freaky in my tuna cans LOL…when you come back from vermont can we make a play date for real> then we can hear eachothers voices>!?!?

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  17. EW EW EW about the gym guy! What is UP with some people?

    Comment by Susan | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  18. I hear ya about funny work experiences that can’t be shared. Some days are just nuts here…but confidentiality gets you every time.

    And ew ew ew to gym guy. At least go to the locker room…really.

    Comment by pen | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  19. Yay for the outdoor run! 🙂

    I often wonder what bloggers’ voices sound like too!

    Comment by kilax | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  20. That Cedarlane Burrito wont disappoint!! It’s a little different than your average stringy cheese and bean burrito because it’s soy cheese, but stil good nonetheless! 😀

    Comment by Emily | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  21. Cedar Lane has great products, never had the burrito..but I have had an awesome quesadilla from them! I’ve heard the Apple Pie bar is delish..I want to buy one, then attempt to home make it!

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  22. I have this ‘friend’ who pops her pimples and proceeds to lick her fingers while talking to you. As if it was the most common thing on earth! I think this beats gym guy big time. Grossness at its best!

    Comment by Karla | March 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Seriously, I feel sick now. That is SOOO nasty.

      Comment by lpskins | March 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

