Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Winner and Friday Fun.

Thank you all so much for entering the Clif Bar Giveaway. You guys came up with some amazing flavors to create. Who knows, maybe the people at Clif will take them into consideration. And the winners are….

#54– Danielle, you won the Carrot Cake pack.

#100– Ali, you won the variety pack.

Congratulations. Please send me an email at lpskins@hotmail.com with your information. I’ll send them out to you next week.

I just ate some oat bran with PB but forgot to take a picture because I was too excited about the giveaway. Len picked #54 because that’s how old his mom just turned and #100 because ” I like 100.” Okay, whatever.

We’re are about to tackle our run and then head up to Vermont. We have dinner plans with his family tonight and then tomorrow we are going to the mountain. The boys are going to ski and the girls are going to snow shoe.  Our friend is pregnant so there’s no skiing in her future which works out great for me since I don’t know how to ski. So sad that I lived in VT for seven years and NEVER went skiing.

Yesterday after work we headed to Sunset Bar and Grill but like an ass, I forgot my camera. I had two Black and Blues, which are a mix of Blue Moon and Guinness. So good. There were 10 of us and we ordered a bunch of apps for the table– two plates of Veggie Nachos and two Mediterranean Artichoke Dips. Let’s just say that NOTHING was healthy but everything was good. The mediterranean artichoke dip was layered like nachos but had artichoke dip, hummus, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, and feta, all on top a ton of pita chips.  A heart attack waiting to happen. The party ended early and I was home in time to watch Idol. I swear, if Didi gets voted off I am SO done with that show. Probably not but I will definitely be disappointed.

I hate to travel snackless but our fridge and cabinets are looking pretty sad these days. I will definitely be bringing Clif bars but that’s about it. We have no fruit, veggies, nuts, etc. Eating healthy when I visit Lens family is always a struggle because they are a meat (deer to be exact) and potatoes kind of family. For holidays, lens mom goes out of her way to make sure there is a vegetarian option. While these options are delish, they are certainly never healthy. Butter is a staple in that house. His mom said that if I ever go vegan she’ll kill me. Hopefully I will make the best decisions with the choices that I have. I’m pretty sure there will be a Subway veggie delight in my future.

What are your favorite snacks to take on the road?

March 5, 2010 - Posted by | Clif Bar, Food, Friends, fun, giveaway, running, The Boyfriend

19 Comments »

  1. I bought my first Cliff Bar last night. It’s coming with me to the boyfriends this weekend, because their fridge consistently has a container of milk, and beer, and that’s it. Have fun snow shoeing!

    Comment by Kelly | March 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Kelly! A Clif bar virgin! You’re soooo going to love it. And probably want another one immediately after… 😉

      Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. i love fruit leather, almonds, and something extra crunchy like chips…so good!!!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. That’s how I feel when i go home for the holidays and I feel bad about it. “Sorry mom, I do not eat a pound of meat for lunch anymore. Turns out that could kill you…” Ok, so I don’t actually say that, but I kindly find ways to fix or alter things she makes to fit my lifestyle. I think (or hope) she’s ok with when I do that. I don’t try to offend anyone.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. I like to take apples on the road. They’re sweet and filling!

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. Have a fun time with his family. Tell her to buy you a box of veggie burgers!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  6. HAVE FUN!!!

    When I go on the road we always take fruit, trail mix, nuts, beef jerky, lots of water! I always seem to be REALLY hungry on road trips. Probably boredom but I feel like as soon we start driving I start eating and don’t stop till we get there! haha! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  7. I don’t enjoy vsiting other people, because I know the food may not be to my liking. Horrible, right? I’ve learned to accept and enjoy what I am given. But I am so much happier when I can choose what to eat!
    I love Blue Moon and Guinness. I call it a Dark side of the moon, but that’s just me. I am definately a beer girl, nice to know that you are too!

    Comment by Astrid | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  8. Have a great weekend in Vermont! I always pack granola bars, too 🙂 I need to try the black and blue combo- those are two of my favorite beers!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  9. Ma’am I thought we agreed I was going to win the carrot cake clif bars. haha 🙂

    Your situation makes me wonder what I will do when I go see Joey’s family. Over christmas I was still eating some meat, and now I haven’t had any for months and I don’t plan on it. And Joey’s italian family loves their meat. It makes things a little complicated. Bumma. Well I hope you have a wonderful weekend!!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  10. CEREAL of any and all forms! Must have cereal for road trips! haha Have fun!

    Comment by Emily | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  11. congrats to the winners! funny method of picking #s, i love it. hmm, i MUST have fruit when i travel, but pretzels and bars are always good to have too

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  12. Lindsay, you HAVE to get an iPhone!!! Then you’ll never forget your camera…it’s on the phone…and you can email the pics to yourself to upload on the blog. It’s made blogging sooooooooooooooooo much easier for me.

    Comment by Deana | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  13. Trail mix! Bars! Fruit! Things like that are delish snacks for moi.

    Have a fun trip! 😀

    Comment by highonhealthy | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  14. i love fruit – both fresh and dried!

    Comment by actorsdiet | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  15. I hate when I forget my camera! But then, I can talk about it and make it sound like the best thing ever happened/was there 😀

    My favorite snacks to take on the road are…apples! Healthy and cheap 😉 What more can you ask for? PURE bars are nice too 🙂 Very healthy, and it’s raw AND vegan! WOoooooo HOooooo!!

    Comment by sagojyou | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  16. Congrats to the winners! I love packing a bar with me…right now I am on a Luna kick lol but I go through phases…before it was Kashi bars lol

    Comment by Mari | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  17. You’re going snow shoeing? That sounds like a fun and great workout! Have you done this before? I can’t wait to hear about it!!! I miss winter sports so much!!!

    I’m also a subway veggie delite (or a BK veggie burger) girl on the road…I also usually bring nuts or something to snack on…though, they are always dangerously addicting and I end up consuming the entire giant bag.

    Oh, and of course my road trip staple: coffee.

    Comment by pen | March 6, 2010 | Reply

  18. I love apples for a car ride, and goldfish but I guess that’s not a “good” food. 😉

    That’s how it is with my inlaws, they are much more standard american diet than my family…hard to find stuff in the cupboards, but I manage.

    Comment by lindsayruns | March 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

