Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Sunshine

Is it really Monday again? It feels like this weekend went by both fast and slow. We squeezed a lot in and it felt good to be busy yet relaxed. Yesterdays trip to Newport was perfect since temps hit about 60. People were walking around in shorts and it seemed that everyone was smiling. As soon as we arrived, we hit up a local restaurant for some grub. Five dollar Bloody Marys? Yes please, and keep em’ coming. Lunch was a big salad with dried cranberries, chunks of blue cheese, pecans, apple slices and a grilled vegetable burger. It hit the spot. What’s up with the apples these days? They’re all mealy and kinda dull.

My all time favorite drink

Veg burg was like rubber

After some coffee, we went for a 3 mile walk Β along the ocean. We soaked up the sun and gawked over the amazing mansions. I wanted to explore one so badly but can’t bring myself to pay 20 bucks for that privilege. Β Newport’s a beautiful little town and worth visiting.

On our way home we stopped at a cute little coffee shop for a snack. I spotted a beautiful toasted marshmallow bar but my heart really wanted a smoothie. I ignored my craving and went with the bar. I was mad at myself before I even got out the door. Len advised me that I should get what I really wanted and that the marshmallow bar would not go to waste. Two minutes later, there I stood with a treat in each hand.

Sooooo good

Whipped Cream? I thought you'd never ask.

The smoothie got pounded in the car and the bar came out to play after dinner. Slurp and chomp.

Last night’s dinner was Saturday nights leftovers– Vegetarian Pad Thai. Though it seems that all I did yesterday was eat, I somehow managed to get some chores done: laundry, bank and grocery shopping. Done and done. You should know that Chobani is on sale at Shaws for 1 dollar. Yep, true story.

My bed won again this morning in the fight against my alarm. I might go to yoga tonight instead of my planned run. I cannot believe that our half marathon is in 6 weeks and I’m still slacking. We haven’t ran more than 6 miles….. oops! It will all work out in the end. Off to face the day.

March 8, 2010 - Posted by | Food, fun, Marathon Training, running, The Boyfriend, Workout

17 Comments »

  1. I’ve always wanted to see those mansions, ever since reading The Great Gatsby πŸ™‚ We’re driving to Nantucket this summer, and I think we might stop there along the way.

    Comment by Anna | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Morning!! Sounds like you had a great weekend πŸ™‚ And that mellow bar looks soooo good!!

    I’m all for supporting some yoga practice. I’ll be at a 930 class this morn πŸ™‚

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. Your weekend looked so great! You deserved to sleep in today. πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. I love how everyone in Texas was wearing shorts on Thurs and Friday with temp of 67, but now it’s rainy again. lol Looks like you has a great time. I’m eying that delicious salad and veggie burger.

    Comment by Nicci | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’ve been slacking on my training this weekend, too…waiting until spring break to get back on track!! Newport is GORGEOUS, I went there once with my parents when I was a kid and never appreciated how incredible those mansions are! And that marshmallow bar was definitely a good buy πŸ™‚ Enjoy your Monday!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. walking along the ocean sounds perfect to me right now…i can’t wait for that to happen sometime in the near future (hopefully!) i had a moment this weekend where i wished i would have gone with my healthier craving and not with what sounded like a treat…i ended up making myself sick! not good…

    Comment by Heather | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Happy Monday! Looks like you had a lovely weekend!

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oh goodness that bar looks like something right up my alley!!! Yummy!! πŸ™‚ Such gorgeous scenery!! πŸ™‚

    Comment by homecookedem | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. I remember visiting Newport when I was a kid. The houses were stately and gigantic. Rhode Island is so beautiful- so much scenery to enjoy and walk! πŸ™‚

    Comment by Annelies | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. that bar looks amazing girl!!

    Comment by kbwood | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. Linds- that brownie looks so yummy!!
    check out this blog- http://www.manmeetsscale.com/
    it’s the CEO of WW!

    Comment by Debra | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  12. ew rubbery veggie burger? LAME! and lame that it’s monday again

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  13. Looks like a fun weekend adventure! Enjoy your yoga class!

    Comment by Fit Chick in the City | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  14. It looks like you guys had a great weekend! Happy Monday!

    Comment by Kelly | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  15. that marshmallow bar looks so good, I bet it was worth every bite πŸ™‚

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  16. I LOVE bloody marys. I convince myself that I’m doing something super healthy for myself with tomato juice…and celery. What could be healthier? πŸ™‚

    Glad you guys had a great weekend!

    Comment by pen | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  17. Looks like you had a great weekend! I finally found the pineap chiobani and pomegrante! YUMMY!!! I’ll have to hit up shaws like NOW!! for more of them! Thanks for the hint on them!

    Comment by Katelyn | March 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

