Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

My beautiful Garden.

Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. I’m psyched for this weekend since we change the clocks and it will be lighter in the mornings! That might make getting up to workout easier. I spotted some flowers in the beginning stages… if you look past the weeds you can see the stems. Spring is in the air!

I went for a three-mile run this morning with my friend Justin. We talked about it yesterday at our internship but I never thought we’d actually get our acts together to do it. He’s training for a half in May so it worked out well. I warned him that I run at a slow pace and he agreed to take it easy.  We ran around the reservoir twice, which is a little over three miles. We averaged a 9:20 pace which is really fast for me.

I spent the rest of the morning doing dishes, laundry and creating a fabulous feast: spaghetti squash, spinach, tempeh, olives, hummus and hot sauce. Non-dried up orange slices on the side. Twas good.

Random but awesome- Over Thanksgiving, I saw a commercial with Cindy Crawford endorsing a skin care line that was sure to be anti-aging. It was definitely enticing but too costly for me. Lens mom ordered it on HSN and accidently signed up for a monthly delivery. She missed the boat for cancellation and ended up with an extra set! I asked to borrow some face wash on Friday night and she handed over an unopened package. How rad! I hope to not fall in love with it though since it would just be another expense. It’s a no joke set, including eye cream. I feel like my wrinkles are disappearing already!

I’m a charity case. Don’t judge.

March 9, 2010 - Posted by | Food, running, The Boyfriend

16 Comments »

  1. Hoooray for spring being on the way! I can’t wait! We went for a walk last night and it was awesome!

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. My ex boyfriend’s mom and my own mom used to feed me samples like none other. I loved it! Because really… otherwise I won’t find about the product or I would never buy it (I’m so cheap when it comes to my makeup selection it seems).

    Nice run!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. I cannot wait to change the clocks! I’m so sick of it being dark in the morning!

    Comment by Kelly | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  4. Love getting free stuff, no judging here!

    Comment by Jacqui | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  5. I love samples and windfall stuff! I saw that infomercial too and thought it looked like quality stuff.

    Comment by lindsayruns | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  6. i’ve seen that infomercial and really wanted that too! you’ll have to tell us all how it is 🙂

    Comment by Heather | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  7. Oh man– Vanessa from Gossip Girl uses that line too– she talks about it in this month’s Lucky magazine 🙂 I totally want to try it, because I’m already freaking out about wrinkles…lovely.

    Comment by Anna | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  8. Yay for free products! I would be all over that.

    Comment by lowandbhold | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  9. Great job on the run!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  10. My mom is obsessed with trying new skin stuff, so I always steal hers, too. Can’t complain if it’s free 🙂

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  11. Good job your run! That’s awesome! I am like you…so excited for the time change! I am ready to be able to run outside at 5:30am instead of being forced onto the treadmill!

    Comment by Kelly | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  12. Aw, your garden looks a lot like my backyard…which is my task for the weekend. I think. I hope…

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hate to break it to you….it’s going to be DARKER in the mornings for a little bit. We spring ahead…which means 5am will become 6am, 6am will become 7am, etc. It’s going to stay lighter longer at night!

    Comment by Ali | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  14. Oh man, I wanted to try that stuff….how much do you love it?? Let me know what you think of it after a week or so =)

    Comment by Salina | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  15. This is too funny because I actually sat and watched the ENTIRE informercial for that skin care line on Sunday morning. It took all my strength not to buy that shit. I want it.

    Great run!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

