Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Hi.

Who you calling fat?

Yo! This morning I had the hardest time getting dressed for work and I definitely look like a bum today. I cannot believe how little I shopped this season and last. Turns out that hating your body is a real money saver. The lady to the left doesn’t worry about body image or carrying around an extra roll or two. One of the many beautiful things about animals. They just live in the moment. I was thinking yesterday about how we feed our dog better than we feed ourselves. I hate buying crap treats and try to only buy items with a short ingredient list.

A big thanks to Sally from Newman’s Own Organics. She sent along two bags of treats for Eleanor to “review”. Eleanor has been reviewing these same treats since she was a baby because they just so happen to be the ones we always buy. They come in two flavors: chicken and peanut butter. Ellie doesn’t discriminate.

Check out those ingredients. You really cannot go wrong with anything in there.

Last night I made an awesome and easy dinner- tortilla pizza. Simply topped two tortillas with sauce,sautéed mushrooms, spinach and parsley then baked for 45 minutes. These would only be two weight watchers points and were really filling, No, I’m not doing weight watchers but my mind just goes there.

I haven’t spoken much about it but for some reason I haven’t been following Mimi’s plan. Something about going into the day expecting a binge doesn’t sit right with me. We’re going to have to figure out if this is the best strategy for me. And if she really thinks so, then I need to let go of my fears and just do it. Yesterday I tried to simply eat intuitively and it worked out pretty well. Ideally that strategy would be my knight in shining armor.

My packed eats for today (not sure yet about breakfast). Bagel thin with peanut butter and a new apple butter I found at Shaws. I like how its made from apples and apple cider. It may taste like ass crack but I’ll let you know later. I also packed my favorite hummus dipping veggies: carrots, cauliflower (totally underrated) and broccoli.

Gotta run. Live like a dog and enjoy each moment today!

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway. Winner picked tonight at 7.

March 10, 2010 - Posted by | Food, giveaway, Newmans Own Organics, Recipes

17 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you definitely need to talk to Mimi more about it if you’re having so much trouble with the plan– maybe she could come up with an alternative?

    I’ve never seen those Newman dog treats! Cute!

    Comment by Anna | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. OMG, your little lady is SO CUTE. I want a pupster 😦 I hope you can work out your plan.

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Bah, I just want to eat Ellie’s face, she is adorable! Mmmm, pizza, I think I will be making a flat bread za tonight now!

    Comment by Kelly | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. That apple butter is good but it isn’t sweet it is actually quite tart…warning! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. i think you should stick with doing what feels right for you…i understand the logistics of Mimi’s strategy, but it’s not sounding like something that really works with you…? keep us updated!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hopefully you and Mimi come up with something you both feel comfortable with. Tortilla pizzas make an awesome easy meal!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  7. awwww your pup is so precious!

    Comment by Mari | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  8. Maybe not going into it expecting and plannig for it, but giving yourself a break if you succumb? Hopefully together you and Mimi can figure it out. Yay for Ellie pictures! Those are my snacks of choice for the pups, but “Daddy” buys Beggin Strips and I get snubbed!

    Comment by LindsayRuns | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  9. Make sure to stay fully open with Mimi and I know you guys will find what works best for you. Don’t lose hope and don’t quit!!

    Also I need to freaking find some teddie PB around here. hmmmm

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  10. Love those dog treats. My Ellie likes peanut butter best!

    Comment by Jacqui | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  11. I hope you and Mimi can work together to figure out what is going to help you. Are you afraid that it might work and then you’d have to face whatever the real issues are behind the binge? You might want to bring that up with her as well. I’ve been where you are and the beginnings of therapy are tough, but once you have your first “breakthrough” where everything the therapist says just clicks, you’ll trust her and it gets easier. I hope your day goes well!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  12. Aww, love that puppy face!! So cute!! 🙂 I’ll to look out for those treats for my furbabies!!

    Comment by homecookedem | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  13. definitely discuss your concerns with mimi, you need to be fully on board with the plan! aw cute pup!

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  14. that is soooo cute that they make doggie food!! awww!

    Comment by kbwood | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  15. aw how sweet! i’m sure if julius reviewed any dog treats he’d give ’em two paws up (he ain’t picky)

    Comment by actorsdiet | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  16. I feel like I gave up on my wardrobe this winter too … I’m going to try hard to look cute this spring … I think.

    Comment by Jules | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  17. Thanks for the tortilla pizza idea! LOVE IT and I’ll definitely be buying some at my next shopping trip!

    We should meet up and talk about bloggy stuff sometime! I’m in Coolidge Corner- you? It would be so fun to meet a fellow bloggie for the first time! 🙂 Whaddya think?

    Comment by Baroque Diva | March 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

