Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Quickie (not that kind)

Sorry I’ve been MIA. Thursdays are my crazy days and today I’m running around cleaning and  packing before heading to class. Len is picking me up at school and we’re hitting the road to Maine. I just tried on my ski pants and I look like a beluga whale. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to look any more puffy. I really wanted to look cool on the slopes. Damn.

Len and I went for a run this morning which is good because I was having lots of cookie guilt. You should know that there have been many cookies over the last few days. Below are some other random eats. I’ll post again tonight or tomorrow with some updates from our trip. Have a great Friday and enjoy the weekend!!

Awesome combo: banana, pineapple chobani and coconut

Dark chocolate and orange Newman's Own Organic. This sucker is long gone

Mary's crackers, jack cheese, hummus

Soy nugget parm that Len made. He was so proud! With rice

Hi protein pretzels from Newman's Own Organics. Ate my fair share last night.

More PB and Apple butter bagel thin sandwiches. kel-it's definitely tangy!

Doesn't it look like I'm breast-feeding Ellie? Those would be some sore nipples.

It’s been one week since starting that Cindy Crawford face line– I don’t feel any different but I’m not sure that I’m supposed to. What the hell is that eye cream made out of? It kinda burns my eye skin when applied. Who said beauty was painless? P.S. One of my adolescent clients told me I had crowsfeet. Bastard.

March 12, 2010 - Posted by | Food, fun, Marathon Training, Newmans Own Organics, running, The Boyfriend, Workout

33 Comments »

  1. Have a safe trip to Maine!

    Boo Hiss on the crows feet. Did no one teach them any manners ?!?!?!

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. Bastard for sure!

    On my birthday last year, a guy guessed I was turning 30. I was actually just turning 24 at the time. I wanted to cry.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Good news is that MOST of us cannot gage age for anything. And boys are idiots.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. Have fun!!! BTW…I think you have a cute nose! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Really? Thanks Kelly–its kind of slopey.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. Haha boooo to crowsfeet, I’ve been critiquing the corners of my eyes when I smile, and I see them too. So sad. And someone said beauty is painless? Liars, i’m never comfortable when trying to be pretty.

    Comment by Kelly | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  5. hahaha that’s kind of funny they said that b/c i don’t see it! also…good to know you’re not breast feeding ellie…that could be awkward

    Comment by Heather | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  6. Maine is one of my favorite places in the world. I did my undergrad there, and absolutely love it. My parents still go up to the Freeport, Portland area regularly, and I do, too, when I am up in New England. I think that Maine would be one of my dream places to live. Especially right on the southern coast. Far too beautiful!

    Comment by Astrid | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  7. I need to find some of those high protein pretzels!

    Comment by homecookedem | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  8. Have a great trip!

    Comment by Jacqui | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  9. Lindsey, Lindsey…ahhhhhh…..as a former makeup consultant one of the first things that I learned is NOT to put products too close to your eye….with the exception of concealer and liner. Any anti-aging eye products or skin treatments should always be applied right on the bone underneath your eye. If you tap your finger underneath your eye you should feel the bone I’m talking about. The skin closest to your eye is very thin and can easily become irritated. Don’t put the product there. The thicker skin on the bone will still allow the product to absorb and do its job. There is also a chance that you’re mildly allergic to the product.

    Comment by Deana | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh, really?! I’ve been putting it right under and over the eye! How are we to target the wrinkles? Thanks for the heads up!!!

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

      • you mean you put it on the eye lid? here’s the safest way…tap the skin with your finger, if it’s mushy (eye, thin skin, etc.) I wouldn’t put it there..if you feel hard bone, then it’s ok…or at least that’s what I was taught….eyebrow, fine…corners of eye, fine (see how you can feel the bone there, where people get the crows feet?), between the eyes, fine. hope that helps!!! I can totally relate to not feeling confident about your body, face, etc. but you are GEORGEOUS, girlfriend…..remember Operation Beautiful?????? some treatments are meant to be “tingly” but usually not eye treatments. try the eye cream again and if it still stinging, I would try something different……my new obsession is hyaluronic acid….
        http://www.ehow.com/facts_5030760_benefits-hyaluronic-acid-eyes.html
        you can buy it at amazon.com pretty cheaply. you can actually buy the pure stuff or a cream with it in it. I bought a day cream with the main ingredent in it being hyaluronic acid.here’s the link for a similar eye cream…
        http://www.amazon.com/derma-Pycnogenol-Hyaluronic-Acid-Cr%C3%A8me/dp/B001ET77CA/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&s=hpc&qid=1268424892&sr=1-8
        ….but don’t give up on Cindy until you give it a fair shot…..at least a week or so. Good luck!!

        Comment by Deana | March 12, 2010 | Reply

        • Okay, I’ll use your tips. Thanks Deana.

          Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  10. oh…and I don’t know about anyone else, but I think your skin is GLOWING in the picture you posted. That’s a bonus! Screw crow’s feet. What does an adolescent know?

    Comment by Deana | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • hahah, thanks deana–just made my day.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  11. Agreeing with Deana.. I wish I had your skin! Enjoy your trip!

    Comment by lindsayruns | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Linds but let me tell you, I’ve had some seriously bad acne in the past.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  12. I had some of those pretzels last night…LOVE them! I can’t wait to use them for dippage again at snacktime today 🙂 Crow’s feet? Yep, the kid’s an asshole. Who says that to someone? Anyway, have a great time in Maine!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  13. Have a great trip!

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  14. Crows feet? Whatever, I think you look gorgeous! As for beauty being painless.. so not true. Beauty usually makes me sore and occasionally uncomfortable.

    Comment by highonhealthy | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  15. HEY LOVE! have an awesome weekend! date when you get back ASAP!

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  16. you’re incredibly pretty. It’s a shame you fail to see it!

    Comment by Karla | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Karla, thank you. I hate being such a critic but it’s so hard to break!

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  17. You are beautiful! And your skin looks flawless. 🙂

    Antiwrinkle creams always burn my face the first few times I use them, but it goes away really quickly.

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the confidence booster Lily! And good to know about the burning skin.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  18. haha great title! i agree with lily, you are gorgeous! i’ve been noshing on all those great newman’s products lately too 🙂

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Stef, I literally had to give MOST of my products away. I can’t even keep them in the house. Thanks for the kind words.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  19. you do look like you’re breast feeding your dog! tee hee…

    Comment by actorsdiet | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  20. You do look like your breastfeeding! You also look beautiful. Look at those cheekbones! Dang girl!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks M! Dang to you, too.

      Comment by lpskins | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  21. Yay for the run! I have been telling myself I can eat more now because I am running… ugh, that doesn’t translate to a package of cookies. Oops!

    Comment by kilax | March 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

