Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Guess what’s baaackkk!

BOOTY!! Yep, I bit the bullet and signed up for Ultimate Boot Camp starting on March 22nd. This is probably bad timing since we should be focusing on half marathon training but the truth is, we’re not. We’ll get serious about increasing our mileage on the weekends and I’ll try to get one or two in during the week. We’ve basically come to the realization that we’ll be doing a lot of walking during this half. If that’s the case, I’d rather spend my time getting whole body conditioning in. For some reason, boot camp is the only time I work my arms and abs. I hope to get into a routine and then continue it after the month is over. I am also hoping that by doing booty, I will once again get into the routine of waking early to workout.

In other news, I have a confession. Since I’ve been eating really poorly and over indulging or bingeing almost every day, I’ve been thinking a lot about diets. My girlfriend, who also binges, recently started a no flour/no sugar lifestyle. She is doing great and hasn’t had aΒ binge in two weeks, plus she has no desire to eat sugar. This is really tempting for me. I know that restriction of any kind back fires for me but all this sugar/fat/sodium/etc is truly killing my body and my spirit. That may sound dramatic but I really feel that way. Moderation just doesn’t work for me so cutting it out altogether sounds really enticing. Β Thoughts? Am I setting myself up for failure or will this really decrease my longings to hit up the bakery section. You can be honest.

No pictures for this morning since I don’t have time for breakfast I’ll be back later with an awesome lunch.

P.S. I woke up this morning and Ellies eyeball is swollen. Like, it’s literally swelling out of her head. Anyone know what this is?

March 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

44 Comments »

  1. Oh gosh– I hope Ellie is okay!!!

    I haven’t ever tried a bootcamp class, but I really want to. They sound so hardcore!

    Comment by Anna | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. hurray for bootcamp! i think it’ll be a great addition to your training…the stronger you are the better you’ll be able to run πŸ™‚ as for the diet thing, i think you should do what’s best for you…but just make sure you actually think about your motivations behind it. is it something you’re planning on carrying on forever? or is it a temporary fix for a bigger issue? i would just hate for you to give those things up til you lose whatever amount of weight you want and then start eating them again and have something trigger a binge. i hope that doesn’t come off badly, but i know that has been the case with me so many times in the past, and i wouldn’t want anyone else to go through that! hope you have a great day girl πŸ™‚

    Comment by Heather | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • My temporary fixes never last long enough for weight loss! Thanks H.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. You know your body and your habits better than anyone else so only you know what is best for you, but I feel like more often than not cutting something out of your diet makes you crave it more in the end. Or at least that’s how it is for me. Practicing moderation is hard but it’s all part of living a healthy, happy lifestyle. And in the end it makes it easier to not obsess about food. I hope you get it all figured out! πŸ™‚

    Ellie might have mites? My pup’s eyes started swelling and turning red and that’s what the vet told us she had. We had to get perscription cream to put on it for her.

    Comment by Amy (Up and Running!) | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Yeah, I definitely obsess. Oh no, I hope not to the mite situation.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. I agree with Heather. The no sugar/no flour thing, at least at this stage, is probably just a mask for the bigger issues. Binging through recovery is 100% normal. It is scary as all get out but it is completely normal. I do think that sugar is not good for us and can lead us down the path of cravings and overeating but honestly, binging is rarely about the food.

    Comment by Christie @ Honoring Health | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I wish I could just figure it all out! So. frustrating.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. I don’t know… the only time I actually eat pure sugar is in my coffee (and whatever normal foods have sugar in them) but I NEVER crave sweets (cookies, candy, cake, ice cream, etc.) so I think there might be something to that. Once you cut something out of your life (such as becoming a vegetarian and cutting meat) then it I guess you can teach your body not to want it. I have/had a HUGE cheese/bread addiction that I wanted to get rid of and I think I am actually kicking it (took some time though). As long as you know that it will take some time but eventually I think your cravings will go away… Good luck!! πŸ™‚

    Comment by Kimberley | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • cheese and bread is damn good but not better that my beloved whoopee pies. Good job getting a hold of it kim.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

      • Haha! Well so far so good – but it may be that I have eaten so much of it in the past that I am just over it! But, you gave up meat, right? That’s what I mean… πŸ™‚

        Comment by njwritergirl | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m really bad about crosstraining other parts of my body when I’m able to run as much as I want. I think that’s why I’ve latched on to The Shred like I have. My arms and abs have never gotten such constant attention!

    Have fun at bootcamp! I did a cardio bootcamp back in the day and loved it!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Awesome! This shred business is all the rage.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  7. El’s eye could be an infection or allergies. Call the vet mama ASAP!!! Post when you find out what is wrong with her.
    Take care.

    Comment by Yvonne | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Yvonne. It makes me crack up every time you call me mama. love it.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  8. hey girl! welcome back! I just went to the bootcamp website, that sounds great! and perfect for the spring time yay πŸ™‚ as for the dieting, I think that you should obv do what is best for you, BUT keeping in mind that everyone is different and everyones body respond different;y to things, what works for your friend may not work for you. I think that if you just clean up your diet and keep up woth your workouts you will have great results! this diet thing could be a quick fix, but after a while, when you re introduce foods into your body, it will bounce right back

    Do you strength train? we could meet at the gym and I could train you…weight training is great for boosting metabolism and building lean muscle mass!

    can’t wait to meet up and talk more…let me know when πŸ™‚

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! to you training me. I don’t do ANY strength training. None. Zip. I’ve got the flab to prove it!

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hooray for boot camp! I hope Ellie’s eye is ok! I think cutting something out of your diet completely could also just end up leading to a serious binge. If you think it will work better for you though, than go for it!

    Comment by Kelly | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Yeah, that’s what typically happens for me too. UGH!!!!!!!

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  10. I hope Ellie is okay!
    The bootcamp sounds awesome!
    It’s just my opinion, but eliminating a whole food group will probably just make you binge more and is not necessary in order to lose weight. You don’t seem to want to follow what your therapist recomends at all. Are you comfortable with her? Have you thought of seeking out another one if you aren’t comfortable with her?

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey Melissa, I actually really do like my therapist but I am being defiant from the strategy. We’ll talk it over tomorrow and I’ll let tomorrow what she says. Thanks!

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  11. So sorry about Ellie! Guns had cherry eye… Is it the actual eyeball or the gland sorta by her nose?

    I know the less sugar I eat, the less I want…so I get your motivation, just wondering if the binges are a good thing? Mimi did say she wanted you to get sick of binging by oking binging right?

    The bootcamp sounds like a great idea! And a walked half is still a half!

    Comment by Lindsay | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • That was my thought process. It will just be hard to get through the first week………. thaat could be wishful thinking.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  12. Bootcamp sounds GREAT!!

    Okay my thoughts on the no sugar/no flour diet. All you need to do is ask yourself 1 question: Is this sustainable for the rest of your life? If the answer is yes then DO IT! If the answer is no…then don’t bother. You will definitely lose weight if you stick to it but once you add sugar and flour back into your diet you will gain the weight back almost immediately. I tell me clients all the time that the term diet represents a beginning and an end instead of a lifestyle change. So if you are thinking of doing a “diet” that is not sustainable to be a way of living then don’t mess with it. Just me two cents…

    Comment by Kelly | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Kell– I don’t know if it’s sustainable but i do know that I eat mostly sugar and flour. This needs to stop. Thanks for your thoughts.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  13. Any time I’ve cut sugar/flour/carbs/whatever else I classify as “bad for me” out of my diet in an effort to CURB my binge eating, it is a temporary fix that only results in a BIGGER and longer binge eventually.

    HOWEVER, there are binge eaters that I’ve heard of who can do extremely well with this lifestyle. It’s all about how you think YOU would react to it.

    Comment by Lo-Jo | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I don’t know what works… nothing so far. I just want to be NORMAL!!

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

      • Yeah, so do I. I’ve had the same struggle with binge eating for 11 years now. It sucks 😦

        Comment by Lo-Jo | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  14. I’ve done a bootcamp for women thing before, man did I kick my own ass!

    As for my thoughts on the no flour/sugar thing, I remember not that long back you did a no sugar thing.. how long did it last? If just no sugar was not sustainable, I don’t know if I’d try no flour as well.
    All I know is that I too struggle with disordered eating, and the more times I try something *new* to lose weight by means of eliminating sugar, fruit, super processed foods etc., I usually fail ,because this is super hard for the person who has a NORMAL relationship with food let alone someone like me, and failing takes a MAJOR TOLL on my self esteem. Setting myself up to fail is one thing i’m trying really hard not to do.

    Comment by Brittanee | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I know…. I’ve failed 7010 diets and it hurts every time.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  15. And true about my two days without sugar. Good point. Haha. can’t get away with anything anymore.

    Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  16. I agree with Amy, YOU know your body best! However, I do understand that feeling of falling slightly off the horse and just wanting to jump start something and get back on. That HAS worked for me in the past. I was doing Jenny Craig for a YEAR and finally stopped losing. Week after week was tortuous….same weight, up a lb, down a lb, same again. So I started a completely new thing and lost 6 lbs in 2 weeks. I really think your body gets used to one thing, and wants to stay comfortably where it is, even though that’s not what you want. I don’t know if you count calories or not, but a friend of mine who is an avid runner, told me that it’s NOT good to shoot for the same calories every day. For example, I might do 1100 one day 1400 the next and then 1200 etc. She said it keep your body guessing and losing. That theory definitley works for me. Make sure if you want to give up sugar that you’re ready for the side effects: moodiness, cravings, headache (sometimes), etc. It’s just like caffeine, once you stop your body doesn’t know what to do and freaks out. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t do it, but just be aware so that you know what to expect. I didn’t stop sugar, but I dramatically reduced it and had all of the side effects. I didn’t even know that’s what it was until another friend, who is a nutritionist, pointed it out to me. I also agree with Brittanee, I think eliminating sugar altogether might not be sustainable. WOW, I’m so excited for you to do Boot Camp! I can’t wait to hear how it is. CONGRATS!!! Sounds like you had a great weekend! Cheers!!

    Comment by Deana | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  17. GOOD LUCK on the bootcamp! I’m not sure I would ever last on a no flour/sugar fast..mostly because the idea of NOT having those things would make me crave bread. I’m eating a vegan diet currently, but I don’t want those things in my diet anyway (meat) so it’s not as hard.

    I will DEFINITELY let you know when I’m in Boston next, bloggie meet up πŸ™‚

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  18. My cat had some swelling behind her eye one a few years ago, and the vet said it was a benign abscess. Definitely get it checked out, though!

    Since cutting out desserts for Lent, I have noticed a big change in my sugar cravings and overall moods. I think it could either be a huge success, or unsuccessful, depending on how you react to restriction! Are you still seeing Mimi? I’d talk to her about it!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  19. i have mixed feelings about restricing eating in all ways…i don’t advocate it for most people but i do believe some people function a lot better when they have more structured eating. there is always the risk that a something-free streak will come to a screeching halt and result in a MASSIVE binge, just bc you’ve deprived yourself of it for so long. whatever you do, just make sure you don’t get obsessive about it!

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  20. I know that cutting out sugar/flour/gluten/etc works for many people, but in my own experience it has always led me to binge later on. I think that’s only natural, because I think we’re supposed to eat a balances diet of many different foods. For me, I’ve been happiest when I’ve eaten a good balance of the basic food groups (if you cut out sugar- would you also cut out fruit? i couldn’t handle that!). I have cut out meat from my diet in recent months (still eat fish and eggs) and do feel pretty great. I don’t miss it, or have the urge to binge on pork chops or steak at all. Definitely talk it over with your therapist tomorrow and get her opinion.

    Comment by Baroque Diva | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  21. Also want to say, that my friends who have cut out gluten from their diets, it was due to an intolerance, and they are not sick anymore. It wasn’t for atkins or weight loss reasons. I don’t think I have any friends who cut out sugar beyond a certain amount of time (like for Lent, for instance…)

    Comment by Baroque Diva | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  22. OMG I hope your pup is okay! that happened to my friend’s dog and it turned out she had an allergic reaction

    Comment by Mari | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  23. Eee my thoughts are quite similar to others on here. I think cutting out those two huge things will just set up another restrict/binge cycle. I started binging in the first place because I had been restricting so much. BUT having said all this, I don’t know what I’m talking about and am only comparing what I would do.

    If you really want to try it, maybe just cut out ONE? I’d definitely ask Mimi her thoughts on it before though! Hope little E gets better 😦

    Comment by Alice | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  24. We have some genes in common, I have given up the flour and sugar and amazingly the weight just falls off. Howeva, once I add it in again even a little, back it comes and then some. I do like to limit my carbs and sugar though because they are triggers to some bad eating. I have the best luck with WW because it doesn’t limit you from anything, it just forces moderation and you feel better because you don’t overeat.Personally I think you look great and I think alot of people out there would give anything to look as good as you. Lighten up on yourself , you are beautiful inside and out. I know its easier said than done, but I have a lot of experience in this department.

    Comment by Maureen | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks maureen. it’s a tough life.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  25. Those bootcamps sound so fun! πŸ™‚

    Like others, I don’t think restriction is the way to go, but maybe setting a limit and cutting back a bit πŸ™‚

    Comment by kilax | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  26. I always want to cut things out and restrict when I’m feeling down about binging/eating too much. It seriously never works and you probably know deep down that this won’t work. Look around and see what is going on that is really causing the binges. Maybe talk this out with your therapist before acting??

    Comment by Allyson | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  27. This year I’ve tried to cut out a lot of processed surgar in the form of chocolate (which I am addicted to) and baked goods (also a love of mine). I found that over the holidays they really triggered my tendency to over eat and just eat more cookies and brownies. I felt horrible after the holidays so I’ve really limited my intake this year and it has helped to get rid of the craving. I set a goal (like running x amount of times in x number of weeks) and if I hit that goal, then I can indulge in a treat. Or, at first, I just cut it out for almost a month before Valentine’s Day and then indulged on the holiday. It gave me something to wait for and then I really did enjoy it more and felt better.

    I understand your desire to do this but just be careful and don’t cut anything out completely that you really love. At least that’s my 2 cents.

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | March 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh I love that idea of if this then that type of thing. So smart! Thanks for the comment Lisa. And great job controlling the things you love.

      Comment by lpskins | March 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

