Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

lots of sugar and flour up in here.

Hola! So it seems many of you out there don’t believe in cutting out particular food groups and I understand why it’s probably harder for someone with disordered eating to do that successfully. It’s certainly never worked for me but then again, nothing really has. Thanks for all the feedback and thoughts. I’m pretty sick of always thinking about it yet I cannot seem to help myself. I’m getting pretty exhausted with the whole things and I’m sure you’re pretty tired of hearing about it.

Ellie’s eye seems to be fine. I came home to take her to the vet and her eye was totally normal. The vet cannot do anything about it unless she can see first hand what’s going on. Thanks for all the well wishes for the little lady; maybe that’s what helped! Did I just use that semicolon properly?

Lunch was so good–vegetarian Pad Thai that len bought me last night. yum, yum. I also finished off my bag of spinach with lemon poppy seed dressing. I was shocked at how much I loved the dressing. Good thing it came in a small  package.

No fish sauce, added tofu.

chop sticks are SO hard to eat with. I ended up stabbing each leaf.

Dinner was teriyaki tempeh with couscous and gross vegetables. We literally have not a single vegetable left in the house. We’re getting a delivery on Thursday so I’m trying to hold out. It’s very, very hard.

Loved the tempeh this time around. Sugary sauce always helps!

Ryan from Pom Wonderful offered to send me a case of POM juice to taste! I typically don’t drink juice because I’d rather eat my calories. For some reason I feel its okay to eat 15 brownies in a day but don’t dare slurp sugary beverages.  I tried pomegranates for the first time this year and LOVED them so much. I really did want to try the juice and it did not disappoint. I’ve heard that it’s not that great but I really love it. Luckily the boyfriend loves it too so he’s been helping me chug-a-lug. Thanks Ryan.

I have a meeting with Mimi tomorrow so we’ll get her take on things.

**If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? I can’t even answer this one.

March 15, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Food, The Boyfriend, therapy

25 Comments »

  1. I’m the same way!! I can down 5 spoonfuls of PB in one sitting but can’t bring myself to drink an entire thing of my POM either. So funny how we think like that… but one thing I’ve been doing is putting diet sprite in a glass and spiking it with the POM. Very delicious and refreshing.

    Comment by homecookedem | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • we’re all nuts.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. i just feel like it’s more satisfying to eat fruit rather than drink it, but i will admit: I LOVE POM JUICE 🙂 so good…i love the tartness 🙂 hope to hear good stuff from meeting with mimi tomorrow!

    Comment by Heather | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks, me too!

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Cheese. HA!

    Comment by Shleigh | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Not chocolate? I guess I don’t know my best friend.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. Umm, I don’t think there is any way I could eat just one food. How can you have ask me that?!?? (jk)

    Comment by Kristie | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. I drink my POM juice in really small doses, because it’s so concentrated!

    Hmmmmm….ice cream, maybe? No. No, it’s just too hard 🙂

    Comment by Anna | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  6. I might say sweet potatoes. Or peanut butter. It’s a tough choice!

    I have still never tried POM juice, but I need to get on the train!

    I agree that it’s probably not best to cut out a food group. I would think it would lead to MORE cravings. But, who knows?

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  7. Maybe it’s so cliche and trite but CHEESEBURGER AND FRIES. with ranch to dip in. good lord

    Comment by Brittanee | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • oh no hunny, you just picked two foods over the limit! hard, isn’t it?

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  8. You know it’s so funny, because you hear people talking about “not drinking calories” when trying to solve the obesity epidemic in america. But, it’s often the ones who could/can drink some calories that get the brainwashing. I just recently startign “drinking calories” again…and it’s not scary anymore, but it is definitely something I think about more than…say…eating a cupcake. 🙂

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • right? ridiculous.

      Comment by lpskins | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  9. One food… forever… cereal? or red velvet cake;)

    Comment by Jenny | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  10. lol i love eating with chopsticks! do it all the time. i guess that’s the half asian aspect of me 🙂

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’m not a juice person at all. I even hated it as a kid, but I’d mix that POM stuff with some vodka and drink it on down!

    My forever food would be a tub of buttercream frosting. Good luck with Mimi today!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  12. omigosh i am exactly the same! lol. i know its irrational but i don’t like drink calories but i’ll easily eat twice the amount. And its the same with fat for me. I don’t feel bad about what i eat, no matter how many calories, as long as its low fat :SS

    Comment by lucy | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  13. I would said fresh bread OR BAGELS!! I’m a carb addict

    Comment by Kelli | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  14. So many of use got cases of POM this week! I don’t drink juice either, but am excited to bake with it. They have a salad dressing recipe too.

    We aren’t sick of hearing you struggle with your eating! We all just wish we could help 🙂

    Comment by kilax | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  15. P.S. Do you read this site – http://healthygirl.org/? I can’t remember who told me about it, but think you would like it 🙂

    Comment by kilax | March 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Kim! I haven’t checked it out but will now. I appreciate it.

      Comment by lpskins | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  16. Chocolate, for sure. Probably not the most balanced diet, but I’d be a happy girl! And I’m the same way about drinking calories, I’d rather just eat them in solid form!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  17. I like to save drinking calories for alcoholic beverages, haha! Hmm I think pizza I could eat. I love it.

    Comment by Kelly | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  18. Healthy- oatmeal
    unhealthy-CHEESE FRIES!!! LOL

    Comment by Jessica | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  19. One food forever?! I am going with peanut butter! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

