Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Tooting and other daily news.

Precious is On Demand. I’m terrified to watch it since everyone describes it as “intense”. Sometimes I feel too fragile to deal with heartache and I’m sensing that’s what I’d be left with if I tune in. It’s probably better since I have this damn paper to write.

Lunch was amazing as I knew it would be: spring mix, carrots, broccoli, refried beans (toot), hot sauce and cilantro and jalapeno hummus. I’m telling you people, I’ve never tasted a better hummus. The container will be gone in three days. Luckily it has a low (ish) calorie count compared to other hummus varieties.

Damn that looks good.

Later I had more veggies with hummus and half an orange. The other half was dried up. That makes me wonder why they don’t sell dried orange slices. I also had some leftover ww couscous and tempeh.

And a little Eleanor on the side.

I could tell Ellie wanted to enjoy the sunshine so she and I went to the park. Boy did she have a blast. The ground was one big puddle to she and a horse Great Dane splashed around. I wish I had my camera because they were so cute together. Ellie is a tough broad but she wouldn’t dare mess with and dog quite so big. We left there muddy and wet but it was so worth it.

This time change is really messing with me! I can’t believe it’s already seven and I feel so awake. Erin (remember her) and I are supposed to go for a run in the morning. I miss our morning runs together so I’m really looking forward to it.

Happy almost St. Patty’s day. Though I am 25% Irish, I will not be celebrating as I will be writing a paper. My nana used to make the best boiled dinner and although I don’t eat red meat anymore, I can still remember how good it tasted. And boiled cabbage and carrots….. with mustard or vinegar. Oh la la!

Don’t forget to tune into Idol. Team Didi all the way!!!!!!

What’s your favorite ethnic tradition? I’m mostly Italian and mine is eating. In general.

March 16, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Family, Food, fun

13 Comments »

  1. If that’s the TJ’s cilantro jalapeno hummus you’re referring to, I totally agree… so gooooooooood!!

    Comment by homecookedem | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. I can’t do the emotional intense movies sometimes too. I think it’s the nature of our jobs. We get heartache all day…and I have empathy problems (in that I can’t control mine) so I get overwhelmed pretty easily.

    Ha, my ethnic heritage involves eating too (and drinking). I’m Greek. We like to eat a lot. And drink.

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yeah, I want to see Precious, but I hear that it’s SUPER intense, so I haven’t seen it yet. I’m not sure what the right mind frame is for the movie, but I don’t think I have it right now.

    Comment by Anna | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. Intense movies tend to depress the hell out of me…I’m currently watching The Reader and have a feeling I’ll probably need to turn it off soon. Favorite ethnic food is either Italian or Japanese. Love me some authentic pizza and sushi!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 16, 2010 | Reply

    • I was so not a fan of the movie (the reader) but loved the book.

      Comment by lpskins | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. I really want to see Precious, too. My friend suggested reading the book first, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to get around to it…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hey there! I found your blog tag surfing – Eleanor led me here. Nice. The cabbage and carrots sounds delicious. I don’t know if “Southerner” qualifies as an ethnic group, but one of my favorite traditions is the big family dinner at Grandma’s house on Sunday afternoon.

    Comment by Noturus | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  7. i’m half vietnamese and the food is definitely my fave too!

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  8. precious was serious, but not too intense….i think you should be fine watching it!

    Comment by actorsdiet | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  9. for what it’s worth, i think precious is certainly intense, but not in any kind of way that i found unwatchable. i know what you mean, too. i’m often not in the mindset for heavy films that take a lot of my energy.(we get enough of that in our non-off-time, don’t you think??) this one didn’t fit that bill in quite that way for me… still loving following you, sister! keep it up!

    Comment by mikaela | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  10. Precious is intense, but I really really liked it. I think sometimes we need to watch movies like that to give us a reality check you know?

    Ellie is so darn cute!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’m like 111% Irish, so mine is drinking… a lot… and often 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. I am Italian and I agree, my family can do nothing without a ton of food. But Hubby’s family is English so we drink with everything. Love both sides!!

    Comment by Jacqui | March 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

