Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Morning Sunshines!

I don’t know about you guys, but this hour change has not gotten any easier for me. Erin and I were supposed to go for a run but I cancelled with the intention of getting done at 5 to work on my paper. Of course this didn’t happen. I’m fearful of what next Monday will bring when I have to get up for booty. Even Ellie has been having a hard time with the change. Typically she’ll get out of bed when I do but this past week she’s kept on snoring.

Last night around nice I had a picnic of snacks. Newman’s Own Organic honey pretzels and Β NOO white cheddar soy crisps. The pretzels are really thin and crunch. I’ve been dipping them in apple butter for a nice little treat. The soy crisps are actually of the same description, thin and crunchy. Some were extra crunchy even. I like them because they have 8 grams of protein plus some fiber. Can’t beat that. My stomach is kinda off right now but it may be because of all the veggies I ate yesterday. Can’t really complain about that.

I’m skipping breakfast because I’m just not hungry. I know everyone says that breakfast is a must but I disagree. By the time lunch rolls around I will be more than ready. I packed a bunch of veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) with my favorite TJ’s hummus and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on bread from French Meadow Bakery. I love this company because they are certified organic and use the funky foods that this blogging community swears by: spelt bagels, hemp bread, gluten-free products, etc. I’m currently working on a loaf of sprouted cinnamon raisin bread. It’s first ingredient is wheat berries. This bread is dense and very flavorful. I love a good hearty bread and this guys wins. Thanks Emily. Can’t wait to try everything else.

I continue to get lots of feedback about the no sugar/flour thing and I’ve decided to focus on eating cleaner foods and cutting back. Yesterday was my first attempt and though I got snacky at night, I think I did pretty well. Thanks for all the tips of the trade. You guys are the experts here and I continue to learn through your comments.

March 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

15 Comments »

  1. Those honey wheat pretzels are soooo good, aren’t they? I haven’t broken into the soy crisps yet, but they’re next on my list! Happy St. Patty’s!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yeah, I’m still feeling the time change too.

    I think focusing on eating cleaner foods is key! You don’t have to cut EVERYTHING out, but if you only eat one or two processed items a day, to me, that’s great! If I cut out everything with flour and sugar, I’d go crazy craving it even more πŸ™‚

    Comment by Anna | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. I don’t think breakfast is a big deal either. If I’m not hungry and I make myself eat..my stomach hurts the entire day! I think you’re spot on just listening to your own body.

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m a firm believer in breakfast every day, but that’s just because I’m hungry as hell when I wake up. I would assume if I didn’t feel hungry until later, I also wouldn’t eat until later. Everyone’s different in what eating schedule works for them…

    And yeah, I’m finally starting to get used to the time change. But I assume if I have issues of fatigue at any point this week, I will still blame it on daylight savings. Because I can. Happy Wednesday! πŸ™‚

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. dude, this time change is KILLING me! it’s so hard to wake up in the mornings when the sun is barely coming up…sigh. i know it’ll get better, but sucks right now!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. I eat breakfast every morning, but I typically wake up staaaaaarving. The only nice thing about the time change is I’m privy to a beautiful sunrise every morning while driving to work, haha.

    Comment by Kelly | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. I share a similar opinion about breakfast – if you eat a lot the night before then you don’t really need to eat right away in the morning. Breakfast is about breaking a fast and if you snacked all night then the need to break the fast in the morning isn’t as necessary. Eating when you’re hungry is what’s most important, not eating because you’re “supposed” to.

    Comment by highonhealthy | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  8. It’s been sooo hard to get up. And even harder to be energetic all day. Hopefully we’ll adjust soon πŸ™‚

    Comment by lowandbhold | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. Wow…I could never skip breakfast. But my brother is like you…he usually doesn’t get hungry until around lunch time. Me…I wake up hungry! Even as a kid. I can remember waking up and eating breakfast before I would pee in the morning! Crazy huh??

    Comment by Kelly | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. thats awesome that you decided to focus on eating cleaner, and whole foods, where do you get this french medow bakery breads? have you tried ‘when pigs fly’ bread? it is awesome and simple ingredients, the bakery is in brookline right in btwn coolidge corner and washington sq on beacon st! sooo you are are sticking to clean foods, i guess I can’t tempt you with a trip to CHILL in clevland circle… (its a froyo place :))

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. I had to force myself to start eating breakfast. I used to wake up at 4:30 and not eat until almost 1pm! Once I started eating breakfast I was less moody and less bingy. Do what’s right for you though!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. that bread sounds so wonderful!

    I agree with MelissaNibbles about breakfast. While I usually ate breakfast growing up, it wasn’t until I ate the ‘right’ breakfast (ie: no poptarts, sugary cereals or toaster strudels!) that I wasn’t ravenous by night. Although, I still do have the tendency to overeat at night, it’s more mental than physical. But, also like she said, do what’s best for you!!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  13. The time change has been horrible for me! I can’t fall asleep and then I get snacky and then it’s a DRAG to get out of bed….it is a horrible cycle lol

    Comment by Mari | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  14. Oh I like the ‘cleaner foods’ approach! For me personally, I tend to binge on absolute shit – processed crap. If I have a block of really good chocolate in the house, it usually just sits there. Also, if I try to satisfy my binge with crappy processed food it just doesn’t work – it’s like I’m truly craving a slice of homemade cake but instead I fill that void with dougnuts and crackers. Maybe taking the ‘cleaner’ and ‘better quality’ approach will work well!

    Comment by Alice | March 17, 2010 | Reply

  15. i’m definitely a proponent of breakfast, but to each his/her own! i almost ate those same pretzels today but went with the NOO nuggets instead

    Comment by Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce | March 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

