Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Sweet Success

Dudes, I rocked my shopping trip yesterday. We both did actually. The day started off with a nice long walk on the beach. There was no wind and not a single cloud in sight. We also ran into a 3 month old black lab. Perfect.

Then it was mall time. We first hit up an outdoor shopping mall where I got three pair of shorts, shoes(I’m going through a yellow phase, a pair of pants, a long sleeve shirt, a short sleeve t-shirt and a kick ass skirt on sale from 70 to 15 bucks! Big fat score. I also got a pair of sunglasses and an awesome new chapstick. Everything all together cost= 135 bucks. CRAZY!

I saw this yesterday and it totally brought me back to my childhood.

They make the best flavors ever! My Lip Smacker collection was off the charts when I was a kid. Maybe that’s where my chap stick obsession came from.

See that monstrous size on the left? Those were so hip!

I was a Panera Bread virgin until yesterday, if you can believe it or not. We went for lunch and I got the greek salad with a whole wheat baguette slice. Since Lacey isn’t eating flour, I also ate her slice. But hers was white, and I ate it with butter. Twas good.

There was another woman taking a picture of her food and I wondered if she blogged…..

After lunch we had a little bench photo shoot.

We were determined to find a Gap since I had a 30% off coupon so we hit up another mall.  Unfortunately I spotted a dog  locked in a park car which really got me angry. Usually I’d call the cops but since the car was sort of parked in the shade with the windows down, I simply fed him  a bunch of ice cubes from my Starbucks iced tea. He was happy to chomp them up. We were in the mall for about ten minutes before we realized there wasn’t a Gap so we left and found the pup still there. I then chucked my whole cup of cubes in there for him to cool off with. People are a-holes.  Leave your dog at home if you want to shop.

One more shopping center later, we were both shopped out. My feet were literally aching. Have I mentioned that I hate J-Crew. I have a gift card there and I literally couldn’t fine one thing worth getting–even though it would be free.

We hit up a new restaurant for dinner called The British Beer Company. We sat out on the patio which was such a treat. I started with a decaf to warm up my insides a little bit.

I felt embarrassed when my order came because they were served on two huge plates. I ordered the hummus appetizer and a large house salad. It sure was large. The hummus platter came with veggies and pita wedges but they heavily grilled them in butter or oil which kind of annoyed me. There’s no need to f with perfectly good pita. I still ate them, of course.

I love you Shell!

It was around 9:30 by the time I arrived back to Boston. Len and I wanted some ice cream so we took a field trip to Shaws. I entered the freezers of hell only to notice a buy one get two free sale. I don’t know about you, but that bargain was way too good to pass up. We went into Shaws wanting peanut butter something so I picked up that flavor, plus Lens two favorites (which don’t entice me at all) strawberry and vanilla.

Don't judge.

peanut butter up in here.

After a nice night’s sleep and a morning trip to Starbs and the dog park, Len and I are off to shop for HIM. Oh the power of a friends and family coupon.  Breakfast was fruit salad (kiwi, banana, half pear, coconut) and lunch was egg salad.

Confession: I’ve been CRAVING meat like crazy, which is not like me. I almost caved.

March 21, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend

23 Comments »

  1. OMG, now that I think about it, I don’t think I ever have seen you eat meat since I’ve been following.. are you a vegetarian and I’m just a dummy for not knowing?!?

    Comment by Brittany | March 21, 2010 | Reply

    • not a dummy at all! I eat sea food every ONCE in a while. No chicken, pork, beef though.

      Comment by lpskins | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. That’s awful about the puppy locked in the car. And you hate JCrew?!? Umm I will buy your gift card from you! Seriously almost everything I own is from there.

    Comment by Kelly | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hey! I just founds your blog, and can really relate to your story! I can’t wait to read more about your journey 🙂

    Comment by grm3690 | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  4. I wish that I had been there to witness the ice cube/dog incident! That’s my girl!!! Can’t wait to see you next weekend 🙂

    Comment by Katelyn | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  5. I can’t stand whenI see dogs in cars I just called the cops last month on 2 dogs in the car GGGRRRRR

    Comment by Kelli | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  6. YAY!! I am so glad you had a fun shopping day!! And I totally agree about the dog…seriously leave the poor thing at home! UGH!

    Comment by Kelly | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  7. Awesome shopping day! Good work! 🙂

    And you weren’t cool in elementary school unless you had at least 3 or 4 different flavors of lip smackers with you at all times… that’s the truth.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  8. It looks like you had a great day! You are JUST like me when it comes to dogs! I do the same thing whenever I see a dog in need…one time I chased a dog in my car because he was wondering alone and I was trying to find his home.

    Comment by Mari | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  9. girl you cleaned up! i love those clothes…the sandals might be something i try to find here immediately 🙂

    Comment by Heather | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  10. I love how you gave that pup some icecubes, most people wouldn’t have even given it a second thought.

    Geesh, $135 for all that? You’re amazing! I love shopping and getting as much stuff for as little as possible. Sale racks? Adore them. Even if the stuff doesn’t look promising I’ll try something on and usually find something that ends up looking awesome.

    Comment by highonhealthy | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  11. Great shopping trip!!! J Crew is definitely a store that I either find 50 things that I want, or nothing.

    Love those yellow sandals!

    Comment by Anna | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  12. I love those shoes!! And all those salads. I’m guilty of bringing the pups along, but I never leave them for that long! Or w/o water!

    Comment by Lindsay | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  13. Oh my lanta, where was that fantastic Lip Smackers display?!

    Comment by Brittany | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  14. oh my gahh that ice cream LOOKS AMAZING! i adore panera too! what a GREAT shopping loop! J crew is sooo common around my college campus!

    Comment by kbwood | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  15. lip smacker! i admit i still have a few “flavors” in my makeup drawer.

    Comment by actorsdiet | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  16. ice creammmmm AHHH so good!! looks like you and your friend had the best time! I love outlet shopping…haha thats funny you saw someone else taking a pic of their food, I totally would have asked if she blogged too..I havent seen anyone else do that while I have been out!

    i cant believe you were a panera virgin! there is a great one in coolidge corner, however if were were to over go there together, i am taking you to jeruselem pita where they NEVER mess around with the pita 🙂

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  17. That was seriously the best day ever. I’m so glad you came down. I love all the stuff you got. Can’t wait to see you again…months from now 😦

    Love, Shell

    Comment by Lacey | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  18. i love those yellow sandals pictured! where are they from??

    Comment by mikaela | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  19. I dont think I’ve ever seen you wear shorts other then around the house or exercising.. I’m confused ~ but so proud of you!!!

    Um pretty sure we had a great Lip Smacker collection freshman year when we were in the dorms.. what was the name of that store??

    Comment by Lindsay | March 24, 2010 | Reply

    • they are bermuda shorts… they’re long. Hahah. you know me so well.

      Comment by lpskins | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  20. Uh, I’m 25 and I STILL wear Lip Smackers! Dr. Pepper all the way! It doubles as a subtle lipstick!

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

