Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Therapy

Mimi had me keep a food journal for the week–we laughed because much of the food in there is a kids dream. Mimi asked what happens when I don’t allow myself the cookies, candy, and other goodies I want. I couldn’t quite give her an answer because at this point I give in so easily, not allowing time to have that mental feud. I know how exhusting that fight can be so I’ve stopped fighting. My job for this week is to fight all my binge foods and sit with the feeling, documenting what happens internally. What is my mind saying? What happens inside my body? This should be interesting but I like where she is going with it. To an outsider, or as weight watchers says, ‘a civilian’,  this may seem so bizarre. After all, it’s just a simple cookie, right? Absolutely not. That cookie symbolizes a lot– now I just have to figure out what.

Len and I woke up at 4:3o  this morning to take Ellie out and saw that it was POURING! We made the executive decision to skip boot camp. I was totally bummed out when I woke at 7 and saw that it was raining, but not pouring as it had been. I’m feeling disappointed that we skipped because I’m sure the others stuck it out and it was only the second day. Oh well, no sense in holding onto the guilt. We are certainly not making a habit of it. Rain or shine tomorrow, we will be there.

Last night I ate Pad Thai again. I think we’ve had it once a week for three weeks now. I’m officially sick of it. I hope. No pictures to show.

What’s your favorite movie to watch on a rainy day? Mine is Catch and Release, Forces of Nature, Dan in Real Life and Girls Just Wanna Have Fun. HOWEVER, I could really go for Beaches. “On the boardwalk…”

March 23, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, dogs, eating disorder, Food, Self Discovery, The Boyfriend, therapy, Workout

22 Comments »

  1. Sex and the City.I could watch that movie over and over. And Dirty Dancing.

    Comment by Kelly | March 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I cannot wait till #2 come out in May!

      Comment by lpskins | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. I hope the journaling helps! I usually try to figure out what I “really” want but cave in. Let us know if you pick up any good habits or have tips to share!

    Comment by kilax | March 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I sure will Kim,

      Comment by lpskins | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. I LOVE Girls Just Wanna Have Fun and Dan in Real Life (I was pleasantly surprised by that one!). Lifetime movies are what call to me on rainy days 🙂

    Comment by Anna | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh- I just had flashbacks with Forces of Nature! ha ha… cute movie!

    I’m interested to hear about what you’ll find out about yourself in your journal… I like how this lady thinks… it’s interesting. Good luck to you!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. Aww, my all time favorite girl movie is G”irls Just Wanna Have Fun”. I love watching that and any action movie I can get my hands on.

    Comment by Nicci@NiftyEats | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  6. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun or Teen Witch….probably Teen Witch.

    Good luck with the journaling!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  7. i know what you mean about feeling guilty you didn’t work out. but just remember what you told me yesterday – “Pick you’re sweet ass up and continue with that progress. The journey will never be smooth– you’ve made some amazing steps. Keep on going sister! You can so so so do this. You can.”

    that same thing applies you, and we ALL believe in you!

    Comment by Heather | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’m so glad that I found your blog. It’s really interesting to me to read about the path you’re on to good health. I know I can learn from what you’re going through. I also can feel guilty when I don’t workout if I had planned to, and it’s good to read that you’re not going to dwell on it.

    I love “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”! My girlfriends and I watched it so many times in high school I could probably recite all the lines still! It’s so funny to see Helen Hunt, SJP, and all the others at such a young age and know where they are now! Love it!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m so embarrassed to admit this, but “Legends of the Fall” is my favorite movie to watch on a rainy day! I grab a box of tissues and literally sob for three hours straight. I love it.

    Comment by Olivia | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  10. Message in a Bottle, Taken, Into the Blue, and a new favorite is Julie and Julia. 🙂

    Comment by Kimberley | March 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Taken was freaky!!! Don’t think I’d watch that more than once. Julie and Julia was awesome.

      Comment by lpskins | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  11. Hmmmm don’t laugh but I would have to say Adventures in Babysitting! AND SATC Episodes =)

    Comment by Mari | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  12. Um, do I even have to tell you my favorite rainy day movie is Titanic? Or any day, really.

    Hope the food journaling helps!!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  13. Waitress, Under The Tuscan Sun, Father of the Bride, Where the Heart Is…hum…I definitely see a chick flck theme going here!!

    I hope the food journaling this week helps. Hopefully it will definitely be eye opening! I am rooting for you!! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  14. I can’t wait to hear how this goes. Going there and being with the discomfort is when change happens.

    Comment by Christie {Honoring Health} | March 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m pretty scared of the discomfort.

      Comment by lpskins | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  15. Lifetime is perfect for a rainy day. Too bad they only play movies on Saturdays and Sundays now…

    Comment by Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  16. You know about my love affair with Catch and Release….I also really enjoy Because I Said So on those gloomy days. Those are 2 of the 5 movies I actually own!

    Comment by Ali | March 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I LOVE Because I Said So. We’re so cheesy.

      Comment by lpskins | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  17. […] of Review in Therapy In therapy last week, we made two goals to focus […]

    Pingback by Week of Review in Therapy « Goodies Galore | March 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

