Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Good recipe up in here

Since I’ve been cutting back on desserts/sugary snacks this week, I’ve been trying to integrate sweet into my meals. Last night I made a couscous salad and it turned out really well.

I cup dry whole wheat couscous

1 package mushrooms

1 apple-diced

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1 tbsp olive oil

1-2 cups balsamic vinegar.

SauteeΒ sliced mushrooms and diced apple in olive oil while water is boiling for couscous.

When water is at a boil, dump in cup couscous which will automatically soak up all the water

dump mushroom, apple and cranberries into the pot and let sit a lowest heat.

Pour vinegar into separate pot and let boil until it reduces down dramatically. Sauce should be thick and smell really sweet. Β It takes a lot of vinegar to make a little bit of reduction. When sauce is done, dump into pot of couscous,etc and stir. Done and Done.

Simple and SO SO tasty. It serves 3 -4 good size portions.

I paired the couscous salad with a veggie burger and it was a great dinner. Next time I’ll probably add another veggie to the mix such as spinach or broccoli.

Yesterdays breakfast was simple but I sort of felt like a perv eating it. Peanut butter spread on a low carb wrap wrapped around a banana. I like to call it, Penis in a Blanket.

Don't pretend that you wouldn't have thought that too.

Today was our last day of booty for the week! Having Len on board makes it a million times easier to get up in the morning and get out the door. It’s such a welcomed change. Today we did a lot of sprints and upper body. I literally have ZERO arm muscle so the exercises are SO hard. We used bands the whole time and worked our shoulders, back, and triceps (I think). I felt the burn, for sure.

Upon arriving home I immediately wanted eggs and ketchup. Not sure which one sounded better! This whole egg kick that I’m on is SO not like me. I’m telling you, eggs are such creepy little things but for some reason I’m loving them this week. I hope this obsession sticks around because I definitely need more protein in my life. A light english muffin with butter was also enjoyed. Butter is not something I struggle with and 99.9 percent of the time don’t use. This morning was just plain strange.

You should know that I passed on ice cream the last two nights and didn’t go near the bins of hell yesterday at my internship. I feel better already.

P.S. Do you guys have one boob bigger than the other? My left one is definitely bigger.

March 25, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, eating disorder, Food, running, Self Discovery, The Boyfriend, Workout

23 Comments »

  1. oh lins, you goof- penis in a blanket- LOVE IT!

    Comment by jessdownes | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. Haha penis in a blanket, nice! Yeah one boob is def bigger than the other.

    Comment by Kelly | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. BAHAHA…i was totally thinking that too! i don’t think that i have a noticeably larger boob, but i wouldn’t be surprised!

    Comment by Heather | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. My boobs are so small that it’s really hard to tell either way. True story. But I think when I was a little “curvier” (aka hello freshmen 15), my right was bigger.

    I used to love eggs and ketchup. Why is that such a wonderful creation? And who came up with it??? Too bad I’m not so much a fan of ketchup anymore…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. Whole wheat condom!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. Penis in a blanket…I just don’t know what to say.

    πŸ™‚

    I’m like Amy– they’re too damn small to tell one way or the other.

    Comment by Anna | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. My right boob is VISIBLY bigger than my left.
    Proud of you for not hittin’ those bins! We should be giving our children healthy snacks anyway

    Comment by Brittany | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. Haha, my boobs are definitely 2 different sizes. The BF says he can’t tell but I think he’s lying πŸ™‚ Penis in a Blanket…your dirty mind just made physics lecture a hell of a lot funnier.

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. WOW what a great recipe!! hahah my left one is FOR REAL bigger!

    Comment by kbwood | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  10. That couscous sounds great! I am a BIG fan of adding in dried fruits and nuts to my grains! As for the boobs…mine are pretty even…both are REALLY small! haha!

    Comment by Kelly | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  11. Mmm couscous salad. Seriously anything with balsamic vinegar is amazing in my book πŸ™‚ Oddly enough I don’t think my boobs are are differently sized… maybe I just don’t stare at mine enough πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Kristie | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  12. Great job getting up and working out! My boobs were 2 very different sizes, I am told a difference is perfectly normal to be a little uneven. No one is perfect!

    Comment by Jacqui | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  13. hahahahaha!! Your blog cracks me up! πŸ˜‰ I love penises in blankets!! haha! *blush*

    I think my boobs are equal, but I have heard it’s normal to have them be different sizes.

    Comment by homecookedem | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  14. hahaah i LOVE your random comments, cracks me up

    umm i think my gals are similar in size, meaning they are both almost non exsistant πŸ™‚

    wow passing up the ice cream (was one of the pass ups, my invite that I askedyou yesterday ;)) haha juuust kidding!!

    penis in a blanket looks so good!

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  15. Oh wow, I MUST try that couscous salad, it sounds right up my alley!
    And uh, pretty sure anyone with a working BRAIN would have thought “penis” when they saw your brekkie, so you’re not a perv, hehe πŸ˜‰
    Also: I thiiiink my left boob surpasses my right boob in the size department. But I could be getting that backwards. Damned mirrors.

    πŸ˜€

    Comment by Beth | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  16. OMG- Linds, love the name for delish breakfast, thanks for the laugh & smile

    Comment by Debra | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  17. my right boob is wayyyyy bigger than my left.

    good for you for staying away from the bins…i’ve done pretty good lately too, intuively eating. i’m still down my 10 pounds, but i need to step it up a bit to lose some more!

    keep up with the booty!

    Comment by jenn graves | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  18. HAhaha! Yes! I think we all do. πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  19. Bahaha @ penis in a blanket. You are hilarious girl.

    My girls are a little bit mismatched too. Seems to be the norm? Much how guys have different sized balls – since we’re on the topic of private parts.

    Comment by Alice | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  20. “penis in a blanket” I seriously almost choked laughing.

    Comment by Allyson | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  21. Funny you bring it up.. we had this convo at the bar on friday night. Most girls have one boob bigger than the other and the general consensus with the boys is that its always the left..

    Comment by Lindsay | March 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

