Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Brunch and bogus diet soda

Hey friends and family! It was so wonderful going to bed last night knowing we didn’t have to wake up for booty. I slept like a baby and I’m pretty sure Len has been sleeping better already too. Since starting boot camp, I’ve definitely been waking up hungry and ready to eat. I put off breakfast for a couple of hours this morning while I did some laundry and some other business. Our fridge is  a sad sight so I pulled together what I could for brunch. Since I’ll be at school from 11:30 to 4:30, I made a bigger and more satisfying meal to hold me over. I’m not even sure that we have anything for snacks either but I’ll figure something out.

French Meadow Hemp bagel with two scrambled eggs.

I was very excited to see what this hemp bagel was all about. Let me tell ya, it looks, smells and tastes healthy. Not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing. I will eat this bagel without guilt because it has great stats and is made from good ingredients but the taste is sort of compromised. I added peanut butter to one side and butter to the other.

I realize that you can’t actually read that but trust me–jam-packed with fiber, protein, etc.

Don’t expect to see a single veggie today since we have none in the house. Damn.

YESTERDAYS EATS:

Hummus, lettuce and carrot sandwich with an orange for lunch

Classes at night so I packed left over couscous salad, almonds and a diet crush

I was totally disappointed to see that diet Crush is not diet at all. The second ingredient was high fructose corn syrup??!!!! I was shocked and appalled. Give it to me in a brownie or a whoopee pie but not in a diet soda.  It also had about 40 calories. You all know that I’m not a big soda drinker. Most of the time its water and coffee so when I have soda I really enjoy it. I’ve mentioned before that I cannot stand drinking calories (rather eat em) so I had a few sips and tossed it. How rude Crush. Won’t be buying that again. What I would buy is Diet Strawberry. Yum…. does that exist?

By the time I got home from class, I was hungry again so I had two bowls of veggies.

Cabbage and vinegar=farts

Ketchup with a side of potatoes

———}

On the side of the bowl is some hummus, i case you’re concerned

Off to class. After this week I only have 4 weeks left of classes and one week of finals! Thank you lord. So over it!

What are you all up to this weekend?

March 26, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, Food, French Meadow, The Boyfriend

10 Comments »

  1. I usually try to avoid calories in beverages unless it’s alcohol. Going on a date with my bf tonight, can’t wait!

    Comment by Kelly | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. I fell for “diet” crush too! They have it in our office, and I was so pissed when I saw that it has calories. I know 40 cals ain’t a big deal, but I still think it’s false advertising 🙂

    Comment by Anna | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. this all looks rather tasty

    Comment by kseverny | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. mmmmmm…LOVE potatoes and ketchup (in that order…teehee :)) we are skiing this weekend and otherwise just resting! hope your friday is awesome!

    Comment by Heather | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oh my gosh, I had no idea that diet crush had calories????? Diet soda is not supposed to have calories… 😦 Very rude, Diet Crush!!

    Comment by homecookedem | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. I know, how crazy is that?! I couldn’t believe it either when I saw Diet Crush had calories. Although, if you’re looking for calorie-free orange soda, Diet Sunkist has 0. I did some of my own investigating! Haha.

    Comment by Melissa | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  7. I remember finding out that diet Crush had calories and HFCS, and being appalled too. Aspartame is enough, but nasty sugar too?! Haha, sounds like we’re all a bunch of diet soda lovers 🙂 Happy Friday!!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. I don’t like drinking my calories either! And I’ve heard that about Diet Crush before…Diet Sunkist is pretty good and that’s “real” diet soda.

    Comment by Lo-Jo | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  9. i’ve been wanting to try those hemp bagels! they look good.

    Comment by actorsdiet | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  10. I like your description of the hemp bagels! The certainly do sound intruiging. But it’s never good when taste is compromised for health. 😦

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

