Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I want to kick the Easter Bunny in the ass.

Hi! Bad news— I’ve been in sugar coma for the last four days and haven’t been in the mood for blogging. I swear, eating like shit takes a toll on me. It all started on Friday night with craisons and a handful of lemon cookies. It ended last night with a bowl of cocoa crispies. Oy. I’ve been super disappointed in myself and feel like a big fat manatee. The good news is that I went a solid 10 days without a pastry binge and today is a new day. Len and I totally skipped booty yesterday but went this morning and I feel 100 times better already. Mimi said that the idea is that binges become less frequent, and less intense. They won’t just stop cold turkey.

The weekend was really nice. I spent Friday night with my mom, nana, bran and bf. Saturday I went for a 3 miler, then headed to my dad and girlfriends place for a cookout. There was so much food so I basically ate all day and night. How do people sit in front of a table of food and not pcik? My friend Ashley and her husband came over so it was great seeing them. Sunday, Len and I went to Starbucks for the morning and met tons and tons of people who wanted to play with Ellie. We had dinner (lunch) with mom and nan then headed back to Boston.  It was great to spend time with family and friends but I wish I had eaten better.

My mom did hide most of the candy from me (thanks ma) but I know where all the hiding spots are– chocolate cream filled eggs on top of china cabinet, chocolate mini eggs in the cabinet by fridge, dark chocolate in freezer, m&ms in the dining room. I did not find the jelly beans though and that’s what I really wanted!

Here are some of the many, fabulous eats from the weekend.

kick ass salad, fake chicken, corn

chips with salsa, guacamole, hummus

veggies/dip, cheese/crackers

Bean dip (SO good) and chips

Colored eggs!

Easter bag with CRAISONETTES!

veggie burger, salads of sorts

Chocolate covered strawberries made by my bff Ash

14 different flavors of cheesecake. I had chocolate cherry

Easter dinner--ravioli, salad and garlic bread. Mom skips the ham since I don't eat it.

Ellie’s eye got worse over the course of Friday so I brought her to the vet Saturday morning. Turns out she has Cherry Eye, which is common in bulldogs. She may have to get surgery for it. Boo!

Look how cute these bowls are! The Easter bunny totally knows my taste.

April 6, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

28 Comments »

  1. Easter weekend looked like it was amazing!
    I have to say thank you SO much I got my book today!! I can’t wait to dive right into it! Thank you so much, I’d love to send something back as thanks!

    Comment by Brittany | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh god, no! You do enough by reading my blog. Sorry it took forever to get to you.

      Comment by lpskins | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. 10 days no binge nice!

    those bowls are SO cute! and omg that cheesecake!! ahh so so so good!!!!

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Those chip and dip bowls are just adorable! LOVE them.

    I don’t like ham either. Usually I starve on Easter. But this year was nice because we only had ham during brunch… so there were better dinner options for me this year! 🙂

    Glad you’re out of the sugar coma… I got hit pretty hard on the drive back to Chicago. Because I wasn’t lying when I said I ate so much of it RIGHT before I left because I knew I wasn’t taking it with me… lame.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh my god, I would have eaten every single piece of that cheesecake. It is my fav thing eva! Sorry about Ellie’s eye!

    Comment by Kelly | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  5. Is that a Sam Adams Cherry Wheat I see? That is one of my favorite beers ever. You have excellent taste. I am sorry that you are feeling like a manatee, but I find your choice of mammal slightly humorous! Manatees are adorable and so are you, so it doesn’t have to be a negative thing at all. Keep working on the why’s of the binges. Baby steps are the most annoying things in the world, but they actually add up eventually.
    Glad boot camp made you feel better. Working out always does wonders for me, too.

    Comment by Astrid | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  6. Poor Ellie 😦
    I’m sorry you had such a bad weekend, but there’s no point in looking back at this point. Have a great week!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  7. that’s no fun that you binged and felt like crap, but I’m glad that it’s becoming less frequent! the food DOES look amazing though 🙂 keep hanging in there, you DESERVE to be happy with yourself!

    Comment by Heather | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  8. 10 days with no binge is a BIG accomplishment!! Be proud, sista! And you’re right– today is a new day!

    Comment by Anna | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  9. what a beautiful array of colors!

    Comment by actorsdiet | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hang in there honey…I am sorry the weekend wasn’t the greatest food wise. But I liked your comment that today is a new day! Totally true! And think…you went 10 days! 10 days!!! That is awesome! Focus on the postives okay??

    Comment by Kelly | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  11. I can’t sit in front of food and not pick either. One thing that I’ve found works is to tell someone that I’m full and done eating. Then I feel silly for eating more!! Way to go on the 10 days…I didn’t understand Mimi’s last plan, but I see the logic behind binges gradually becoming less intense. Hope you have a great day love!!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  12. I failed over Easter weekend too. It’s just so hard when there are tempting treats everywhere. Oh well. You just have to dust yourself off and get back to the grind.

    My boxer has cherry eye too. It’s gross.

    Comment by Becky | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  13. Oh my gosh I had no idea they made craisinettes!!!!! I must find them!!

    I know it’s for me not to binge, esp on holidays when lots of yummy food is within reach. But you’re doing the right thing, picking yourself up and getting right back at it.

    Comment by homecookedem | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  14. CRAISONETTES?!?! Dear goodness gracious I need to find these now.

    I can’t not eat when I’ve got food in front of me – that’s why restaurants with chip/bread baskets that get refilled are just not good for me!

    Comment by Kristie | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  15. Let’s not go into my easter weekend either! I think I got diabetes from Easter brunch alone!

    Oh, and I just came across this today…I also deal with binge eating disorder, and was wondering if you caught this all over the interwebs today?

    http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/2010-04-06-bingeeating05_ST_N.htm?csp=34&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+usatoday-NewsTopStories+(News+-+Top+Stories)

    I ordered the book. I can’t believe I haven’t read this one before. Seems worth checking into.

    Comment by Lo-Jo | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey, I’ll check the link out now. Thanks so much!

      Comment by lpskins | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  16. It is a new day! Glad you got to boot camp this morning and are feeling better!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  17. Hey love!!!!!! I get the same way when I eat sugar…I tend to feel like crap when I am done and beat myself up about it. Today is a new day honey and you get to press “reset”

    Comment by Mari | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  18. I thought you ate very well this weekend. Were you hiding in the closet and eating sweets because I seriously didn’t see it. I didn’t even buy dessert because you asked me not too. I can’t believe you’re feeling so bad about yourself; I thought you looked fantastic and beautiful as ever!!!

    Comment by mom | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Friday night I ate cookies with Len and a slice of that chocolate cake. I ate cheesecake and seven million chocolate strawberries on sat night (at dads) and then on sunday night i ate a bunch of candy. Monday I ate like shit all day.

      You did a great job keeping things away at the house and thank you for not buying dessert! cococo

      Comment by lpskins | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  19. ^your mom sounds awesome.

    It’s a hard concept to grasp, isn’t it – binging may still happen, and that’s ok, and it will be less frequent and intense. Someone said to me once, “you will binge again, and that’s ok” and it was like..whoa. I sort of felt at peace with it?

    As long as it’s not fortnightly, I think I’ve accepted a binge will happen here and there.

    Comment by Alice | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  20. You’re right. Today is a new day, and your week is behind you. 🙂

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  21. It’s interesting about what self perception can do to us. When I read what you write on your blog (and don’t see your picture) I have a picture in my head of a very plain looking, overweight girl (who is very funny). But then I see any and all pictures of you that you post and you are absolutely gorgeous and don’t look THE slightest bit overweight! You have a beautiful smile, glowing skin, and are just all around so, so pretty! I wanted you to know that from a stranger who doesn’t know you and doesn’t have the need to humor you or lie to you. I honestly think our own perceptions of ourselves, especially as women, can be completely warped. You are really beautiful! I wouldn’t bother to comment that if I didn’t mean it. Keep your head up! You are funny, smart, in a field of work that shows what a giving person you are, and truly beautiful inside and out!

    Comment by Kristen | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Kristen, thank you so much for taking the time to be so kind. I wished I could have sent you an appreciative email but it’s not listen on here. You truly just made my day. Thank you.

      Comment by lpskins | April 7, 2010 | Reply

  22. I agree with Kristen. You are beautiful inside and out as I’ve told you many times before. I pray one day YOU will believe it.

    Comment by mom | April 7, 2010 | Reply

  23. 10 days no binge is GREAT!!! Congrats! You should be proud of yourself for all the hard work you are doing…therapy sucks and is hard hard work.

    Also, those strawberries look delish!!

    And also, what exactly is cherry eye? (poor Ellie!)

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | April 7, 2010 | Reply

  24. So sorry to hear about Ellie, but glad you know what it is now. Keep us updated on her! Great job for 10 days with no pastry binge!!

    Comment by Jacqui | April 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

