Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Weights and I don’t jive.

Dudes, your comments from yesterdays post regarding passing gas were really funny. I will be sure to read those again next time I have a bad day. Thanks for being so open–majority of you do in fact fart in front of your partner. I’m sorry, but farts will NEVER get old. As a matter of fact, a little nine-year old totally ripped one yesterday in group when it was complete silence. I had to do everything possible NOT to laugh and I definitely didn’t pull it off. I must have been making a weird face in the process because one of the kids said, “It was you!!” as he pointed at me. I wanted to scream, ” No no! It was him!” and point at the real culprit but that wouldn’t be right.  Ahh, good times.

Last night I went out to dinner at Miracle of Science in Cambridge with a friend I used to work with. We made a date forever ago and I totally forgot till she sent me a text. I rushed out the door and forgot my camera which totally sucked because the place was so unique. They don’t even have menus! I ordered two veggie kabobs with tortillas, mint slaw and bean salad. Two beers were enjoyed.  I also had two mini scones from Starbucks and a chocolate egg. Yum, yum.

Thursdays are my long days so I packed some random foods to snack on throughout the day. I didn’t do my homework that’s due tonight which is a big bummer but how am I supposed to get things done when there are only 5 more weeks of school??? It’s an impossible task! Here are some of the goodies in my lunch bag.

veggies with hummus, pineapple, string cheese and nuts (which I should portion out

wrap with laughing cow, mustard and lettuce for lunch, pb&j on bagel thin for dinner, pineapple chobani.

Today completed the third week of boot camp so we only have one more week left. I’m totally bummed about it and want to do it again but it’s SO expensive.  We have a really small group so it’s been fun getting to know everyone. The weather this morning was absolutely perfect! Sunny and breezy.

Off to face the day!

I need some workout tips– How do you balance out cardio and strength training? I feel like strength training is so boring but I really need to start doing it on my own.

April 8, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, Food, Friends, fun, Graduate School, Workout

19 Comments »

  1. That boot camp sounds awesome…have you noticed any differences in muscle tone, strength etc.?

    Looks like a great arsenal of eats 🙂

    Comment by Anna | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. That boot camp does sound awesome, I totally need help in the lifting department, I never want to do it. Usually I try to throw in a few arm exercises like pushups and bicep curls when I do abs, other than that I got no advice, sorry!

    Comment by Kelly | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. I wish I had good tips for you on how to balance weights and cardio…but i’m so bad about it myself. It was one of my goals this year to start doing strength training…yea…4 months in…still none.

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. What about looking into the P90X program?!

    Comment by Kelly | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m rocking out the veggies and hummus combo today for lunch, too. Still feeling the holiday hangover… blah!

    Yeah, I’m lazy with the weights. I think that’s kind of why I became obsessed with The Shred- Jillian kind of makes you do them and before you know it, you’re done!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. There’s a series of iphone apps called FitVideo which I’ve heard were good. There’s one specifically designed for women.

    I can’t say that I’m good with it either. After I’m done on the eliptical or have been on a run, I sometimes do 50-100 situps and do a few reps on my arms with 5 lbs weights. Nothing major though.

    Comment by Deana | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. i just make a schedule and try to stick to it, doing cardio 5-6 times a week and strength training 3-4 times a week. it also helps that i’ve posted it on my blog because then i feel like i need to do it or else i’m a liar…i don’t know, works for me!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’ve started doing 3 days of cardio and 3 days of strength training in between. I don’t belong to a gym and certainly don’t have the motivation to just lift by myself, so I do workout DVD’s like the 30 day shred, jackie warner’s 40 min. power circuit, and jillian michael’s no more trouble zones.

    Have a good day!! Enjoy that pineapple chobani!! Yummm!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. I got resistance bands and literally do little basic toning moves in my own home SOUNDS LAME I KNOW but it works your muscles and will get you long and lean. Here’s the site where I learned all my moves 🙂
    http://www.sportsinjuryclinic.net/strengthening/resistancebands.php

    Comment by Brittany | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hmm I just left a comment but it didn’t go through, if I did though i’ll look silly writing again but

    I use resistance bands at home! they will work your muscles and get you nice and lean. here’s the site where I learned the exercises
    http://www.sportsinjuryclinic.net/strengthening/resistancebands.php

    Comment by Brittany | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. I balance cardio and strength by doing a long cardio every other day and the days in between, I will do 10-15 minutes warm up cardio, a strength circuit with hand weights. Fitnessista has some awesome strength training routines, as does carrots n cake. But go ahead and choose moves that make you feel good. Then I end with 15-20 minutes of cardio. I love how strength training feels. For abs, I always do planks!

    Comment by Astrid | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  12. Have you checked out 30 Day Shred by Jillian Michaels, it’s strength and cardio =)

    When I go to the gym, I usually start with cardio and then I do 20-30 minutes of toning…

    Comment by Mari | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  13. Lmao.. that kid comment was awesome. I probably would have pointed out the culprit just so people wouldn’t blame me for breaking the silence.

    I wish I could help you with balancing cardio and strength but I’m having a difficult time with it too. I’m not sure what it is but I would much rather do cardio than strength even though I really want to get some muscle. I am, however, finding that if I write my workouts down and see how much more cardio I’m doing, it helps me to do strength. If that makes sense.

    Comment by highonhealthy | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  14. I do 3 days of cardio, 3 days of strength w/light cardio. I follow the Body For Life strength training plan. It’s fun, easy and fast. Jillian Michaels and Jackie Warner’s dvds are favorites of mine as well and are similar to the BFL plan.

    I’ve never been to that science place. My boyfriend and I should go seeing as we’re scientists!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  15. That little kid sounds like my OLDER brother. He’s mature, haha.

    I’m not a fan of weights either. They’re so boring!! I do them anyways because I know it’s important, but I’d much rather cardio. Hope you’re having a great night!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  16. Honestly, I only really got into strength training once I STOPPED doing little ‘routines’ and ‘moves’, and girly stuff (am no way saying any commenters on here do girly stuff though!!). Once I started picking up the barbells and the free weights, I enjoyed it so much more. You feel a little bad ass with barbells and free weights, which helps I think. Personally I find things like un-weighted strength moves better for cardio.

    I have a ton of old routines I’ve done/still do…if you want one email me! I can squat my bodyweight – these routines work!

    Comment by Alice | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  17. ^ shite just realised you’re not with a gym. No worries, I have other stuff you can do without equipment 🙂

    Comment by Alice | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  18. ummm hi, im a trainer…lets meet and I can set you up on a workout programmmm?!?!?!

    i LOVe strength training, the key is having a program that is fun and challenging but not so challenging that you never want to do it You should look forward to working out when you go to teh gym, so having a program will help you stay motivated and focused!

    AHH you forgot the camera!! so sad…I guess i’ll just have to go and try it for myself!!

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | April 9, 2010 | Reply

  19. I have been bad about the gym lately…why go sit inside to workout when it’s so pretty. Somehow this logic doesn’t translate over when I am taking my daily afternoon naps…. hmmm

    Comment by Lindsay | April 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

