Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Not just for Thanksgiving.

Saturday = best day of the week! Love, love, love it!!! Spring has been kind to us so far and it seems like this weekend will be no different. I don’t have any plans this weekend other than a run today and tomorrow, taxes and school work.  Last night Len and I had date night planned so he made dinner and we watched Up in The Air. I fell asleep within half hour so I’m not sure how it was. I do know that dinner was inspired by Thursday nights Marriage Ref. Green bean casserole anyone? There were no eyeballs or mysterious meat in it but good nonetheless.  Len was in charge of picking up the ingredients and putting it together. Typically I don’t let him make dinner because I like control in the kitchen but I decided to let it go and enjoy a meal by my man. Those french fried onions are SO good but you can literally taste the lard on them. With that description you’d think they taste terrible but not so much. We had a sweet potato on the side topped with REAL maple syrup.

Before dinner I had an apple chip appetizer brought home by Lenny. They were so good and I ate the whole 2.5 servings bag. Oops!! There was no way I could have put that bag down.

Despite my sugary, salty and fatty dinner, I still managed to drop half a pound. I know it’s not much but if we think back to last weekend, I didn’t exactly have the cleanest week of eating so I’ll take it.

Yesterdays lunch consisted of a wrap I’ve been making for the last two days– 100 calories Lavish bread, laughing cow, lots of arugula and beautiful avocado. So good. String cheese and cauliflower with hummus were eaten at lunch.

Now that's gorgeous

Pile on the peppery arugula

I ended up replacing the popcorn and apple for a lemon cookie. So worth it. Lemon is such an underrated flavor.

The past two mornings also consisted of smoothies– almond mill, frozen berries, spinach and either strawberry or vanilla protein powder. I bragged about how good they are at work but everyone promised to take my word for it. I can understand since they don’t look very appetizing. No pictures though, sorry!

I caught up on an interesting Oprah yesterday about sex habits of couples. One couple hadn’t had sex in 2.5 years and the other couple only had sex when the woman bartered for it. “You pick up the house and I’ll have sex with you” type of thing. She also hated the idea of kissing, though this only started once she had kids. Obviously, they had their deeper issues going on but we won’t bother with those right now.

Are you happy with your sex life? Unfortunately I’ve never been someone who desired lots of sex so I definitely need to step it up in that area. I admire those people who need it and really have a craving for it on a regular basis.

Enjoy your day and have some sex!

April 10, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Graduate School, Green Monster, Movies, running, Self Discovery, Weigh In

9 Comments »

  1. our sex life died when i got pregnant with my first kid. i think i was traumatized with being pregnant and put negative feelings on sex because of it. i need to step it up in that area too :/

    Comment by jenn graves | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. haha…great question! I am happy with my sex life although I am sure Keith (being the boy) would probably want it more! Not to give too much information but we are probably good for 2-3 times a week. I have no idea if that is average or not but it works for us! haha!!

    Comment by Kelly | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. girl, i can’t put apple chips down either…they’re just so good! i would say that at this moment in time we are both happy with our sex life, but there have definitely been times where we’ve had to work at it before!

    Comment by Heather | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh how funny. My boyfriend and I have been having “issues” that cause me to not desire sex at all. We’ll go by for a week or two and sometimes more. I used to crave it all the time, and now it doesn’t cross my mind as much. We definitely need to work on this, and we are, it’s just tough. I feel like its expected from me and I’m the one who needs to step it up, which makes me not want to! Ah, the irony. You have quite the way of bringing up personal issues and making people want to talk about them!

    Comment by Astrid | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. They sell those apple chips at my grocery store and I ate a whole bag every day for about a month…so good! It’s funny, I’m actually the more aggressive one in the sex department, which is really saying something when you’re dating a twenty-year old college kid. My mom has gotten drunk and let it slip that she’s pretty sexual too, which is so not something I needed to hear, but at least it explains why my friends think I’m a freak of nature in that department.

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. I am definitely one those of those people you admire. And it sucks big time since there are no available men within a 50 mile radius of where I’m at. (I’m not kidding, EVERYONE here is married or engaged). Hence another reason I can’t wait to get back home!!

    And let me know when you’ll be in Yardley this summer! I’ll be back in June and July actually for long weekends and then for good in August!

    Comment by Olivia | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  7. My sister makes the best Green Bean Casserole! I have to ask her to make some =)

    My sex life is non existant at the moment….sad SAD panda!

    Comment by Mari | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  8. My sex life is good but i’m we’re both so busy with work and school sometimes sleep definitely takes precedent.. and it definitely comes in waves. Some weeks it will be 2 or 3 times and other weeks it will be at least once sometimes twice a day!

    Comment by Brittany | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  9. I am definitely not happy with my sex life since I haven’t had sex since January. Then again, the person I usually have sex with is just a friend with benefits and he is currently too far away. When we lived nearer though the sex was great! I’m the kind of person who could have sex every day and I don’t like not living near my friend.
    I realize that my comment may sound a bit skanky but I’m really not. For reals.

    Comment by highonhealthy | April 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

