Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Seriously good eats

Dear Sunday,

Please take forever to pass by. I do not want to face Monday.

Thanks,

Lindsay

Hey friends! Yesterday Len and I went for a three-mile run and I tested out my new heart rate monitor. Melissa sold me hers on the cheap and it made running much more exciting. I haven’t exactly figured out what it all means but gadgets make me feel like a real runner. All I know is that my average heart rate was 172 and my highest hr was 192. I was only “in the zone” for 4 minutes.  Is this good or bad? I also wore my new sneaks for the run and they felt great the whole time. I had been a slave to Nike because of the iPod chip but bought a little holder for it instead. As far as I could tell, it was accurate.

Last night we went to our friends house for a relaxing night of food and good conversation. The night started off with bruschetta and wine. I had a bunch of those bad boys because they were freaking good!

Matt bought a new grill that Len couldn’t stop drooling over. If we had a backyard I would love to buy one for him but our neighborhood is sketchy. The new grill worked hard to cook up ribs, chicken and a lonely vegetable burger. The chicken and veggie burger topped a lovely salad with goat cheese, pine nuts and homemade dressing.

Moo

Dessert. Oh dessert. Strawberry shortcake with warmed biscuits.

Lunch was awesome! Smoothie and a huge salad with veggie burger, hummus, avocado and hot sauce. It help me over for over five hours.

Can we talk about how annoying taxes are? The good news is that I got a refund which will either go towards another month of boot camp or our trip  to  Nashville.

By the way, I totally lied and told you guys I’m a 36DD. I forgot that I’m a 36D. Scratch off that extra D.

April 11, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

19 Comments »

  1. you weren’t kidding, these are SERIOUSLY good eats. 🙂 and i’m a massive fan of your letter to sunday at the beginning!

    Comment by Heather | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. Omg, that dessert looks heavenly!! I agree Sunday, you better go by very sllllooooowly!!

    Comment by homecookedem | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. I agree, Sunday can last as loooooooong as it wants. Especially since I may be working 11 hours tomorrow. Boo!

    Nice HRM! I’m seriously considering getting one too. I have no idea what my HR is and I also want to track my pace and stuff.

    Comment by highonhealthy | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. The dessert looks wonderful!
    I’m so glad the hr monitor worked for you. I hope you figure out all the fun tricks 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. Drooling all over that bruschetta and your DESSERT. I WANT SOME!! Glad you had a fun Saturday night, enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. I keep seeing this desserts this morning in blog world. I now want dessert. Great salad with veggie burger.

    Comment by Nicci | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  7. DD and D are a big difference! not that i would know.

    Comment by actorsdiet | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  8. those honkers are huge… how are you not a DD?

    Comment by Lindsay | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  9. I think they put “the zone” at a lower average, but with running even when I feel like I’m taking it easy my average HR is usually too high to be in it. So I say it doesn’t matter, but then again all I’m going on is me ;).

    I love smoothies in beer cups… I do it all the time :).

    Comment by cookeatburn | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  10. Let’s pretend monday doesn’t exist. I’d be cool with that…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  11. I wish Sunday had gone by slowly, but it didn’t 😦

    Time difference sucks haha, I’m jealous that it’s Sunday there because I have an assignment due today!!

    Amy
    xx

    Comment by amylouisemc | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  12. Looks like a fun night! That bruschetta looks amazing!

    Comment by lowandbhold | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  13. LOL we could be running buddies! I also use a Polar for my HR and Nike+ in a pouch =)

    Ha thanks for the boob correction lol…

    I hope Monday takes its time getting here =)

    that bruschetta looks delish!

    Comment by Mari | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  14. Um, that strawberry shortcake looooks so yummy!!!

    also, i wish sunday was still going…but sadly, just 1ish hour left. 😦

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  15. haha…36D is still big you lucky girl! haha!

    Comment by Kelly | April 12, 2010 | Reply

  16. warm biscuits and whipped cream!! AHHH I LOVE WHIPPED CREAM!! seriously will squirt it in my mouth from the can happily 🙂

    glad you had a nice weekend girlieeeeee

    Comment by Naomi(onefitfoodie) | April 12, 2010 | Reply

  17. Holy strawberry shortcake. I WANT that.

    Comment by Anna | April 12, 2010 | Reply

  18. What brand of hr monitor is that?? I’m in the market for one and also…you can use the nike ipod chip in a holder???

    Comment by nutmeghan84 | April 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Polar hr monitor. Yes! I bought the holder at a sneaker shop and it actually works!!! Nike will not have control anymore.

      Comment by lpskins | April 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

