Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Food, food, blah, blah, blah.

First, let’s recap some eats from the past couple of days and get that out-of-the-way.

left over GB casserole and eggplant parm healthy style.

Kick ass wrap with spinach, peppers, avocado and soy meatballs in vinegar.

yogurt with raw oats

Fart Pellets

pb and banana bagel thin

Side note- you must boil Udon noodles, not just stick in wok.

light Cake Batter ice cream. Ridonk.

Good stuff.

Now onto the important stuff….

Seriously guys, I am truly sick of talking about food, thinking about food, eating too much of the stuff–you get the idea. I just want to be NORMAL! I was so not in the mood for therapy this morning. If guilt didn’t exist, I wouldn’t have shown up. Yes, I wrote in my damn food journal. Yes, I ate like shit a few days this week. No, I was not neglected as a kid.

I spoke with Len about my dilemma last night and about how I was questioning the content/life of my blog. He reminded me that I started goodies galore as a tool in my therapeutic process. The problem is, I’m just not sure if it’s helping the process or enabling me to be more obsessed. Hear me barking? When I’m not thinking about food, I’m writing or reading about it.

Is there anything that you guys would like to see more of? Less of? Lots to think about over here.

Moving on– I wore my awesome hr monitor to booty this morning and burned 516 calories. Wahoooo! I love the fact that I burned that many calories before seven am. Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings.

How cute is my family.

Clearly Eleanor runs the house and makes herself comfortable wherever she sees fit.

Sleeping Beauties.

P.S. 50% off lots of Easter candy at Shaws. For real.

April 13, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, dogs, eating disorder, Food, Self Discovery, The Boyfriend, therapy

15 Comments »

  1. haha, fart pellets! 😉

    Comment by homecookedem | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Haha cutest pictures ever! If you think the blog isn’t helping, maybe take a week or two away from it and food blogs in general and see how you feeL?

    Comment by Kelly | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Mwaha that pic of Ellie and Len on the couch is hysterical. Is she heavy on his poor head??

    Dude I know what you’re saying…sometimes I wonder if talking about food etc. is just feeding shit more. I notice when I’m busy at work I barely think about food, much less have time to record my calories, meal plan, etc. So…basically when I have spare space in my head, it’s filled with thoughts of food or exercise. BUT this is all part of the ‘problem’ – and in time, hopefully we’ll both be thinking about other stuff, you know?

    Comment by Alice | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hmmmm…I definitely can see why the blog would be complicated for you– a blog that propells thoughts about food and eating might not be the best way to get over obsession with food and eating. On the other hand, I can see it as a therepeutic tool– a way to be held accoutable, track progress, etc. That’s a toughie. As much as I would hate to see you go, I agree with Kelly that a mini-break might help you reassess what you want to do with your blog.

    Comment by Anna | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. I know what you mean about wanting to just be NORMAL. It’s a pain in the ass to have such an obsession with food, especially since it’s not a HEALTHY obsession. Instead of just writing about food, maybe you should just write about.. whatever. Random things that happened, stuff you think is amazingly cool. Whatever you choose to do, I hope you continue to blog because I love your wit and truly enjoy reading your posts. 🙂

    Comment by highonhealthy | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  6. I have a feeling that every time I see jellybeans now I am going to think of them as fart pellets. Thanks A LOT 😉

    If you need to take a bloggy break or if you want to write about anything but food, you should! Just as long as you remember we’re rooting for you all the way!

    Comment by cookeatburn | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  7. Wow I swear you think and feel exact things I do sometimes. When I used to go to OA anorexia/bulimia focus meetings a while back, I used to ALWAYS feel like maybe just maybe this is making me worse. Hearing everyone’s stories on how much food/restricting/purging/binging/etc. used to rule their lives, things they used to do in the name of food, sometimes would TRIGGER me like no other. It’s a mind fuck really.

    Comment by Brittany | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  8. I want to read about whatever you feel like posting! Maybe you could post food-free for the next few days or so?

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  9. I really like your blog the way it is..but..I can also see how it might not be helping you overcome your obsession with food. Since I’m an undergrad..about to be grad school 3 days after I graduate (AH!)..I think it might be cool to hear about your major and how you balance life and school. I think overall maybe focus on your life and not so much the food in your life. Maybe if it’s not so food-focused and more life-focused it will help you verge from thinking about food…don’t leave the blog world though! I love reading them!

    Comment by Jamie | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  10. I really understand what you mean. It’s the same for me, just vice versa- If I don’t think about food or actually eat, I come here and read about food. If you feel blogging about food is detrimental, I’d say don’t do it any longer. However, do not EVER stop blogging! You’re hella funny and I need my daily dose of fart talk and Penis in a Blanket!!!

    Comment by Alisha | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. I read your blog because you have a similar sense of humor to mine. I like that you’re not like the chipper, sunny, to good to be true bloggers that seem to dominate the blogosphere. I can see why it would be annoying to always focus on food. I’d love to hear more about you! What are your favorite things to do, places to go, review some restaurants or movies for us. I’m sure your sense of humor would make them hilarious! keep your head up 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. I also read your blog b/c it always makes me laugh I agree with others maybe not focus so much on food ! I hope you don’t leave!

    Comment by Kelli | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  13. Like everyone else says, I love reading your blog because of your sense of humor and your honesty. I read every blog for a different reason, some for ideas, some for pictures, some for the incredible writing, but the ones I like most are the blogs I can identify with, and yours is definitely one of them. I sometimes get sick of thinking about food too, but in the end, I really enjoy blogging, so I keep doing it. I think if you’re questioning it, you should stop writing/reading out of guilt, and only blog when you’re really in the mood to. We’ll all be here no matter how much or little you post 🙂

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  14. Girl I want to be normal too! I don’t remember what it’s like to NOT be spending all my time thinking about food; what to eat/what not to eat/when to eat/how hungry I am/how full I am/how guilty I feel/how I’ll “really stop this time using such and such plan”, etc. for the last 11 years.

    As for blogging, I tried to take pics of my food but I found it lame because my meals are SO BORING! Although I haven’t blogged in over a week either, so how’s that for commitment. I love your blog. I can totally relate to your sense of humor. Same as mine.

    Comment by Lo-Jo | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  15. Hey Lindsay. I have been there too. For what it’s worth, my 2nd blog went through a few versions of its “raison d’etre” with one of them being restaurant reviews. Temporarily exhausting that subject, I decided to make it about poetry. Food crept back in (in a good way I think) & I ended up starting a new blog of pretty food photos.

    So what I’m trying to say in all of that is to keep writing. We’re reading. And hey, if you want to write about food again in the future, it’s amazing how easy it is to start a new blog (or add a page to a website) to focus on all that. 🙂

    Comment by Annelies | April 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

