Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

warm and fuzzy

Thanks for such helpful and honest feedback and support. Despite my battle with the blog, I really do love posting, reading your comments, and following many of you on your own blogs. I think that over time I will figure out what direction I want this to go in but for now I want to focus less on food. Taking pictures of every meal is sort of a pain in the ass and let’s face it people, how many bowls of refried beans and hummus do you really want to see? I think I’ll just take each day as it comes and post whatever happens to be relevant that moment, some of which will be kick ass meals and treats. Hopefully, you’ll still be interested and keep reading. Thanks again for the support (as always!).

I busted out my stash of supplements yesterday in an attempt to start taking them. I am SO not good at doing so and end up wasting many bottles. The smell, the taste, the size, everything about them bug me out. What I dislike most about them is that they turn my pee yellow. I hate yellow pee and need to see a nice clear stream otherwise I know I’m dehydrated. Vitamins mess with my clear flow. Either way, I took them yesterday and will attempt to do so until I forget–which will probably be tonight.

What supplements do you take and why?

Tomorrow is my last day of booty and I’m totally bummed about it. I feel like a plan is needed, like asap. My half marathon is a week from Saturday. Girlfriend hasn’t ran more than 3 miles in the last month. What am I going to do??? They better have free bagels at the end of the race or someone’s going down.

April 14, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, Food, Friends, running

28 Comments »

  1. Pre-natal?! Is there something you aren’t telling us? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Anna | April 14, 2010 | Reply

    • hahah, nope but if it happened I’d be okay with it.

      Comment by lpskins | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. We want to pay for another month of booty for you. Consider it your graduation gift.

    Comment by Lisa paige | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hey! I just wanted to tell you about a book I think you would love. It’s called “Eating Heaven’ by Jennie Shortridge. I can even send you mine, if you’d like.
    For supplements, I take a multi and some magnesium. They make me feel like I have a back up plan for my body in case I don’t eat super well that day!
    You should definitely do more booty. Especialy if you love it so much.

    Comment by Astrid | April 14, 2010 | Reply

    • I actually have that book! It’s sitting on my shelf unread. Shall I bust it open?

      Comment by lpskins | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Vitamins, what are they? Seriously though, I don’t take any… hmm maybe I should start. Wonder if I would heal faster.

    Comment by Kelly | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oh yes… the good ol’ supplement question…

    I’m a multi-vitamin and fish oil kind of chick. And I’m like you and sitting on the toilet wondering if all the money I spent on said vitamins is now represented in the color scheme of my urine. Ugh…

    As I wonder that, I’m also now wondering if I should seek out a good Vitamin C supplement…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. I take Biotin too, for my nails. However, I don’t find it does anything for me but make my leghair grow faster… :ยง

    Comment by Alisha | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. I take a multi-vitamin, plus calcium and vitamin D since I have osteopenia. And I use chia & flax seeds in oatmeal and yogurt.

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  8. Ohhh…are you planning for a rugrat?

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | April 14, 2010 | Reply

    • haha, no I’m not. Just like how prenatals give an extra oopmph!

      Comment by lpskins | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  9. I so need to start taking my vitamins… must get them out of the cupboard!

    Comment by cookeatburn | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  10. you should totally just do what feels right with the blog! i love reading when i see something new though ๐Ÿ™‚ i don’t take any supplements at the moment; however, i do need to do a multi and some fish oil pills though. it’s just remembering to do it that’s the hard part!

    Comment by Heather | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. I take a multi and omega 3 fish oils everyday! Your blog is awesome because you are awesome…always remember that! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Kelly | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. Ok .. a women’s multi, triple oil (which is fish, flax and primrose) , Biotin, Calcium, Vitamin D, AND Iron because I think I eat red meat twice a year
    I keep them all in one of those medicine things old people use with the letter of the days of the week on it. I hate swallowing pills I ALWAYS think i’m choking when I know i’m really not.

    Comment by Brittany | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  13. Good for you for making the choice that works best for you. I’ll be reading and supporting you not matter what you do!

    I only take digestive enzymes and probiotics but have been thinking of taking vitamin D.

    Comment by Christie {Honoring Health} | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  14. I take B6 to keep my hormones in check (read: keep the crazy bitch in the closet), calcium cuz all the ladies in my family have weak bones, and a combo pack for digestion (acidphillus, enzymes, etc.) because let’s face it, I fart. A lot.

    I missed yesterday’s post, but let me just say I think it’s great you’re going in a new direction. Maybe this blog HAS been therapeutic in that it’s brought you to a point where you’ve been able to indulge the part of you that wants to obsess to the max (by taking a photo of every meal, analyzing every bite you take and how it’s made you feel) and come up with the realization that “Nope, that’s not Lindsay. Too annoying.” If that’s true that’s great! Does that make sense? Now you can explore the part of your personality that DOESN’T obsess.

    I might be totally off mark, but I think your blog’s done just what you wanted it to, and now it’s time to readjust it to fit the place you’re at now. Kudos.

    Comment by Meg | April 14, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks meggie. xo

      Comment by lpskins | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  15. p.s. I can’t spell, but you catch my drift about the gas. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Meg | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  16. Another p.s. I don’t find this version of Linsday annoying (just to clarify). At all. I was speaking in a hypothetical lindsay’s inner mind voice.

    Comment by Meg | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  17. I totally support not posting and talking about food. I usually skim all that (on all blogs) and search for the life bits.

    I always get excited about supplements then forget about them too. I take B12 from time to time but that is it!

    Comment by kilax | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  18. I’m glad to hear you’re sticking around, I love your posts with or without food! I take calcium with vit. D, a B vitamin and iron, though I kind of suck at remembering to! Pre-natal? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 14, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks gabriela, i love yours too.

      Comment by lpskins | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  19. Hi Pretty girl! prenatal ey? ๐Ÿ™‚ I take 1 vitamin c gummy and one fish oil pill every morning…during the winter I take vitamin d also…helps w/not having any sun! Love ya!

    Comment by Katelyn | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  20. I only take one vitamin, a one-a-day type of thing from Whole Foods..I can barely remember to take that one! haha..I think I’ve been using it for a month strong, usually I stop after a few weeks.

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  21. Regardless of what you write about, I’ll continue to read and I know that the majority, if not all, of your readers will stay too. We don’t just hang around because of the food. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I don’t really take any supplements right now.. but I plan to start taking 1-2 tsp of Maca powder a day and then a couple of 5-HTP pills too. I wouldn’t be into anything that changed the color of my pee either, I like seeing clear pee. Yellow is so not appealing.

    Comment by highonhealthy | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  22. i take a lot of supplements. multi, green pills, calcium, fish oil.

    Comment by actorsdiet | April 15, 2010 | Reply

  23. pre natal vitamins? is there something you need to tell us… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I take b12, multi, calcium and vit D

    keep on writing whatever you want to Blog about its YOURS!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | April 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

