Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

“Kill Shot!”

Len and I had date night planned so we saw Date Night. Despite half star reviews (literally), we decided that Tina and Steve are both too funny to make a horrible movie.

We were both pleasantly surprised and laughed tons! We saw some similarities between them as a couple and kinda cracked up at the roles. The humor in that movie is my kind of humor so I really enjoyed the one liners. “That’s a kill shot.” I wasn’t even chewing gum'” SO FUNNY!  Now if you’re looking for a proper action flick, you’ll be disappointed. If you’ve seen Date Night, what did you think?? I’d love to hear some of your reviews.

I’m doing something this morning that I haven’t done in FOREVER–going to church. I met a woman at boot camp who attends a non-denominational church so she’s taking me. I attended a Catholic church growing up and found it so boring. I didn’t buy into much of what was preached. Then the whole perverted priest/sex scandals pissed me off enough to close my mind off to religion as a whole. For years now I’ve wanted to find a church that wasn’t boring or excluding. I want a church that really speaks to me and holds my attention. A good choir always helps. I’m ready to welcome faith back into my life so let’s hope this morning goes well. No pressure, though.

After church I’m  going to drink my face off with some Peanut Butter and Jelly Cocktails. I kid, but how good do they sound?

Sandra Lee gave me the recipe– Equal parts Raspberry vodka and hazelnut liquor with a splash of red grape juice. Holy hat!  I would do some serious damage with those puppies.

Weigh in went well this morning so I’m moving in the right direction. I MUST go for a run sometime today so the rain better take some breaks.  I currently don’t have gym access because I froze my membership to save money while doing booty.

Enjoy a wonderful Saturday!

April 17, 2010 - Posted by | Movies, Self Discovery, Weigh In

10 Comments »

  1. Glad you enjoyed the movie! We’ll probably wait til it comes out on DVD, but I think we’ll like it. I love Tina and Steve!

    I hope you enjoy going to church with your friend!! 🙂 We’re in the process of trying to get back to church too.

    Comment by homecookedem | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. My boyfriend and I went to see Date Night, we both liked it too!! You’re so lucky your gym let’s you freeze your membership.. how cool is that

    Comment by Brittany | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. We oved the movie, too. Except for the fact that we can relate to the whole great roommates scenerio. And her rant in the car, about how she does everything all the time and hates complaining about it because sshe doesn’t want to sound like a bitch…yea…that is definitely something I have said before. It was a fun movie, short, sweet, to the point…what more can you ask for? I hope I look as amazing as Tina Fey when I am her age!

    Comment by Astrid | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hi! It’s been a while since I’ve commented, been MIA from blog-land for a while and trying to get my blog back up and running. Your blog I’ve kept reading though because I think you are hilarious 🙂 I really want to see Date Night- I am a huge fan of Tina Fey. Thanks for the review!

    Comment by Kelly | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m not a big fan of Sandra Lee, but those cocktails do sound good!

    Enjoy church! Ryan and I tried a while back to find a church we liked, but we had no luck. It’s so hard, I think– especially when you’re looking for a specific type of environment. I was raised Unitarian, so I definitely don’t do well with the fire and brimstone approach. I think Catholic services are so beautiful– I love the tradition and formality…but yeah, the whole sex scandal thing is no good 🙂

    Have a great Saturday!

    Comment by Anna | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. My boyfriend and I went to see Date Night last weekend and I LOVED it. I thought it was so funny. I kept talking about the “that’s a kill shot!!!” the next day because I thought it was hilarious. Um and Tina Fey…I hate you and your perfect body!!! Enjoy your weekend!

    Comment by Jamie | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. I really cannot understand how this movie got such poor reviews- because I’m with you in trying to understand how Tina and Steve came up with a crap movie…

    I still plan to see it if I get a chance. 🙂

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  8. Date Night looks hilarious! I don’t care what reviewers say, I’ll most likely really enjoy the movie. Most of the time I try not to go by ratings because I find that the critics are usually too harsh and something they dislike, is usually something that I like. Or maybe I just have bad taste.

    Comment by highonhealthy | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. I have heard great thins about Date Night despite the reviews. I definitely want to see it! Glad you had a fun date night! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. LOVED Date Night! I laughed so hard I almost peed in my pants. I loved the “I wasn’t even chewing gum” line….Did you stay for the scenes at the credits? “Jeremy, I’m going to go home and look at my vagina with a hand mirror”

    Comment by Ali | April 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

