Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

lil’ late

Hey Blogfaces! Long time not talk…..

No therapy update today because I didn’t go. FREEDOM!!!!!! Back to the couch next week.

As you may or may not know,  Len and I are leaving on Friday for Nashville, TN. We are meeting my sister and her hubby there to run the Country Music HALF marathon. Unfortunately Len and I forgot to train so we’re pretty much screwed. There will be a whole lot of walking during that 13.1 miles. I’m pretty disappointed that we didn’t put any effort into preparing for this race but it’s too late to worry about it now. Luckily I have been active over the last month so I’m not COMPLETELY out of shape. Just….. mostly of out of shape. As of now, the forecast for Saturday says 78 and possibility of thunderstorms. If it gets any hotter than that someone’s going to die– and it will probably be me on the course. This hookers doesn’t do well in

I’m psyched to visit Nashville (Music City) since I’m a huge fan of country music. I want to explore everything so hopefully our legs won’t be too tired. The Country Music Marathon is extra cool because there’s a post race concert that night. My bro-in-law scored us back stage passes so we’ll be VIP bitches! Score. The singers are kinda lame (John Rich and Cowboy Troy) but it will still be fun! I get SO nervous around famous people so I’ll probably just stand there like a donkey.

Something weird happened at booty this morning. A random van pulled up and started promoting their product, Mix 1. (Keep in mind it was 6 in the morning and the trainers weren’t expecting it.)  I had never heard of the brand but grabbed three and ran for the hills : blueberry vanilla, mango, and mixed berry. The sugar content in them is pretty high so I probably won’t drink them but Len will. You guys know I have issues drinking my calories away.

Olive oil??? Weird.

Speaking of sugar, I forgot how amazing Banana bread Clif Bars are. They have little chocolate bits in them and really do taste like dessert…. stiff competition with Carrot Cake.

I just boiled cauliflower and it smells like a bag of ass in here. The wretched smell is so worth the bowl of excitement below.

mashed cauliflower mixed with 1/4 cup mozz, 4 soy nuggets and ketchup. be jealous.

April 20, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, Clif Bar, Family, Food, fun, Marathon Training, running, The Boyfriend, therapy

13 Comments »

  1. And that, my friend, is one of the many reasons I’ll only eat cauliflower raw… the smell weirds me out when you boil it…

    Good luck on the half! You have been very active- so I bet the endurance is better than you think!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | April 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Your beloved broccoli has that same stench! Sucka!!

      Comment by lpskins | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have NEVER boiled cauliflower before…. and now that you’ve said that, I think I’ll probably stick to eating it raw!!

    xx

    Comment by amylouisemc | April 20, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s sooo good! Promise.

      Comment by lpskins | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. I bet the half will be fine…you’ve been going to booty, which builds up endurance no doubt! My bff went to Vanderbilt, and I always loved visiting her– Nashville is such a fun town!

    Comment by Anna | April 20, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks anna! hope you’re right.

      Comment by lpskins | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. You’ll be okay with the half…my BF keeps reminding me that race momentum can do a lot for your motivation and endurance!! Carrot Cake Clif is such an underrated flavor…the white chocolate chunks are the best!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. That’s so much fun that you are traveling for the race! Even though you haven’t been running you’ve still been working out so I bet you surprise yourself how far you can go.. Good luck!! That’s so cute that Len is doing it with you, awwww!

    Comment by Ashleigh | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hopefully having Len with you throughout the race will make it fly by… even if you’re not really flying by ;).

    You are the fuel behind my soy nugget addiction. I’d say it’s an honor!

    Comment by cookeatburn | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. Linds- have lots of fun in Nashville- you are so lucky!!!!
    have a good race/walk!!

    Comment by Debra | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. You and your sis will have a super fantastic time in Nashville. I am so jealous you are going. It’s one of my favorite cities. So cute. And filled with cool people. And country music.

    Comment by Whit | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  9. Good luck with the half and have fun in Nashville! At least you have someone doing the race with you.

    Comment by Kelly | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  10. Finishing the half is what counts…walk or run you will do great!

    Comment by Nicci | April 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

