Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Lay on my couch cause I’m a clinical therapist!

Two great things have happened in my life since I last wrote: I ran The Broad Street (10 mile) Run AND I finished grad school!!!!!!!! Which one do you think I’m most excited about?? That’s right, no more papers, no more tests, no more crappy classes, no more procrastinating. This means I have my weekends back! I can enjoy a Saturday and Sunday ย without the heavy weight of homework on my shoulders. I can come home at five and actually be DONE with work. Ohhh, life is good.

The past two years have been challenging; I learned a lot about myself and the field of social work. I have grown leaps and bounds in my clinical skills and believe it or not, there are several classes that I will miss. ย Keep in mind that I still have my internship three days a week until the last week in June. The good news is that I got hired per diem and my title is Clinical Therapist. ME!! I’m a clinical therapist!! Imagine??

Anyway, let’s talk about the race last Sunday. One word, HOT. It had to have been 600 degrees out there and people were literally passing out all over the place. The fire hydrants were spitting out water along the course.ย When I needed a good laugh I’d get wicked close to the hydrant and get nailed with the pressure of the water. For some reason that made me giggle each and every time.

I made the goal to run a 10 minute mile pace and I kept it up until mile 6. After that I slipped down to about 10:15. I walked through some of the water stops but not all. The 10 miles felt a lot harder than the half marathon the weekend before. Don’t ask how that happens but I was soooo thankful to not have to run those three extra miles. My finishing time was 1:42:37. I felt pleased with it seeing as it was hot, I ran alone and I didn’t train. Done and done.

Happy to have those 10 miles over with.

My sister and I--she rocked it as always

I’ve always said that the best part of running a race are the bagels served afterwards. Leave it to Philly to hand out giant pretzels. No complaints here.

Well, it’s a rainy day here in Boston which is perfect for being lazy guilt free.

May 8, 2010 - Posted by | Graduate School, Marathon Training, running

28 Comments »

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! You have much to be proud about!! Here’s to the start of many great things!! yayyy

    Comment by Brittany | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh my gosh…congratulations on both things!!! You are a rockstar!!

    Comment by Kelly | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. You have so much to be proud of right now!! Congratulations on all of your accomplishments!! You are a rockstar!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by homecookedem | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. Congrats on being done grad school!!! That must be such a good feeling. I start grad school May 17th and I’m already ready to be done haha…I remember your sister had on her blog that you were going to grad school and she wanted to buy a Boston University(right?) sweatshirt to represent ya! haha CONGRATS! It must be the best feeling ever!

    Comment by Jamie | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. Haha, just realized Kelly said the exact same thing, but see, it’s TRUE!! You really are a rockstar! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Comment by homecookedem | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. Lindsay,
    Many blessings to you as you start the next chapter of life.You should be so proud of yourself, if you ever get in the DC area come and visit us.

    Comment by Maureen | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Congrats Linds!!!!!!

    what an awesome accomplish!! You have every right to be so proud of yourself!!!! Grad school- WOW~~~

    Comment by Debra | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. Woo hoo! Especially for being able to come home at 5 and be done – I know I love that feeling and Chris can’t wait until he can do that (well… he has to wait, since he’s got many years left). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Kristie | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. Congrats Lins! What an accomplishment; so very proud of you. Now you’re an official clinical therapist; sounds so imressive because it is. Nana says “many blessings on your future and you will do very well”. We love you!

    Comment by mom | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. Aghghg!! Congrats on finishing grad school!!! What an amazing accomplishment!

    And great job on the run, too!

    Comment by Anna | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. Philly pretzels are where it’s at ๐Ÿ™‚ Good job on the race, that’s still a great time, especially for no training! Hope you have a good weekend!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  12. i’m so excited for you! those are HUGE accomplishments and you are a certified rockstar ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Heather | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  13. Wow, you’ve had an intense week! Congrats!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  14. Congrats on finishing school! And good job at the race! It seems it was hot EVERYWHERE last weekend! It sure was at my half.

    Comment by kilax | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  15. CONGRATS MAMA – I know you have been working your ASS off for this and its an accomplisment. You deserve all good things that come with it. I live in PA (an hour from Philly) so I now it was H-O-T. I know you worked it and ran the Broad. Congrats again!!!

    Comment by Yvonne | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  16. Congrats, congrats, CONGRATS! On the race AND finishing school. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Comment by highonhealthy | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  17. You always look so happy when you are doing a race! I love it =)

    Congrats on finishing grad school!!!!!

    Comment by Mari | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  18. Dude! Nice one! That is a freaking awesome time – no training, you are so bad ass. Congrats on grad school too ๐Ÿ™‚

    I want a pretzel, just quietly.

    Comment by Alice | May 9, 2010 | Reply

  19. Congratulations!!!!

    Comment by Christie {Honoring Health} | May 9, 2010 | Reply

  20. congrats to you- that’s so wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | May 9, 2010 | Reply

  21. Congrats on all fronts! I can imagine how exciting it is to be done school.

    Comment by Kelly | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  22. Congratulations Lins! On the race and on GRADUATING! welcome to the wonderful world of MSW- and I can tell you, the bliss that comes from not having to write papers and not having to attend classes- does not wear off!! I am still thankful all the time!! I am very proud of you~ and know that although the process is not always easy (understatement of the year) the world will be a much better place with you helping all the people whose lives you will touch as a clinical therapist, friend, family member, blogger, etc!!!

    Comment by Anonymous | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  23. Congratulations Lins!! On both the race and GRADUATION! Welcome to the club of MSW’s!! And the relief you feel not having to do papers or go to class does not wear off- i am still thankful everyday!! hahaha! Although the process is long and really hard (understatement) the world is a better place for having you be able to touch people’s lives as a clinical therapist, friend, family member, blogger, etc!! I am so proud of you!!!

    Comment by Kim | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  24. Whoo hoo on graduating, Ms. Clinical Therapist!

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  25. Congrats on graduating, the awesome title, and running the 10 miler! Sounds like a lot of great things are happening in your life!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | May 11, 2010 | Reply

  26. Congrats I am sure you will find a great job soon!!

    Comment by Jacqui | May 12, 2010 | Reply

  27. sometimes I look forward to rainy days so I have an excuse to not go out or so I can sit around and not feel guilty

    Comment by Katherine: What About Summer? | May 12, 2010 | Reply

  28. CONGRATULATIONS GIRL!!!!!

    Comment by Naomi (onefitfoodie) | May 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

