Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

hey hoochie mamas

It’s been quite some time since I’ve last posted and I have no real reason why besides wanting a break from everything. It still doesn’t feel like school is over because I had some things hanging over my head till last night. I imagine the feeling will start kicking in next week.

So…… yesterday was my last day of boot camp. I was definitely ready for it to be over but now I’m nervous about keeping my exercise habits up. As you know, I have a really hard time motivating to work out on my own. I checked out a new gym to see if that would help but it felt too corporate. I hope to attend more classes at my “old” gym and get a couple days of running in. How do you motivate to work out everyday?

I’m running a half marathon Memorial Day weekend with my friend Alison. We went for a six mile run last weekend (hung over, thank you)and she’s definitely in much better shape than I am. I really need to prepare a little bit for this race, meaning I need to get some running days in.

Last weekend I celebrated being finished with school by going bowling and eating/drinking way too much. It was a weekend of gluttony that consisted of pina coladas, orange dreams (made with ice cream), beer, waffle fries topped with blue cheese and buffalo sauce (holy heaven) and pad thai. Let’s just say I felt like a blimp with limbs. It felt good to let loose and have a great time though.

I like the above picture because I look like a rabid gofer. I should be chomping on a log or something.

Today is the first week I’ve worked a regular 9-5 Monday -Friday job in two years. I gotta say, I’ve really gotten used to Fridays off so it’s slightly bittersweet. Good news is that I can wear jeans to work today.

Something weird happened. My period was over two weeks late this month. Since going off the pill in October, I’ve been pretty regular so it was strange to be so late. Knowing I wasn’t pregnant, I’m thinking the lateness was due to stress and an increase in exercise? Strange.

Well guys, I’ve missed you.

May 14, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, dogs, Food, Friends, fun, Graduate School, running, The Boyfriend, Workout

17 Comments »

  1. i’ve missed you!

    i dunno, i guess i just have a LOT of motivation. (hell, i motivate other people.) i do get teh times when i’m like fuck this shit, i wanna just lay around and eat peanut butter.

    Comment by traynharder23 | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yay your back and so are pictures of ellie!!!
    haha

    Comment by Lisa | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. All those pictures are so cute! I just think you are gorgeous!!! As for working out…I have been in the habit of working out everyday for so long that it feel normal to me. Working out is just like brushing my teeth. It is just part of my day .

    Comment by Kelly | May 14, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks kell! you are always a confidence booster.

      Comment by lpskins | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Why hellllooooo! Glad to see you’re still kicking! 🙂

    I think the thing that motivates me is I spent so much time NOT being able to work out due to my leg problems that now that I can, it’s like I’m cashing in on all those days that I wanted to.

    Either way, look at you go with the races!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. Welcome back!!

    I always just know how good I’ll feel after even a tiny workout, and that usually gets me moving. I tell myself that I can quit after ten minutes if I want to…but I usually don’t want to.

    Comment by Anna | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. i’m so glad your back 🙂 and you seriously are the prettiest girl! i love these pictures 🙂

    Comment by Heather | May 14, 2010 | Reply

    • thank you heath!

      Comment by lpskins | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hey Linds, I love your blog – you crack me up. I used to listed to your sis on the Philly radio station and started reading her blog, and naturally came to yours too.

    Go to the doc about you non-regular period. It took me a while to be finally diagnosed with hypothyroidism and PCOS which were both wreaking havoc on me! I got my periods regular and now I’m pregnant – woo hoo. Go now so you aren’t tortured for a few years like I was.

    Your pics are really cute, you two make such a cute couple!

    For motivation I look a pictures of skinny bitches and think that’s it I’m going to kick it up a notch ; ) Now I just have to make sure I don’t gain a shitload of weight carrying a baby!

    Take care!

    Comment by Jamie | May 14, 2010 | Reply

    • hey jamie! thanks for writing. Congrats on being preggy!!!! (I’m kinda having baby fever, myself!)

      Comment by lpskins | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  8. I wish I had advice for motivation, for me I just know I feel better when I do workout even though some days I hate it. As for the period I wish I could say coming off the pill mine was regular but it is just being crazy on me:(

    Comment by Jacqui | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’ve always meant to tell you this, but you have an absolutely gorgeous smile. Perfect teeth, and so wide and full of life!

    Whenever I exercise a lot, my period is WAY lighter. I’ve talked to my doc about it and changes in exercise definitely can change your cycle!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  10. SO glad to see you’re back, and to hear all is well! Exercise/stress totally could be the late period causing culprits!! You and Lenny look so cute and happy together !

    Comment by Brittany | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’m working on my fitness schedule. I can’t workout everyday or I’ll completely burn out…like last time for 3 months. I try to give myself 2 rest days and not fret if I do take an extra.

    Comment by Nicci | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. I’m glad you’re back Lindsay. The pictures of you guys are so cute! Love my little four legged granddaughter too!!

    Comment by mom | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  13. I have to run early in the day, preferably in the morning. If I do my workout then, it’s out the way and then I cant get lazy later on!

    Comment by jqlee | May 14, 2010 | Reply

    • i feel the same way!

      Comment by lpskins | May 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

